We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Swan

Save
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shepton Mallet
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

7 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 7: English reviews
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed for three nights whilst on business. The rooms are twin but I was charged a single price (£30.00) that included breakfast. Owner and staff are friendly and helpful. Dog friendly, there are a couple of Springer Spaniels here. Heating in ensuite rooms with plenty of hot water. Food good, locals tame! Bar is in process of being relocated... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Michael H
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

It's a great pub. It's not pretentious; it is friendly, has resident woofers, a diverse clientelle and occasional live music. Food is reasonable priced and well cooked - good pub grub. Being a local resident, I cannot comment on the B+B facilities, but judging by the pub they will be excellent. Shepton is an ideal centre from which to explore... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TheGoldenhart
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed at the Swan for four days, with my husband. The owners and staff were very welcoming. The food was very good and the full English was freshly grilled. (I hate fat) The room was clean and tidy and had an en suite shower, toilet and basin. Hot water all day and night. Wifi was also provided free, We... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah H
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We booked two rooms over the phone and the paperwork arrived by email promptly. On arrival we were taken to our rooms which were clean, tidy and on first impression was good value for the price paid. Plenty of hot water, modern fire doors, modern flat screen television and tea/coffee making facilities. We ate at the pub over three evenings... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank JackieBrown1971
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We had booked 2 nights stay to attend a wedding nearby. We paid in full upon booking as the website looked quint. We were horrified by what we were met with a dark damp dingy cold stairwell had sick stains on the carpet & that was before we even got to the room. The room was shabby with dirt on... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank SaraRees
Sammax22, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Wanted a refund as they found they were not near their expected venue for an event. Declined and left. More 

Travellers are raving about these Shepton Mallet hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We booked a 2 night stay at The Swan for a wedding we were attending a few miles away. The website looked ok and the price was reasonable - £45 per night inc breaffast. We arrived and instantly got the feeling that the room was unclean - a bit rough around the edges with ripped wallpaper and grotty carpet. To... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
Sammax22, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

This is a single item review dating back nearly two years. Not one review before or after. I link this review to another who did complain but only after she found that she was along distance from the wedding she had come to attend. She wanted a refund on that basis but I declined and she said she would make... More 

Llangefni UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Now why very good. The bed was comfortable, the shower was hot, the door locked securely and the TV worked fine. Guests at the Park Lane hotel enjoyed similar. However Park Lane Hotel Guests did not have the company of the Landlord's (Ian) delightful, Spaniels, the immediacy of service, or the finest Tha red curry I have ever tasted, as... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank iaindewit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Amenities

Additional Information about The Swan

Address: 27 Town Street, Shepton Mallet BA4 5BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Price Range: $84 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Swan Shepton Mallet, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?