We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rio Playa Blanca Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rio Playa Blanca Hotel
Rio Playa Blanca Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rio Playa Blanca Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 896: English reviews
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spent 2 weeks at the rio november december 2012 enjoyed the privacy of the bungalow just a short walk to the main complex through lovely gardens for meals. Accomadation very clean if a little dated maid service first class . Meals very good and varied , we found the staff very helpfull reception staff very helpfull will return one day...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Frank and noree... S
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear franor2013, Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate your kind words about our hotel and team. Your praise is truly encouraging for us in our efforts to offer an enjoyable and memorable experience to each of our guests. Again thank you! We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back soon to our HL Rio...

Neilston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Slightly disappointed 10 night all inclusive holiday, having paid for 4 star for what is lucky to warrant 3 stars, had it not been for the animation (entertainment) team this would have been a damp squib ! Food was ok always a few choices but very repetitive which led us to dine out a few times, the all inclusive was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank psween
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear psween, Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor and for mentioning our animation team and the rest of the staff. Amy was very happy to hear your special praise. However we are truly disappointed to learn that inspite of our efforts you were not entirely satisfied. Rest assured that we will follow up on your comment on the...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our first visit to Lanzarote and the accommodation, facilities, staff & catering at Hotel Rio was excellent. I would certainly recommend to anyone, but I would say best time to go is just before the school holidays as it begins to get very busy and its hard to get sun beds unless you are up at the crack...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Denise N
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Denise N, We wish to thank you for this great review of your recent stay and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us, as this is exactly what we wish to achieve. We are glad that you also appreciated our buffets and the service! Once again, thank...

Durham
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Check-in was slow, as receptionist was trying to persuade the family in front of me to move to the sister hotel. When my turn came I was literally given a key, a map showing where my room was and packed off. Not at all helpful! The room we were given was 1135. There was a strong smell of raw sewage...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashley S
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ashley S, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to learn of your disappointment and also wish to extend to you our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your recent visit to HL Rio Playa Blanca We are truly sorry that we, the Management-Team, did not get the...

Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was my first experience of an all inclusive holiday and for less than £800 for two of us it proved to be great value. The food was very good,plentiful and not too repetitive and their always seemed to be plenty of room in the dining room. The accommodation is in bungalows which were spacious and have their own patio...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yozzerhughes1982
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear yozzerhughes1982, Many thanks for this lovely comment of your recent stay at HL Rio Playa Blanca. It is a pleasure to hear that your trip has been fully enjoyable and that your first all inclusive experience was of great value. Your contentment with our hotel and service is very rewarding for us and we are glad that our staff...

Tillicoultry, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

first time abroad since kids were toddlers, now age 8 and 10, fab holiday. Weather great, constant breeze lovley as its very hot but be careful! The bungalows are more like villas really spacious. air con in bedroom but didnt need it much theyr a bit dated but tipically spanish id say.really gorgeous patio and huge gardens! cleaned daily aswell...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie M
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie M, Your comment was truly pleasant for us to read and we are more than happy that your family enjoyed their vacation to the fullest! It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our gastronomic offer. Our Chefs will be proud to hear that you found their selection fabulous. The fact that your family felt well looked...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our first family holiday in a couple of years our children are 11, 9 and 5. We were all very nervous about this having read some of the dreadful reviews that other guests had posted however I can genuinely say that this was our best holiday ever. We booked all inclusive package holiday with Jet 2 that made...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Scott M
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scott M, What a pleasure to learn how much you enjoyed your stay at our HL Rio Playa Blanca! We are happy that we were able to top your expectations and prove the bad reviews wrong. It is lovely to hear that you appreciated the cleanliness of the bungalows, the animation team the wide choice of culinary offerings. We...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Myself, my wife and 3 kids (16, 15, 13) stayed here 25 June - 2 July. I had read many of the reviews here before travelling, and was doubtful if it would meet our expectations. We were pleasantly surprised. The weather was lovely, very warm/hot each day, but the constant breeze kept you cool. The resort is very nice, well...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DT144
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DT144, Thank you for choosing our HL Rio Playa Blanca and for sharing your experience with us. It is wonderful to hear that you appreciated the general spacious layout of the hotel and the friendliness of our personnel. However we are very sorry that we were not able to entirely live up to your expectations and that you were...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2014

we stayed for 8 days in june-juily and had a fab holiday here as we made it good ourselves along with the faboulous entertainers here at the resort. they are really great. i cannot fault the entertainers one bit as they were excellent and especially with the kids had alot of paitents and always smiling. the negatives i would say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank godzgift
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear godzgift, Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and for your compliments on our entertainment team. We are truly sorry that some aspects of your stay did not entirely meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for not having changed the linen during your stay. We will investigate this matter, as it is surely not standard. Concerning...

Reviewed 30 June 2014

we had one bedroom bungalow which was very spacious for 2 of us. Small kitchen area with kettle and basic crockery. Perfectly adequate given we were all inclusive. The surrounding grounds very pretty with lots of palm trees, and nice and quiet. AI drinks were the usual mixture of local drinks - we found the wine very drinkable, a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jackie D
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jackie D, We truly appreciate your lovely feedback and wish to thank you for having been our guest. We are delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed the location of our hotel and the high quality of our cuisine. Rest assured that your compliments are a great motivation for the entire team in their effort to create lasting memories...

1,052 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (862)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (134)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (165)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (389)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Bungalow (58)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.0 km away
HL Club Playa Blanca Hotel
HL Club Playa Blanca Hotel
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,855 reviews
2.9 km away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,165 reviews
1.9 km away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#23 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Labranda Alyssa Suite Hotel
Labranda Alyssa Suite Hotel
#3 of 37 in Playa Blanca
318 reviews
1.6 km away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4,703 reviews
1.8 km away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#31 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Rio Playa Blanca is the perfect place to enjoy an unforgettable holiday on the island of Lanzarote. The horizontal distribution of the hotel and the stunning views of Lobos and Fuerteventura islands make it the perfect place to stay with your family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rio Playa Blanca Hotel

Address: Avenida Archipielago, 4, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly HL Rio Playa Blanca)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Price Range: $136 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Playa Blanca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rio Playa Blanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Rio Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Rio Playa Blanca
Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote
Rio Playa Blanca Hotel Lanzarote, Spain
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rio Playa Blanca Hotel staff and other travellers.
260 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (260)

Questions? Get answers from Rio Playa Blanca Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bungalows round pool area”
 of 5 bubbles val1044, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms by the hotel entrance are quiet, no noise from pool area or entertainments”
 of 5 bubbles reviewed, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Bungalows near the pool and restaurants are great for accessibility. But they are all very good. They are very spacious and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles janetf766, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all the rooms look good”
 of 5 bubbles andy4519, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“alles is goed”
 of 5 bubbles irina374, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5