We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Livingston Motel

View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Livingston Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 179: English reviews
Start your review of Livingston Motel
 Click to rate
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here with some work colleages but had to cut our stay short as walls are paper thin. Could hear next door unplug their phone off charge and flick kettle on at 5.50am, so with the late ours we were working we couldnt relax without feeling we would wake others at night. Also one night we were told no visitors...

Thank ToniDowling88
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 16 nights due to our home been flooded. The lady owner was rather rude right through. We were hardly there just for sleeping. Didn't feel welcome at all.2nd week cyclone hits so we had no power for 16hours.Did the owners go around to see if everyone was ok if they needed anything No!! There was a BBQ...

Thank Tootree
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and the opportunity to clarify things. Unfortunately when the power went off during Cyclone Cook we also had no power, along with the rest of Whakatane and surrounding districts; although a hot dinner and breakfast would have been great. During the following morning we managed to find a camping kettle that could be heated on...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 April 2017

I was so impressed with the size of the room, the quality of the room amenities, the bathroom was huge, the shower was awesome, the room didn't have that smell to it that it has been sprayed so many times to get rid of odor, it smelt of nothing...nice. I was expecting the bill to be much higher than it...

Thank jasonreid2017
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing our motel. I'm happy that you were pleased with the unit you had. We like to open the units up so they can get some fresh air through them, instead of any nasty odours. A number of our guests have commented on how they enjoy the shower pressure in our units. We'd love to...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 April 2017

We had the large Spa pool Unit with a private outdoor area for our Oxfamtrailwalk team. The space and quietness was perfect for us all to have individual space or time together. We had revolving people being accomodated which was managed by the owners. The cleaners were fantasic with working around our flow of activity and people. it was perfect.

Thank phiptb
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review, and for your kind comments. Accommodating you needs with multiple people staying over varying days was helped so immensely by your excellent communication with us. It was a pleasure to be able to help, we'd love to be able to welcome you back next year.

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We spent the weekend attending a conference in Whakatane and found the room very comfortable and quiet, despite the close proximity to Whakatane's Main Street. This meant we could walk to restaurants and cafes. The spa didn't interest us, but the shower was brilliant. We did miss, however, a small coffee table or similar to put our cups and glasses...

Thank MandyJKim
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Livingston Motel. We are very lucky that the units are set back from the road and aren't troubled by road noise; and equally lucky that we have fantastic shower pressure. I am a little confused by your comment about a coffee table, as all our units have at least one coffee table, but we are...

Reviewed 26 March 2017

We were visiting Whatatane on a busy weekend and booked rather late! We found the staff friendly and helpful. We were delayed by the Auckland traffic and it was a nice touch when they rang us to make sure we were okay. When we finally arrived the staff were efficient and helpful. They even put an extra bed in our...

Thank Robert T
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our motel and for your kind comments. We are very lucky that our rooms are large and spacious, so there's ample room for an extra bed. We'd love to welcome you back to the Livingston when you're next in town.

Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

unfortunately we arrived about 6ish and left 7.30am, so didnt really get to appreciate this lovely motel, rooms are huge, clean and comfortable with a wonderful jacuzzi, just wish we had time to use it! tea making facility with a little plate of goodies to welcome you. very pleasant owner. 5 min drive to centre, but just like most of...

Thank Emily A
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our motel, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you are back in the area again, we'd love to welcome you back.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

We booked and stayed for one night in a one bedroom with spa pool outside in private courtyard. Place was clean and spacious, had everything we needed and more (including a complimentary snack platter). Hosts Peter and Debbie were most welcoming to my family and I, friendly and professional. Thank you for an enjoyable, pleasant stay. Definitely recommend!

Thank ExplorerGG
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing the Livingston Motel, and for your kind comments. Our guests love our spacious units, but we know our reputation rests on recent reviews - so thank you for sharing your thoughts. We would love to welcome you back again soon.

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We had a very clean, bright, spacious room which had everything we needed. It was spotlessly clean an modern. The kitchenette had a hob which was a real bonus for us. The location was quiet and although we were only passing through I would recommend it.

Thank OldFartonTour
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your unit. We're very lucky that none of our units are troubled by road noise. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels, we'd love to welcome you back again.

Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

A great sized room. Very clean. Comfortable beds . Large outside hot tub attached to bedroom. Breakfast available if wanted. TV in both bedroom and lounge. Nice towels and toiletries. Easy parking right outside room. Very friendly hosts. Laundry on site.

Thank JulieP55
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review on our motel, and for your kind comments. We'd love to welcome you back next time you're in Whakatane.

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (4)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (10)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (2)
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
2.3 km away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
334 reviews
0.1 km away
Tourist Court Motel
Tourist Court Motel
#7 of 12 in Whakatane
145 reviews
1.2 km away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 12 in Whakatane
132 reviews
2.1 km away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 12 in Whakatane
178 reviews
0.1 km away
Cortez Motor Inn
Cortez Motor Inn
#8 of 12 in Whakatane
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have large spacious, stylish rooms - all ground floor with a variety of bedding configurations, some with cooking facilities; most with full-sized spa pools - individually filled and controlled. 2 easy-access units. Excellent showers. All rooms have LCD TVs and SKY Guest Select with movies and all sports channels; tea & coffee facilities, including plunger coffee, fridge & microwave. One bedroom units and genuine two bedroom unit all have 2 LCD TVs and spa pools. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Livingston Motel

Address: 42 Landing Road, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Price Range: $121 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Livingston Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Livingston Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whakatane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whakatane
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whakatane
#3 Business Hotel in Whakatane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Livingston Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Livingston Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the large Spa pool Unit in the back corner so lots of space”
phiptb, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very quiet but some early morning departures of business people.”
rosie_lusznat, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a spa bath are a huge plus”
rotokiwi08, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“beds are very comfortable”
maureenirwin2016, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“in room spa in some rooms”
, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$81* /night
View Deal
View all 8 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates