We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rio Playa Blanca Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Rio Playa Blanca Hotel
Rio Playa Blanca Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rio Playa Blanca Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 878: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2014

First of all... I've stayed in many 3 star hotels and this is better than those so if it's not good enough for a 4*, as so many people think, then lets call it a 3*+, We went as a family of 4 (children were 11 and 9) and we had a ball. So much so, we want to book...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank K31_80
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear K31_80, Thank you very much for having chosen our HL Rio Playa Blanca for your recent visit to Lanzarote, and for leaving this wonderful review on Tripadvisor! We are very happy to read your very positive comments, it is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your holidays to the fullest. Thank you for especially mentioning the staff who...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Agree this is probably a 3 star, as others suggest. The nearby Timanfaya Palace is supposedly a 4 star, like Rio Playa, but is palatial in comparison. We returned today, 11th August, after 2 weeks, with boy's aged 14 and11. The good bits, we enjoyed the food and every effort was made with theme nights e.g. Mexican & Italian. Of...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank kevdall
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kevdall, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with the traveller community. We are delighted that you found our All-Inclusive offer to be of a very good standard and also enjoyed an overall good holiday with your family. We also wish to thank you for your comments regarding the sunbeds and especially the type of sunbeds you would prefer....

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

on arrival to the hotel we were greeted by the receptionist who was very pleasant.... she provided us with our wristbands and told us she would check us in as soon as we had food (the restaurant was closing in 10 mins )i found this very helpful as i was very hungry...we then set off finding our room which was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank legoheid
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear legoheid, Thank you for this feedback of your stay with us at HL Rio Playa Blanca. It is a pleasure that you appreciated the hotel location and services, as well as buffets and our hardworking team. We truly regret that you have not reached out to us while still in the hotel, because we really would have liked to...

Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2014

On arrival at the hotel we were a little disappointed as it looked dated and tired. Our room, although clean and tidy, was also a little tired. However, after a good nights sleep we toured the complex and were pleasantly surprised by the very good layout with a lovely big swimming pool surrounded by sunbeds (could have done with a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stephanie D
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie D, Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for leaving this wonderful review. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed especially our gastronomic offer, the animation and the atmosphere in our HL Rio Playa Blanca. We are happy to let you know that we have already additional sunbeds on stock to provide...

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2014

From start to finish we were very well looked after at the Rio Playa Blanca. The big pull of this holiday was that we could use the water park up the road but didn't have to stay there. Drinks and lunch there were included in our all inclusive package which saved a fortune. The bungalow with two bedrooms was huge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah D
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah D, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your family vacation and for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that all family members enjoyed an excellent stay with us and are especially proud of the positive mentions about our team. This is a great motivation for all of us! We are happy that you...

Rossendale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I honesty do not know what people have to complain about! Our experience at Rio playa blanca was lovely. On arrival we were greeted by a welcoming, friendly receptionist who gave us lots of information and pointed us in the direction of our bungalow. Looking around everything looked very clean. Our bungalow was at the end of a long pathway,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Momblacks
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Momblacks, We wish to thank you for having chosen the HL Rio Playa Blanca for your family vacation and for taking the time to share your impressions. It is lovely to hear that our personnel was able to make your stay with us a more comfortable one and that you were happy with the service provided, especially with the...

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Visited Rio Playa Blanca with my wife and two daughters aged 20 and 13 between 20th July to 3rd August. Having re read the reviews I can understand why some people really enjoyed this hotel but sadly for us it wasn't either the hotel or holiday we had hoped for. Having visited some lovely 4 star hotels in recent years...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kevin D
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kevin D, First of all, we wish to thank you for having chosen the HL Rio Playa Blanca for your holidays here on Lanzarote. Also that you mentioned the friendliness and helpfulness of our employees as well as the comfort of the bungalow is very much appreciated. However please accept our sincere apologies that your holiday did not entirely...

glasgow
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Not long back from our family holiday we arrived on the 8/7 and stayed for 11 nights the hotel is a bit dated and so is the accommodation could do with an update. Wifi is pretty non existent . There is always plenty of food however is very repetitive. Very hard to get a sun lounger as people are allowed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kellymccull
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kellymccull, Thank you for your recent visit to HL Rio Playa Blanca, and for having taken the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to learn that you especially enjoyed our animation, and with pleasure we will pass your kind words to Nicholas and the rest of our team! We are happy to inform you that...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Bungalows were nice and spacious. Found that cleaners came round too early, before 10am and when asking for them to return later sometimes had to remind them. Food so so. Pool area nice but needs more loungers, need to get your towels out by 8am. Location wise is only a 4 euro taxi to the centre or 20 min walk....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxwell88_11
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear maxwell88_11, Thank you very much for having chosen our HL Rio Playa Blanca and for having left a review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you had an overall pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the service of our friendly staff. We took note of your comment about the cleaners coming to early and will address this in...

Havant, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I'm going to keep this review short but sweet, I know that many people are quick to complain but I really found nothing to complain about! Anything you asked about the hotel if it was is the pool clean to is there enough food selection at the buffet your answer is 100% guaranteed to be "amazing!". The staff are cheerful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andrewjarmaine
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear andrewjarmaine, We truly appreciate your 5* review of your recent stay with us and wish to thank you for your friendly recommendation. How lovely to hear that you enjoyed our culinary offerings, the cleanliness as well as the attentive service by our team. It would be a pleasure for us to impress and pamper you again on the occasion...

1,041 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (851)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (164)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (130)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (20)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (387)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Bungalow (58)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.0 km away
HL Club Playa Blanca Hotel
HL Club Playa Blanca Hotel
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,823 reviews
2.9 km away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,135 reviews
1.9 km away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#23 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Lanzasur Club
Lanzasur Club
#21 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,486 reviews
1.6 km away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4,624 reviews
1.8 km away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#30 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Rio Playa Blanca is the perfect place to enjoy an unforgettable holiday on the island of Lanzarote. The horizontal distribution of the hotel and the stunning views of Lobos and Fuerteventura islands make it the perfect place to stay with your family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rio Playa Blanca Hotel

Address: Avenida Archipielago, 4, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly HL Rio Playa Blanca)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Price Range: $136 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Playa Blanca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rio Playa Blanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Rio Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Rio Playa Blanca
Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote
Rio Playa Blanca Hotel Lanzarote, Spain
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rio Playa Blanca Hotel staff and other travellers.
246 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (246)

Questions? Get answers from Rio Playa Blanca Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All bungalows away from the action, a fair walk to some , def recommend 1079 and 1081 , not far to walk and very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles SteveC245, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ironically I thought the bungalows were great just needed comfort mattresses. Maintenance were attentive when the electric went off due to faulty air con and the toilet was blocked and had both issues resolved within an hour.”
 of 5 bubbles leannes402, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are quite dark in appearance but kept nice n clean . Kitchen door had a massive gap around it . Freezer section in fridge was frozen up although quickly defrosted but by end of holiday was back to being frozen up. Bathroom tiles could of done with refreshing the grouting was black in places .”
 of 5 bubbles andrewhO8205HG, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Bungalow 1078 had a sunny terrace close to the pool and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles ORegan_12, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose room Round pool”
 of 5 bubbles mibendaraviciute, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay