Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort

Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort

Traveller (2846)
Amirandes Main Swimming Pool
Pool & Beach (409)
Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 3 resorts in Kato Gouves
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Impossibly glamorous with movie good looks, this incredible property is a modern day Minoan palace swept by sea breeze, in Crete. Affectionate and generous with an idiosyncratic character, Amirandes is quite unique. Life is staged around the ancient lagoon and feels beyond a hotel & beyond a residence. With a fabulous collection of rooms, suites and villas with a sense of individuality and character, you will find privacy and a luxury world of all kind of amenities. Let us take you on a journey to the cool dining world of Amirandes with its 10 restaurant & bars and their fantastic, original cuisine. A fantastic range of sports, watersports, athletic facilities & outdoor experiences, the Elixir spa, a sandy cove, a sea lagoon and an olympic-sized seafront piscine make up a holiday fantasy. Amirandes is a Resort to Live.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Valet parking
Wifi
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Boating
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Table tennis
Water park offsite
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pushchairs
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:UP TO 15% OFF

Location

Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014 Greece
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 52 out of 100
52
N. Kazantzakis Airport
12.8 km
See all flights
Sitia Airport
73.2 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,676 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled on a pristine beachfront, Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort garners high marks for its breathtaking location and immaculate cleanliness, with travelers often commending the spotless rooms and grounds. The resort's exceptional amenities, including luxurious pools and a range of activities, are frequently lauded, although some guests suggest the rooms could use an update. While the dining may come with a hefty price tag, many find the overall value commendable due to comfort packages and complimentary upgrades. The personalized service and tranquil atmosphere are also standout features that contribute to a memorable, family-friendly stay.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Tranquil
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Outstanding

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,676Review97Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,345
  • 212
  • 71
  • 27
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kate S wrote a review Nov 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The most beautiful stay!

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights for a babymoon and it was wonderful.

On arrival, the staff had upgraded us to a garden room which was huge with a large balcony, side sea view and incredibly comfortable bed. There was a bottle of Prosecco and cold plate awaiting us in the room. The shower is very powerful and the bath is huge!

The whole hotel is stunning and immaculately clean. The staff work so hard to care for the hotel and grounds and it really shows.

The restaurants are fabulous. I'm veggie and when asked to review my stay after a couple of days, I commented that the only thing I would change was the veggie options. The following two nights at dinner, we were treated like royalty with specially made or recommended dishes. It was so special and I felt very lucky and cared for at the hotel.

Despite the beauty and grandeur, the hotel has a lovely, relaxed feel. Every member of staff we met was friendly, kind and helpful. It is such a nice atmosphere at Amirandes. Nothing is too much trouble. The staff even brought me up some milk when I had terrible heartburn! Just gorgeous people all round.

The hotel has a short pathway to a private, sandy beach with plenty of loungers, towels are all included and laid out, no queueing! The sea is calm and clear, perfect for swimming and snorkelling and you can order food and drinks to your lounger if you like too.

This was truly a 5 star experience and we will be booking again with our new arrival for out first family holiday without a doubt!

Huge thanks to all the staff for making our time so special. We felt immediately relaxed on arrival and were treated like absolute royalty, thank you 😊
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from EVGENIOS LOMIS, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort
Responded Nov 13, 2023
Dear manchestergirl2019, Warm greetings from Grecotel Amirandes Boutique Resort! To start with, let me just say what a great pleasure it was to have you stay with us recently and warmly thank you for taking the time to share your amazing experience among other TripAdvisor readers. It seems that everything about your stay exceeded your expectations, from your accommodation to our favorable beachfront location. However, your compliments concerning the staff are mostly appreciated and rest assured that I will personally let everyone know of your kind words, as it will make them so happy to know that they managed to contribute to your lovely holidays. They all go above and beyond in order to assure that our guests will be treated as members of our family, always with genuine care and a pure smile. Dear manchestergirl2019, on behalf of this amazing team, I would like once again to share a big "Efcharisto" for your appreciation as well as for strongly recommending our resort to the online community. We hope you choose to create more memories with us whenever your travels bring you back to Crete. Warm regards, Evgenios S. Lomis Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole lowery wrote a review Oct 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Grecotel Amirandes in the double room with private pool for 10 days, when we arrived at 12 o’clock at night, we was welcomed by a man who took our cases and gave us bottles of water and chocolates, great first impression for the rest of the holiday!
The food in the hotel was amazing, variety of choice always!
The hotel staff was very polite and friendly towards everyone and never treated anyone unfairly.
Then we met the water sports team Gianis and Stavros and sports entertainer Costas. Who all three we made very close friends with they was 10/10.
Costa’s always making us laugh and making us feel welcomed into joining into the games via Vollyball, Football, pingpong... Great person with a great personality!
Along with Gianis who was there to make the most of our experience in Crete, he took us on a boat trip to the island of Dia. I will include some photos of the island. This island was the best experience we had in Crete and Gianis made this experience the best for us, we laughed all the time we was out there. My boyfriend jumped off the boat and Gianis made me feel safe enough to jump off the boat myself!
He made us feel like we was his family, I have never met such a down to earth person like Gianis is, he would sit down and make time for us constantly. Always joking & laughing with us, and having great conversation with us.
Overall this hotel is definitely a 5 star hotel, and everything is rated 10/10 for us, cleanliness is 10/10 rooms cleaned everyday without doubt. Food 10/10, friendliness 10/10!
And for this we have booked for next year summer time!! And we have the countdown on already!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VASSILIS MINADAKIS, General Manager at Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort
Responded Oct 28, 2021
Dear Nicoleloweryx, we thank you for sharing such a beautiful and detailed review on TripAdvisor! It has been our pleasure having you here as our guests. Mentioning 10/10 in points like friendliness, food, and cleanliness is our biggest reward! We will kindly forward your kind words to Costas, Yiannis and Stavros. Wishing you all the best until next time! Kind regards, Vassilis Minadakis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
simonburridge wrote a review Sep 2020
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a lovely few nights at the Amirandes recently. They'd responded well to the requirements of Covid, which really puts your concerns at rest. This included spreading tables and restaurant bookings, face covering use and sanitiser station and an absolutely ingenious arrangement for obtaining hot food for breakfast. Sadly, not all of the guest upheld the same high standards set by the hotel and its staff.

The hotel is well designed and offers numerous beautiful views as you walk around it and its well kept grounds. The room was large and well, if not perfectly, maintained. The staff were always professional, attentive and helpful which extended to advice on hire cars, stamps and posting, dinner recommendations and booking. Many thanks to you all.

We benefitted from an upgrade to a sea view room which was wonderful. Less appealing was the smoke drifting across the balconies from the neighbours and the wrinkled German pensioners sitting on the couch at the end of their balcony, peering into our room at the of every day. We're all guests and people are entitled to enjoy their breaks but that one bit of design did seem a bit odd in an otherwise well considered property.

We ate in most of the restaurants and I have to say that the Petrino fish restaurant open for lunch only stood out. Classic Greek (if not necessarily Cretan) cuisine with friendly service and a wonderful view. The Lago de Candia fine dining was actually very good and didn't fall into the pretention but no substance trap which expensive hotel restaurants often succumb to. The Blue Monkey pan-Asian cuisine was also well made if not as authentic a version of tempura as I had. Still, why go to Crete for Japanese food?

Breakfast is pretty impressive but gets quite busy so maybe better to go earlier.

I would recommend getting a taxi to Saradara restaurant. The receptionist recommended it and it was a great experience. Arguably better than the on site options. A great tip.

The connected beach is ideal if that's your thing. A selection of loungers, seats and a beach bar at hand for a nice sandy beach and decent enough waves. Busy but in no way crowded. It's obvious that many people went there just for this.

All in all, a beautifully designed and well run luxury resort.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Efstathios Savvidis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort
Responded Oct 1, 2020
Dear Guests, First of all, we would like to warmly thank you for taking the time to share this detailed feedback further to your recent stay at Grecotel Amirandes Boutique Resort! What a unique feeling to read that you were satisfied with your stay and most importantly that you felt safe under the new circumstances that nowadays we are all facing. To us it is of great importance that we meet your expectations in every aspect of your holidays with us and we are more than delighted to read that you were overall satisfied with our staff, your dining experiences and your accommodation. Furthermore, we would also like to express our gratitude for the constructive comments that you made. It is comments like these that make us better and better year by year and we thank you for that. We will be more than happy to welcome you to our hotel once again in the near future; till then, we wish you all the best and most importantly good health! Kind Regards, Efstathios Savvidis The Hotel Manager Grecotel Amirandes Boutique Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
platybo wrote a review Dec 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel had a bunch of issues.
Upon arrival our check in time had been moved from 2pm to 4pm because the room was being sanitized. We had not been advised of this previously. We were not offered any sign of goodwill such as complimentary drinks at the bar or a coffee during our 2hr wait. With half the resort empty, why had a room not been sanitized prior to our arrival? During our stay we saw plenty of rooms that had been sealed off as sanitized well before 2pm so I suppose it was definitely possible to have done this in advance. When we came back at 4pm we were ushered to our room unceremoniously by one of the rudest hotel staff I have ever encountered who verbally reprimanded me for politely inquiring about the bottle of wine that was part of the package we booked and should have been in our room. I was stunned by how she spoke to us, claiming we should have checked the hotel website before coming (I checked afterwards and there was no mention if cancelled fruit platters and wine). Yes, I know we're in the middle of a pandemic but a sealed bottle of wine can be santized just as well as bottles of water. Only after calling our travel agent did we receive it the next day. The room was a tired connecting room with the connecting door locked and blocked with a luggage rack and two single beds pushed together. In a corner stood a TV that looked like a 32" at least a decade old.
Perhaps the rough start to our stay here impacted our tolerance when it came to all the other shortcomings. Overall we felt that Greek people are incredibly hospitable and only ever at this resort did we feel like, particularly some waitresses at the restaurant and the lady who took us to our room, never smiled, raised their voices in a negative way and overall acted stressed and that any request from our end was an incredible imposition. We are pescatarian and described our dietary needs on the first day, however the evening "buffet" (greatly reduced due to covid) had very few things we could eat. Tuesdays is Cretan evening and almost every main dish was meat. There was an entire lamb and a baby pig etc.. Wonderful surely for meat eaters, but I didn't have a main course at all ever and no one even noticed. After inquiring we were told the next two evenings would have more seafood options so we were excited about that.
When we told the incredibly friendly GM about some of the rude staff we had encountered he made some excuses, apologized and offered us one complimentary dinner to improve our stay. Having booked half board anyway and with the promise of a better selection the next days we decided not to take him up on the offer of a meal upgrade. In hind sight we should have. The buffet did not improve.
One thing we felt the resort could easily improve was their selection of water bottles. The brand they sell/use offers both plastic and glass bottles but the hotel seems to only use the plastic variety. I think it's important to reduce our waste, aim towards responsbile tourism and use glass bottles when they are clearly an option.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Efstathios Savvidis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort
Responded Jan 7, 2021
Dear Guests, First of all we would like to extend our best wishes for a blessed New Year! Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feelings regarding your recent stay at Grecotel Amirandes. Although your review describes mainly the negative parts of your stay here with us, we understand that this is your opinion and that you were kind enough to share it with other travellers. We are sincerely sorry that during your stay we failed at offering you an enjoyable experience. We are very concerned about the point you mention as we really do care about the service our guests receive and it does matter a great deal if our guests are satisfied or not. Rest assured that every single point you mentioned is taken into serious consideration by all the hotel management. We would savour the opportunity of welcoming you again and fulfilling your every wish with the most personal attention possible. Remaining always at your entire disposal, we wish you all the best, and most importantly, good health! Kind Regards, Efstathios Savvidis The Hotel Manager Grecotel Amirandes Exclusive Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlotte M wrote a review Sep 2021
Essex
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in this luxurious hotel for one week to celebrate our honeymoon and we were WOWED. The place is absolutely stunning and the staff are so lovely, kind, helpful and polite. The rooms are beautifully clean, the food was amazing and there is literally nothing I can fault about this hotel, apart from maybe a lack of evening entertainment - only one live singer on one night of the week. However, this was a very minor issue that did not affect our trip very much at all.
The activities were brilliant - we done yoga, aqua aerobics, table tennis, tennis and beach volleyball - which were all led by brilliant instructors who were very fun and knowledgeable.
In this hotel, you want for nothing. Suitcases brought to your room for you, rooms cleaned and water replenished daily, all needs catered for. You are made to feel like a celebrity/royal! In the buffet restaurant, the second you have finished eating, your plate is cleared and your drinks are always kept topped up.
To sum up, I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough to anyone looking to visit Crete. This place is an absolute palace and we hope to return one day as it is by far the best hotel we have ever been to and the best holiday we have ever been on.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view - BEAUTIFUL!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VASSILIS MINADAKIS, General Manager at Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort
Responded Sep 12, 2021
Dear Charlotte M, It was a great pleasure having you here as our guests and expecially during your honeymoon! Making our guests feel special is our main goal! We are happy to read that you enjoyed the activities and the service provited. We will forward all your kind words to all the staff memebers. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Vassilis Minadakis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary L wrote a review Jul 2023
Leicester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment you go past the security gate, you can see this place oozes class and is 5 star all the way. When you walk into reception the view takes your breath away. The check in process is smooth and we were guided round the hotel and shown where the restaurants and bars were and then taken to our room. We opted for the Luxury Double Room with Sea View, and we had a stunning sea and pool view. The room was clean and spacious, and the balcony too was spacious. Beds were so comfortable. The rooms were cleaned every day and you only had to ask for more of the coffee sachets or milk and the maids provided. Leaving an old sachet and a note with some Greek words of parakalo (please) and efharisto (thank you) may have helped.
We chose the B&B option and were well looked after by Vaso in the restaurant along with the always smiling Katerina who always took time to have a quick chat. Thank you to you both for making breakfast a happy start to the day. The choice of food is very good.
The pool is huge and was warm once you got in. Plenty of sunbeds and parasols so no need to reserve. A big thank you to Yiannis who was always there with a huge smile and warm welcome to help put up the parasols. The waiters, Pavlos and Manos, must walk miles every day and they work really hard and are fantastic members of the team.
The food in the Japanese and Italian restaurants was amazing and the salads at lunchtime by the pool a refreshing treat.
For those who like to do a bit of gym work then I highly recommend having time with George in the outdoor gym. He made the exercises interesting and used his sense of humour to push me beyond what I thought I could do and, in the end, I really looked forward to working with him after a day at the pool. He knows his stuff and how to strengthen various parts of the anatomy. Whilst the gym area has quite a bit of equipment, I am sure with more (including more of the same items) then it will enable a larger audience to be attracted. George you are a star.
The only thing I would mention is that the hotel complex is a little out of the way for people with mobility issues. However, you can hire a private taxi (8 euro fixed fare) to get into the Gouves restaurants. We got a mobile number of a private taxi and used whatsapp to book in advance an hour or more before pickup time and we had no issues whatsoever.
In summary this holiday will give you the relaxing break you need and whilst comments have been made about the price of drinks, it is 5 star and it isn’t much more than in the local bars. Thank you to the whole Amirandes Team for making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable. You are all a credit to the hotel group.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from EVGENIOS LOMIS, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort
Responded Jul 12, 2023
Dear Mr. Gary L, Warm greetings from Grecotel Amirandes Boutique Resort! Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing Grecotel Amirandes Boutique Resort for your holiday break and for taking the time to share your relaxing and enjoyable experience on TripAdvisor. We would also like to express our gratitude for taking the time to write a comment full of words of praise and compliments, which undoubtedly makes our job worthwhile. Also, we are so glad to know that you enjoyed the entire stay from the beginning until you left the resort with an unforgettable bank of happy memories. Reading through your comments we feel overjoyed that yours areas of satisfaction started from the moment you went past our security gate down to the last day of your stay when all your needs were catered and please rest assured that Vaso, Katerina, Yiannis, Pavlos, Manos and George will all be informed about your kind appraisal words. Dear Mr. Gary L, receiving undeniably positive comments like yours, serve as a great boost to our overall functioning and morale and we truly appreciate your recognition. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you entering our premises for another splendid stay in a not so distant future. With my warmest regards, Evgenios S. Lomis Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
suetaylorfashion wrote a review Oct 2021
York, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited this stylish and perfectly managed hotel for my 70th birthday and were very pleased to be given an upgrade to a two bedroom villa on the beach, with our own pool and gazebo with very comfy sun beds. Maria, the accommodations manager, who was lovely, made sure everything was just right for us. All the staff were so polite and cared about making sure that your holiday was perfect. Their white uniforms looked so cool and classy, the service from everyone was the best.
The food in all the A La Carte restaurants was world class, fantastic chefs. The Minatautus restaurant was unique in that they raised a platform from the lagoon every evening for a great dining experience. It also housed some genuine Picasso works of art. In the evening the bar hosted different artists who provided laid back entertainment. The amphitheatre is currently not being used due to Covid regulations. Good WiFi.
The only downside was the noise from the planes landing every few minutes as the Hotel is right on the flight path for Heraklion Airport. But just use earplugs or turn the music up. It was such a relaxing and enjoyable holiday, thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and immaculately clean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VASSILIS MINADAKIS, General Manager at Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort
Responded Oct 28, 2021
Dear suetaylorfashion member, we thank you for choosing Grecotel Amirandes at such a remarkable moment in your life. It has been our pleasure and honor having you here and we thank you for sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your accommodation in the villa and the Minotaur a la carte restaurant. We hope to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Vassilis Minadakis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
konstantinosv778 wrote a review Aug 2022
Geneva, Switzerland
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Another great vacation at Amirandes.

