We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moonlight Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 82: English reviews
Start your review of Moonlight Guest House
 Click to rate
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed in the Sol studio that was warm, comfortable, and exceedingly spacious. The excellent heaters in the room and attached bath area were much appreciated onchilly autumn evenings. Our room had everything we needed to prepare our sandwich breakfasts each of the 3 days we stayed. We especially enjoyed the garden that was brimming with flowers. At that time,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yonniton
Nottingham
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

As I suspect like most people who stay at the Moonlight we were overnighting for the train to Shwenyaung. Facilities here are basic and shared. The room was clean, if a little dark and ok for a short stay. The people who run it are exceptionally friendly and helpful, and seemed to be trying really hard to make it work...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maccers145
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review - but we think you may be have posted the wrong review as there's definitely no train to Shwenyaung from Lake Tekapo! Also our rooms are bright and sunny so it probably is a case of right review, wrong place? :o)

East Midlands
Reviewed 7 April 2016

The location of this apartment is away from the main street and seemed to take ages to arrive at, but there is a path down to the town so it is not that far to go for an evening meal. The room was comfortable and the breakfast food provided was adequate. Hostess seemed not to have much time for us,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoyEastMidlands
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Moonlight :o) When you booked the room, you had indicated you would be arriving later in the afternoon and hence we had booked an appointment well before you were due to arrive. As you arrived much earlier than you indicated without giving us prior warning, we...

Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

My bf and I stayed for one night on 10Dec2015. The en suite room was very spacious and clean. We like it much. The bed was big. Breakfast was self-served and it was alright! We stayed at the backyard at night to look up the sky and luckily we saw some shooting stars!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara Y
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 July 2015

My third stay at Moonlight B&B in 3 years did not disappoint. This time my wife joined me and she enjoyed it too. We stayed for a couple of nights, enjoyed exploring the surrounding area including a hike through very deep fresh snow up Mt John one day and a day trip to Aoraki Mt Cook (village) the next. Unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angus D
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting Moonlight again, it's always great when our guests come back! I'm sorry I wasn't there to host you but I trust our manager took good care of you. Hopefully next time the weather will be a bit more cooperative! Hope to see you in NZ in the not too distant future! All the best, Tracey

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 May 2015

When I travel the thing I look for the most is somewhere clean and inviting and Moonlight Bed and Breakfast didn't dissapoint . My room was spacious , the surroundings beautiful and peaceful yet close to everything and loved the perc coffee and bagels - simple yet all I needed to start the day :-) hopefully I'll be back!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BridgetGidget
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this review

Hi and thank so much for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us - it's always a delight to host happy and gracious travellers! I enjoyed our chat over coffee! We'd love to have you back anytime! Best, Tracey & Wolfgang

Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 May 2015

The home-stay was clean. The breakfast was poor, especially being a cold morning. No warm milk for a poor selection of cereal. No fresh fruit, but there was juice. There was a frost so we needed to turn on the only heating, a heat pump which was so very old it made a huge amount of noise, hence we couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 194,745
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this review

The home-stay was clean. The breakfast was poor, especially being a cold morning. No warm milk for a poor selection of cereal. No fresh fruit, but there was juice. There was a frost so we needed to turn on the only heating, a heat pump which was so very old it made a huge amount of noise, hence we couldn't...

London
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Moonlight B&B proved a great base for an overnight stay in Tekapo. It's very close to the village centre (shops, restaurants, etc.) and in a quiet location. The room was very spacious and comfortable - and warm, which was much appreciated after a freezing cold night tour of the Mount John observatory. The room opens onto a cute little garden,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank London_UK_member
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Moonlight! Yes, I remember you were rathr busy and managed to fit in all the wonderful attractions that Lake Tekapo has to offer! We are lucky to live in such a great part of the world and glad that you had a 'taste' of the...

Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

Lake Tekapo doesn't really have anything to do there, unless you're in Winter for the snow! So the middle of March wasn't ideal.. We booked this place thinking it was a motel bed and breakfast, but it really wasn't. We arrived to find out we were sleeping in what seemed a rumpus room with a shared backyard. We weren't expecting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank montykooge
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this review

Not sure where to start with this review, perhaps you must be hard to please if you think that "Lake Tekapo doesn't really have anything to do there, unless you're in Winter for the snow!' If you care to look, Lake Tekapo has many activities such as star gazing, scenic flights, canoeing, horse riding, hiking, mountain biking, swimming, not to...

Reviewed 13 April 2015

Stayed at Moonlight B&B on 11th and 12th April in the Sol room. The ensuite room was spacious, clean and well organised for our stay! The bed and mattresses were pretty firm and perfect for a wonderful sleep. We recovered our sleep from the long drives around the South Island! The bathroom is spacious with a good set up of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripdhan
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this review

Hi guys, thanks for your review and hope you had a nice flight back home! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Moonlight, it was great to meet guests from my home town (and with so much in common!). It was a pleasure to upgrade you to our Sol room studio at no extra cost - glad you liked...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.9 km away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,430 reviews
0.7 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
653 reviews
0.5 km away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#10 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
172 reviews
0.5 km away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
176 reviews
0.6 km away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Moonlight Guest Accommodation is a holiday retreat offering guests a relaxed atmosphere in a peaceful setting just a few minutes stroll to stunning Lake Tekapo and cafes, shops and restaurants. Our guest rooms are located in separate areas of the house, offering total privacy from your hosts and other guests. Two spacious kingsize rooms have en suite/private bathrooms and guest lounges. We offer FREE parking and WIFI. Tea and coffee are provided in the rooms. Please note we do not offer breakast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moonlight Guest House

Address: 25 Murray Place, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $175 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moonlight Guest House staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Moonlight Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are after a comfortable bed and spacious clean room, this is the place! If you are after hot cooked brekky, this place is not for you!”
tripdhan, 13 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Only one to choose from”
ladygolfer13, 1 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Both rooms - Luna and Stella were quiet and comfortable.”
davidandannb, 31 Jan 2015 | Read review
“The breakfast was well worth it! Springtime is a wonderful time to visit- the lupins are in bloom and the scenery is spectacular!”
HolidayMaker859, 27 Nov 2013 | Read review
“speak to the owner in advance to get the bast room for your requirements”
ukulelejohn, 18 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5