We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 154: English reviews
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We looked at the ratings for this hotel and all were 4 or 5 so we were looking forward to a good holiday albeit the first time they had All Inclusive. We arrived at the pool bar to be told they had no soft drinks except water and cola or coffee which was very nearly warm. The food in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SueC77
MarianaChrysogonou, Directeur général at Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Kalimera, During this new season, many things have changed about the food. We propose only greek dishes to our customers because we have the strong will for you to discover and enjoy the simple but flavoured greek gastronomy. The all inclusive system starts from 10 a.m to 11 p.m to enjoy our local drinks. Our french speaking animation team propose...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed here twice before on half board in '09 & '10 & loved it. Sadly AI has killed it for this year (along with surrounding bars and tavernas all over Europe I assume), although Marianna the owner had no choice as that is what people want nowadays. I am sure she will get it right for next year. I paid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martyn P
MarianaChrysogonou, Propriétaire at Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Kalimera !! Many thanks for your comment and for coming to our small family hotel ! Hope to welcome and see you again soon for your next stay here in Crete. Best regards from Gouves Sea Hotel & Suites The Hotel Management

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Gouves Mare from the 11/09/2012 - 25/09/2012. This was our second hoiday there, the last being at the same time in 2010 when we had a wonderful time. This time there has been a step change, unfortunately not for the better. Although the hotel is clean and the staff both pleasant and helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HWaud
MarianaChrysogonou, Directeur général at Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Kalimera, During this new season, many things have changed about the food. We propose only greek dishes to our customers because we have the strong will for you to discover and enjoy the simple but flavoured greek gastronomy. The all inclusive system starts from 10 a.m to 11 p.m to enjoy our local drinks. Our french speaking animation team propose...

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The vast majority of reviews for this hotel obviously reflect a by-gone era! That is pre the "all inclusive package", and "we are in a difficult economic period" era. We travelled on an expensive half board package. Customer service by this hotel was poor to terrible. Despite "advertising" the pool side snack bar did not do food. The bar could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RH1949
MarianaChrysogonou, Directeur général at Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Kalimera, During this new season, many things have changed about the food. We propose only greek dishes to our customers because we have the strong will for you to discover and enjoy the simple but flavoured greek gastronomy. The all inclusive system starts from 10 a.m to 11 p.m to enjoy our local drinks. Our french speaking animation team propose...

Boston
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I am still on my second week at the Gouvers Mare. We had booked as four adults to celebrate their silver wedding anniversary. The booking was made in January 2011, yet when we arrived at midnight we were in separate parts of the hotel even though we had requested adjacent rooms on our booking. Food really poor,tonight we went for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kay8103
MarianaChrysogonou, Directeur général at Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Kalimera, During this new season, many things have changed about the food. We propose only greek dishes to our customers because we have the strong will for you to discover and enjoy the simple but flavoured greek gastronomy. The all inclusive system starts from 10 a.m to 11 p.m to enjoy our local drinks. Our french speaking animation team propose...

Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My husband and I stayed for a week all inclusive. We had a nice relaxing holiday that was good value for money - that was exactly what we wanted and why we picked this particular hotel and resort. The rooms were fine, the staff really friendly, food was good (although it sometimes ran out of certain dishes) and weather lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsL99
MarianaChrysogonou, Propriétaire at Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Kalimera !! Many thanks for your comment and for coming to our small family hotel ! Hope to welcome and see you again soon for your next stay here in Crete. Best regards from Gouves Sea Hotel & Suites The Hotel Management

Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I spent one week with my friend in this hotel in July 2012. The hotel itself is very stylish, I really liked the equipment in the rooms, restaurant, in the bar. Service was good, staff was polite and helpful, food was tasty - every day was something new. As a big disadvantage - I find the surrindings of the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Hana P
MarianaChrysogonou, Directeur général at Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Kalimera, During this new season, many things have changed about the food. We propose only greek dishes to our customers because we have the strong will for you to discover and enjoy the simple but flavoured greek gastronomy. The all inclusive system starts from 10 a.m to 11 p.m to enjoy our local drinks. Our french speaking animation team propose...

Wales
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Just back from a lovely chilled out week at the Gouves Mare hotel. We booked half-board at the Mare with Monarch/Cosmos, it's the first time with these and their prices beat all the other agencies I'd looked at. We arrived early evening to be met by the receptionist half way down the driveway to the main block to be told...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Philann
MarianaChrysogonou, Directeur général at Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Kalimera, During this new season, many things have changed about the food. We propose only greek dishes to our customers because we have the strong will for you to discover and enjoy the simple but flavoured greek gastronomy. The all inclusive system starts from 10 a.m to 11 p.m to enjoy our local drinks. Our french speaking animation team propose...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We have noticed about 2 bad reviews for this hotel, but you will always have professional moaners. It is an excellent family run hotel and the staff cannot be faulted. Crete as an Island is quite stunning. We toured the whole Island, both by Quad Bike and Car. We are both in our 60's and looked like (for those who...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AlanSally105
MarianaChrysogonou, Directeur général at Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Kalimera !!! Many thanks for your so enthusiastic and joyful comment about our small familiy hotel ! We are very happy that you've seen the changes we've made from 2012 and hope you will come back again to note our improvements to come ;-) We consider you as our ambassors in your country to praise our Gouves Sea Hotel &...

Adderbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is a small, clean, well run family run hotel in a quiet location (apart from being on the airport landing flightpath). The plot is very long and thin and runs from the beach road inland. The original hotel at the front (the Gouves Sea Hotel) was opened in 1982 by Mariannes father. The Gouves Mare behind was built a...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank OxfordTraveller888
MarianaChrysogonou, Directeur général at Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Kalimera !!! Many thanks for your so enthusiastic and joyful comment about our small familiy hotel ! We are very happy that you've seen the changes we've made from 2012 and hope you will come back again to note our improvements to come ;-) We consider you as our ambassors in your country to praise our Gouves Sea Hotel &...

282 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (267)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (112)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouves
10.4 km away
Sunshine Village
Sunshine Village
#58 of 178 in Hersonissos
273 reviews
26.9 km away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
855 reviews
20.6 km away
MariRena Hotel
MariRena Hotel
#11 of 32 in Amoudara
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.2 km away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#5 of 8 in Skaleta
98 reviews
17.3 km away
Malia Bay Beach Hotel & Bungalows
47.6 km away
Bali Star Hotel
Bali Star Hotel
#3 of 16 in Bali
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Crete and Hotel Gouves Sea ****... Our well-situated, comfortable and family hotel, in front of the Aegean Sea, will be the first great souvenir of your trip and an excellent place to go to visit all the most important cities of Crete : 18km from the airport, 22km from Héraklion, 30km from archeological site of Knossos, 45km from Agios Nikolaos, 85km from Ierapetra, 98km from Rethymno, 115km from Sitia, 158km from Chania. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites

Address: Gouves Pediados, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Price Range: $107 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Orbitz so you can book your Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Suites Gouves Mare
Hotel Gouves Mare
Mare Hotel Gouves
Gouves Sea And Mare Hotel & Suites Crete
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Gouves
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“what you pay is what you get”
 of 5 bubbles mcm_mak, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“1st floor Rooms on the back - not facing swimming pool area - has beautiful garden view and quieter”
 of 5 bubbles pgrowleys, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“all seemed good”
 of 5 bubbles DavidL446, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Don't go for a private pool!.”
 of 5 bubbles KerryO486, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
“sea view only at gouves sea....not gouves mare”
 of 5 bubbles babygan1, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5