We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,840 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,803: English reviews
scotland
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We had a lovely comfortable room with stunning views, hotel is lovely and so was our breakfast but unfortunately our dinner in the hotel Bistro was a disaster! We booked a table for 5 at 6pm and had to ask for my grandaughters soup at 7.05pm as she couldn't wait any longer. It was 7.15pm before our meal finally arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank feeeScotland
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear feeeScotland, Thank you for your wonderful five star review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. I am really sorry to read about your food and beverage experiences. I have addressed these and ensured that tighter measures are in place. I am delighted that we were able to rectify all of these. It would be wonderful to welcome you...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016

My wife and I are just back from a great 3 day/night break, (in February) relaxing, eating good food, trying out a few cocktails and enjoying the spa treatments and other leisure amenities. The masseuses were very professional and the Tranquil Room was very relaxing afterwards. We had an afternoon tea booked for afterwards which was served in the main...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meanderer78
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Meanderer78, Thank you for your wonderful five star review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. We enjoyed hosting you for you 3 day break, and it is wonderful to read about how you were able to enjoy all of the spoils we have to offer. We all appreciate your kind words of compliment towards our efforts – Thank...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 22 February 2016

The hotel location and views are splendid. Staff are friendly and eager to please but were run off their feet - the Garden Restaurant appeared short staffed. The decor in the bedrooms is tired and dated. However, the beds are very comfy. But a lack of the CBeebies chanel in a family room is a major failing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katiecC7910CI
Jody M, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear katiecC7910CI, Thank you for taking the time in writing a review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. I am sorry for the lack of “CBeebies” in the room. This is honestly the first request for this as most people focus on canoes and bicycles when they stay with us. I will certainly look into this. I will most...

glasgow scotland
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Wonderful setting,good size clean room, good pool, excellent food at dinner,friendly staff all a bit let down by poor restaurant service. Over an hour to serve breakfast with incorrect orders being brought, slow to respond to errors and not replenishing basics such as tea & toast now cold due to delays.Seemed to be short of staff! Despite this we enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gordie 123
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear gordie 123, Thank you for the time you have taken in writing a review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. Please accept our apologies for our slow service on your final day with us. I would like to state that our hotel experienced some exceptional circumstances that hopefully will not be repeated again. I am delighted that this...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We were staying at the hotel for the weekend to try our wedding menu. Absolutely amazing food looked stunning and tasted even better. Service was brilliant made feel to feel very welcome. cannot wait to come back for our wedding in a few months time. cannot recommend this hotel enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah27
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Rebekah27, Thank you for your kind words in your recent review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. We too are really excited about hosting your wedding. We are delighted that you enjoyed finalising the finer details of your big day. See you in a few months…. Thank you again for writing a review. Kind regards Jody Marshall Resort...

Wishaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

My husband and I were given the gift of an over night at the MacDonald Forrest Hills for Christmas which we used on a Saturday night in February. We arrived for check in at 3pm and our room was ready. Room 110 was spacious and clean, the only gripe I have is the mould on the window frame, not something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Dawn M, Thank you for taking the time in writing a review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. Thank you for your comments regarding our House keeping. I have passed this onto our House keeping team who would like to be associated with my apology. I am sorry for the delay in getting your meal to you, but...

Amersham
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Lovely setting, but frankly the food and service were very disappointing. Breakfast was an eye watering £17.50 per person and for that you'd expect an amazing breakfast. Not so...the buffet breakfast had barely anything left, then for the cooked brekky you could have played tennis with the black pudding it was so hard...they even ran out of beans and pastries....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard P
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Richard P, Thank you for taking the time in writing a review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. I would like to apologise on behalf of myself and my team for your breakfast experiences. I have sent you a private message using the TripAdvisor messaging tool to elaborate more as this was exceptional circumstances. I am delighted that...

Coatbridge
Reviewed 21 February 2016

I love being in the hills and woodland so this is just the perfect place for me . Lots of walks and cycle routes so this all appeals to me for a great break away . Lovely polite helpful staff Lovely spa facility thourghly enjoyed the pool and steam room .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 310kater
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 310katern , Thank you for your wonderful five star review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. I am delighted to read that you were able to enjoy all of the spoils on our Resort. I am grateful for your kind words about my team – Thank you. We hope that you will return soon to enjoy our peaceful...

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Stayed overnight at this hotel which is lovely and fantastic views. The room we had was big but in need of an upgrade as a bit dated. Would recommend the spa and the Rafters bistro adjacent to the main hotel. Disappointed in the morning when I went to have a shower and hardly any water then no water at all....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annabel H
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Annabel H, Thank you for taking the time in writing a review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. I am really sorry about your shower. We have had a problem in the area with water pressure that stems from water holding in Aberfoyle. All of this can be traced through the Scottish water website. I am delighted that...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

A lovely place to relax, good accommodation and well trained attentive staff, who add to the experience, regardless the weather on the outside. Very good restaurant, food, service and views over Loch Ard, that is worth booking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Dennis M, Thank you for the time you have taken in writing a review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. I am sorry but the rain is the one thing I cannot influence. I do try. Despite this, I am delighted that you were able to enjoy all of our spoils and that you were able to "relax"....

544 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (518)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (167)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (204)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochard
21.1 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
13.6 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
30.8 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
349 reviews
12.1 km away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
599 reviews
39.3 km away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Price Range: $130 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade to a room with a balcony!”
 of 5 bubbles robertochinaski, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“lovely lodges (self catered but with hotel facilities on site - best of both), choose recently refurbished accommodation in Oak”
 of 5 bubbles SallyTravelling00, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“103 is the best”
 of 5 bubbles Abirag, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ben Lomond Lodge 11 is a comfortable 1 bedroom with stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles ScotlandChez, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room looking over the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles johncameron, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay