We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pure Magic Achill

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Pure Magic Achill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 136: English reviews
Start your review of Pure Magic Achill
 Click to rate
Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for the May Bank holiday weekend. It was a lovely quiet weekend. Are here on Friday and Sunday night. Both nights food was lovely. The rooms were basic but good. We enjoyed our stay. You would need to have transport when staying here. You are a bit away from villages. Lots to do and see in Achill.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TipperaryGirl82
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The setting was amazing, the interior, a relaxing atmosphere and cool decor. A surfers paradise....if only the food could match it. We choose the minaun pizza, olives, 'chorizo' and peppers. The base was nice however the toppings were terrible. The chorizo, was that cheap wurst, tasteless stuff you get sold as pepperoni in takeaways. We were here a few years...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zephyr32
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wonderful work trip here with a group doing the cave tour on the stand up paddle boards, another group cycled the greenway and the 3rd group did a walk. The scenery was stunning as was the lodge. Very laid back but great quality. The staff are fab..big thanks to teresa for the organisation and francois for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacinta H
Baile Átha Cliath
Reviewed 19 April 2017

When looking for recommendations on places to eat in Achill, Pure Magic came up again and again. It had just re-opened for the season when we visited in mid-March, but you wouldn't have known it by the service. Everyone was very, very friendly; there was a good choice of drinks on offer; and the menu was a mix of very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caitrionaonatrip
Dublin
Reviewed 7 April 2017

This review relates to the take away pizza service provided by 'Pure Magic' in Dugort, Achill Island, Ireland. The restaurant's fanciful name is more appropriate than you might think as it's location nestled under the massive flanks of Slievemor mountain is magical indeed. As is the atmosphere inside the dining area where the happy crowd on my last visit were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AchillHiker
puremagicAchill, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review

Hello..... Thank you for your review. Thank you your kind words....We are very sorry that your pizza was not to your liking, as we pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service to all our customers,however we do realise our mistake and taken your comments on board. We were only restarting our season and there was some training...

Reviewed 9 March 2017

Last October i decided to pack my kitesurfing gear and head west for weekend break i decided to book into what i thought was a hostel on Achill Island called Pure Magic after a long drive down in Friday traffic i arrived and was greeted by staff, before i even checked in i was offered a tea or coffee and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
puremagicAchill, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review

Hello Joe..... Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again soon at Pure Magic. Thanks Teresa

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

I'm a big fan of this place! Really friendly atmosphere, cosy surf lounge, one can watch surf movies, lots of live music. Food is simple but really good - we had pizza, which was fantastic, baked hake and seafood risotto. Pizza was really great!! I definitely recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kasia P
puremagicAchill, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review

Hello.... Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed our piece of paradise in Achill Island, We look forward to seeing you again. Cheers Teresa

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Had dinner here, food was great, had hake on a bed of mash and it was really good. My friends had the stake and lamb, all of it was great, would definitely go back. Staff were very friendly and service was great. They also do really nice pizzas Highly recommend a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
puremagicAchill, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed our Festival, and especially the food (the chefs got up early to catch that hake). We look forward to seeing you again next year at Pure Magic. Cheers Teresa

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed with a group of 35 cyclists and found Achill Pure Magic a really good choice. Excellent food, very comfortable well.appointed rooms. Teresa and her staff were really helpful...well worth a visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danoconnor99
puremagicAchill, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were very happy to host your group & hope your journey back went well. We look forward to seeing you again next year at Pure Magic. Cheers Teresa

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

From the welcome at the door from owner Francois, the service from the super friendly staff, lovely pizza and live music (including some impromptu jamming with other diners), we had a great evening at Pure Magic - it definitely lived up to its name!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
puremagicAchill, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We aim to please & to keep everyone on their toes with some random music sessions and the French charm to host you :) We look forward to seeing you again next year at Pure Magic. Thanks Teresa

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
2:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dugort
6.3 km away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
108 reviews
2.0 km away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
4.8 km away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#6 of 27 in Achill Island
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#7 of 27 in Achill Island
93 reviews
1.8 km away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
8.1 km away
Lavelle's Seaside House
Lavelle's Seaside House
#17 of 27 in Achill Island
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unique views from a traditional, charming and just refurbished stone building. 10 rooms en-suite, wine bar, pool area, restaurant. Just a Magical Place! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pure Magic Achill

Address: Slievemore Road, Dugort, Achill Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Dugort
Price Range: $86 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pure Magic Achill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pure Magic Achill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms available to suit all on request”
josephhN1912DY, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Budget hotel with cheap rooms. Ideal for students on a budget”
910noelm, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Just contact the staff with what you need, and they will do whatever they can for you.”
moesymoe, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go for dinner, but stay elsewhere until they improve things for residents.”
BazerSpain, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Try the pizzas....delicious!”
James_Mc_Cawley, 1 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Priceline
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates