We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House

Agoda.comUS$78*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$112*
US$78*
US$88*
US$112*
US$78*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

937 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 934: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2015

We have been to Charlton House many times now and absolutely love it. I never really review places but given this place has been such a find for us I feel compelled to write about it. The main thing that makes this space special is the sense of a feeling of intimacy, privacy and for my wife and I a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bondy68
BannatyneCH, Guest Relations Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review

Dear Sam and Sarah, Thank you for awarding us five stars. It was lovely to welcome you back to Charlton House, the team were thrilled with your feedback. We sincerely hope that you will come and visit us again soon, Kind Regards, Dominee Worman.

Framilode
Reviewed 21 October 2015

My partner chose this hotel - for us to celebrate a significant anniversary ...it needed to be very special . We weren't disappointed - the hotel is beautifully decorated in country house style, but with a slightly quirky edge, which we find appealing. Personally, as I work with textiles, I was delighted by the use of Mulberry fabrics throughout the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BettyHFramilode
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

Me and my girlfriends second visit! Another fantastic stay! Looking forward to staying again! We had dinner included with our deluxe room! The food was brilliant but the portions are quite petite, but still enjoyed it none the less!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cessna110
Conway, Wales, UK
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Sumptuous, comfortable,elegant hotel. Could not fault it. Just sorry to leave. Perfect night's sleep on lovely ViSpring beds (checked because they were so comfortable). High quality natural bedding. Used to visit lots when it was flagship mulberry hotel. Glad to say same ambience if not better slightly, meaning it is slightly more jaded and could do with the odd repair...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E-Conwy
BannatyneCH, Guest Relations Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review

Dear E-Conwy, Thank you for awarding us five stars. I was delighted to see that you could not fault your stay. Customer satisfaction is very important to us, I am grateful for your feedback. I do hope you will come and visit us again soon, Kind Regards, Dominee Worman.

Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

Second time here and not disappointed, best spar hotel around, perfect relaxing atmosphere, awesome spar and treatments. Rooms are great also with plenty of character, won't be our last visit me and my wife love it here. Only negative is the tiny evening meals best avoided if your even mildly hungry!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reado1976
BannatyneCH, Guest Relations Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review

Dear Reado 1976, Thank you for awarding us five stars, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your second stay with us. We are always grateful for customer feedback, I have passed your comments on to the spa and kitchen teams. I sincerely hope that you will come and visit us again soon, Kind Regards, Dominee Worman.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

My mum and I booked this mid-week spa deal and were upgraded to a suite for a small extra. The package included a spa treatment and a 2-course meal. We were welcomed by Elin on reception who was great - showed us all the facilities, explained everything we needed and showed us to our room - The East Wing. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RJG29
BannatyneCH, Guest Relations Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review

Dear RJG29, Thank you for awarding us five stars. Customer satisfaction is really important to us,I have passed your comments on to the spa team,they were delighted with your feedback. I sincerely hope that you will come and visit us again soon, Kind Regards, Dominee Worman.

Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

We have just returned from spending a night at this beautiful location to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary and it did not disappoint.....it exceeded on every count. The room (27) was exactly as it appeared in the pictured was luxurious, Champagne and chocolate strawberries were awaiting....the food in the restaurant or the evening meal and breakfast was superb and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
BannatyneCH, Guest Relations Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review

Dear Nicola W, Congratulations on your silver wedding anniversary we are delighted that you chose Charlton House to celebrate you special day. Thank you for awarding us five stars, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, We sincerely hope that you will come and visit us again soon, Kind Regards, Dominee Worman.

Reviewed 8 October 2015

My daughter arranged this one night spa break for us so unfortunately I cannot comment on value for money. We arrived a couple of hours early as she had been told when booking that we would be able to use the spa's facilities prior to booking in at 3pm. On arrival we told told that our room was ready &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
BannatyneCH, Guest Relations Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review

Dear JaneC, Thank you for awarding us five stars. I was so pleased to see that you enjoyed your birthday treat. We were so pleased that you had a speedy recovery, Sakis and the team send our best wishes, we hope that you will come and visit us again soon, Kind Regards, Dominee Worman

Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here this weekend and we were amazed! We both came away very relaxed. Everything was very well organised. We stayed in the orchard room which was just amazing and very well equipped with everything you need for a stay and the view outside on our balcony was just amazing, especially in the morning! The hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alt2007
BannatyneCH, Guest Relations Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review

Dear alt2007, Thank you for awarding us five stars. Customer satisfaction is really important to us so I was delighted to pass your feedback on to the team. Thank you for recommending us, we look forward to welcoming you back to Charlton House, Kind Regards, Dominee Worman.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

This is a grubby old house with dirty, scuffed walls, dusty corners, wonky pictures and damp. The communal rooms furniture is tired and stained, paint is peeling in most rooms, I know they are going for the shabby chic look but more chic and less shabby would be good. We were shown to our room, The Crows Nest @ £185,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandy6197
BannatyneCH, Guest Relations Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review

Dear Sandy6197, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that you were not happy with your room. We have 28 individual rooms and had we not been fully booked we would have been very happy to change your room. The Crows Nest is in the main old part of the house which dates back...

646 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (388)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (191)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (234)
Viewed
Adam and Eve Room (33)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Orchard View Room (38)
Viewed
Osler Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Secret Garden Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepton Mallet
8.8 km away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
11.2 km away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
640 reviews
11.2 km away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
24.4 km away
Apsley House Hotel
25.8 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House

Address: Charlton Road, Shepton Mallet BA4 4PR, England (Formerly Bannatyne's)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Price Range: $135 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannatyne`s Charlton House Hotel Shepton Mallet
Charlton Hotel Shepton Mallet
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House Shepton Mallet, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wi fi not always easy to access. Certain parts of the hotel not easily accessible if mobility impaired.”
Jwwyn, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 14 has a wee patio and separate access. Very nice”
rikkitikkitaviLondon, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in room 25 Doulting , that was quiet and with a Patio”
473jacquelineh, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take a brolley with you if staying in one rooms that you have to go outside too !”
Dorsetsbest, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 22 with 2 bathrooms”
848jeanettec, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$78* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$88
TripAdvisorUS$78
PricelineUS$112
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates