We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pure Magic Achill

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pure Magic Achill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pure Magic Achill
See the most recent reviews
Showing 130: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Amazing time in beautiful Achill island for Paddy's weekend. We stayed in room 11, Zanzibar! Very cosy, spacious and comfortable! Perfect for a group of 5/6 people. Weather was absolutely fantastic.. which was perfect for SUP/Surf/Hiking/Onewheel (our new boardsport! ;-). We also went to the 2 parades (Thursday and Sunday).. and the sessions in the lodge at night were fun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine E
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

Been here a couple of times It's fine on a summers evening Have a pizza and head home Middle of the road style food Stick to the pizza Was a time you could bring your own wine but alas no longer You don't have to dress up , tres casual

 Report
Helpful?
Thank enjoytheambience
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again this summer. Teresa

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 October 2015

We stayed for one night at Pure Magic Lodge in October, 2015. We booked a basic double, there were a couple of other lodges in and around this price range but we went with this one based on other reviews and the interesting looking rooms. It did not disappoint. The whole property has a nice, relaxed atmosphere. Each room is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura K
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review

Hi Laura, Thank you for visit and your review!! We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and see you again soon. Teresa

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

A hostel passing itself off as a B&B. Over priced for what it is. €10 per night to upgrade to a room with an en suite, which was so tiny. The room was cold. The hot tap didn't run hot. Breakfast was continental only. The nice thing about the place was the view and the fact they served food in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nora T
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review

Hi Nora, Thank you for your feedback, sorry you to see you had a bad experience we try to keep our prices affordable( we do not sell ourselves as a b&b neither a hostel) and the water hot and the same in the rooms. We always try and encourage our guests to let us know if something is not right,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2015

We spent a couple of nights here last month and loved the atmosphere at Pure Magic. Watersports are brilliant and the instructors are fantastic. We did some kite surfing and the couple who are currently managing all the lessons were brilliant and extremely accommodating. The meals are great - we really enjoyed the pizzas in the evening and the live...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank innocent26
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review

Hey guys, Thank you for your review. We appreciated your feedback, we are happy you enjoyed your visit and sorry to hear that you were not happy about your room. We will be fixing the curtain problem for sure just in case the sheep keep on peeping. If there is anything we can do to make this up to you...

Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

There is good small selection of beer. Pizzas are not fantastics, but corrects. Others meals and salads are good too. There is a good atmosphere, people are very kind. We can listen good music, watching katesurfing's videos and games of pool are free.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antoine-Dupraz
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review

Hi Antoine, Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear you had a good time, and looking forward to seeing again soon and maybe for a game of pool. Teresa

glasgow
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We are very glad that this old favourite in Achill is still open. It is now run by a French team who specialise in pizzas and is very popular with families on holiday. It is a low budget option for food but really the pizzas are not very good. My daughter makes far better ones. However there is a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanwalsh
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Food was very nice and there was an offer on for the pizzas! The breakfast was also super. We had 3 choices of rooms as it was quiet for the same price, while one choice was bigger as mentioned before the wardrobe moved when you walked in, the other room had a separate bathroom so we stuck with the small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelle0k
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

As a family of four with mother in law we ate here during the week. It's a great spot on a summers night with great pizza and plenty of space for kids to play out front. Two things let it down we arrived very early and had not booked. We were told they had no spots and we explained that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter4751
Spain
Reviewed 10 August 2015

This is a difficult review to write as the staff and Fench owner were very friendly indeed and deserve to do well. Having said that, without criticism, they will not improve. This is not an hotel. It is a Lodge, perfect for local water sports. It is also a very popular restaurant, with no full alcohol licence. Upon arrival, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BazerSpain

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
2:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dugort
2.0 km away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
6.3 km away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
100 reviews
7.8 km away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#7 of 27 in Achill Island
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#4 of 27 in Achill Island
114 reviews
8.1 km away
Lavelle's Seaside House
Lavelle's Seaside House
#18 of 27 in Achill Island
36 reviews
1.8 km away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unique views from a traditional, charming and just refurbished stone building. 10 rooms en-suite, wine bar, pool area, restaurant. Just a Magical Place! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pure Magic Achill

Address: Slievemore Road, Dugort, Achill Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Dugort
Price Range: $82 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pure Magic Achill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pure Magic Achill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Budget hotel with cheap rooms. Ideal for students on a budget”
 of 5 bubbles 910noelm, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Just contact the staff with what you need, and they will do whatever they can for you.”
 of 5 bubbles moesymoe, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go for dinner, but stay elsewhere until they improve things for residents.”
 of 5 bubbles BazerSpain, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Try the pizzas....delicious!”
 of 5 bubbles James_Mc_Cawley, 1 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Sleep at back of this hostel/bed and breakfast , can be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles helenc970, 21 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5