We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,934 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,897: English reviews
Start your review of Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We're on our honeymoon and have been away from home for about 2 weeks. We haven't had very good assistance anywhere but when we arrived to the Macdonald, Rachel went above and beyond to help us figure everything out that we needed and was so kind.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank China L
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a one night stay at the hotel. We really like the hotel, our room was great, very clean and new. The hotel staff were friendly and professional. We had a spa treatment and used the leisure facilities which we really enjoyed- all these points would make us come back again. The problem with this place is the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jakechitty22
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went here for a one night stay over. The location is lovely but not much to do in the immediate area unless you enjoy water sports. The hotel is very comfortable with good access for wheelchair users. The room we had on the ground floor was spacious and clean. Tv could only get three channels though and the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy G
Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed at the resort and had to check out a day early due to how cold and uncomfortable the lodge we stayed in was. The heating is not operated when no-one if in the property which has caused the lodge to be damp , and the smell of damp throughout the place gives it a dirty and unkempt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived at check in to simply be given or key - no explanation about breakfast, times, the spa, facilities, room service etc, so we were clueless as to where everything was. We ordered room service. A cheese and bacon burger and fries - the worst meal I've had for £19 I couldn't believe it. It was worse than fast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KT C
edinburgh
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for four nights last week. The room, view and staff were all excellent. However, after a bad breakfast experience we had a look at Trip Advisor and found that our experience has been repeated again and again. The modus operandi of the restaurant could be changed overnight by the application of some common sense. I don't see why...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank peter l
Kelso, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived to a lovely, efficient cheery check-in carried out with efficiency. Room was large with an equally large, and VERY comfortable bed. The room could do with a deep clean and the same goes for the bathroom - marks on the carpet and black mould is never a good thing to see. Could have been the hills, but TV reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobinD1960
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Accommodation was lovely and staff were friendly. However, meal at rafters was completely over priced for poor quality food - was not the standard I would expect from this level of resort and no atmosphere. I am due back with my family for their timeshare but will be eating in!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gtown30
Andrew D, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and your feedback regarding Rafters. I hope that we will have another chance to impress when you return.

Cumbria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic location, hotel could not faulted rooms are spotless and large, stayed DBB and I must same the food was of a very good standard. Staff couldn't do more for you and especially Mr Bender he made meal times entertaining, his service level was outstanding. Gardens are kept very well and then you have Rafters bistro at hand if when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon A
Andrew D, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Its great to read such good comments and I will pass your feedback onto Adrian. Thanks again for staying at Forest Hills and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Leven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival the reception desk staff gave a very warm welcome and were very professional. The room we received was very spacious with absolutely amazing views. The room was very well equipped and when I requested an ice bucket it only took a few minutes. We had a walk round the grounds which are also beautiful. It is slightly dated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charles B
Andrew D, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, its good to read that you enjoyed your room and breakfast. Your comments regarding dinner are noted and will be followed up with the kitchen. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.

585 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (559)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (172)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (237)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochard
21.1 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
30.8 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
13.6 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
377 reviews
14.1 km away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
32.6 km away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Price Range: $135 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dog friendly as well.”
 of 5 bubbles 88royg, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the lodges as you pay a premium and not worth the money , especially due to coldness and damp.”
 of 5 bubbles jackpJ9809AX, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay extra for a Loch view”
 of 5 bubbles EdinburghDonald, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“£20 extra for Saturday, £30 for superior room”
 of 5 bubbles 45years, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for loch view”
 of 5 bubbles angelae748, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5