The hotel building is just beautiful with great indoor and outdoor facilities. The rooms are very good and are kept spotlessly clean from housekeeping. We had a family suite with a master bedroom, a living room that converted to a separate 2 beds room for the kids and a bathroom with 2 sinks, bathtub for two and a separate shower, so quite convenient for the 4 of us. Housekeeping had the room cleaned while we were on breakfast, so room was spotlessly cleaned when we returned to get ready for the beach or pool.

The sea and beach in front of the hotel are very good, especially when there is no wind. Although it’s tough to avoid wind in August, we were lucky and had 3 days that it was just perfect with kids loving to build castles in the sand. Swimming pool is simply great and the Elixir spa offers very good services.

Food and drinks are perfect and as you expect them from a high quality resort.

For one more year what really made the difference is the people who will welcome you and make sure you have the best time possible. Special thanks to the entertainment team (Kostas, Niki, Charoula, Giouli, Mathilde and Martina, Mathilde), and Mrs. Polina and Mrs. Anna.
On top of this, the Amirandes team is committed to listen and find ways to always improve; Grecoland facilities were renovated and there was no phone installed anymore to contact the team. This created some insecurity in terms of communication if something was needed or there was an emergency. We shared the feedback and the full team including the hotel manager mobilized and made sure that phone and wifi were installed.

Net-net for us it was great! We are looking forward to visiting again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VASSILIS MINADAKIS, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Dear konstantinosv778, A warm thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your most recent stay in Grecotel Amirandes Boutique Resort. We appreciate you pointing out the known Grecotel hospitality and the Greek "philoxenia" our people offered you. Your compliments about the beautiful property style and the superb service are a source of motivation for us. Customer experience and satisfaction are our priority, and your review reaffirms our daily efforts. Kostas, Niki, Charoula, Giouli, Mathilde, and Martina as well as Polina our Service Manager, and Anna our Captain will be happy for praising the hospitality you received. We will pass on them your kind compliments. In Grecotel Group we are all firmly committed to the continuous improvement of our services and product, your contribution is valued. We carefully receive and value your feedback for future improvements and corrective actions. We deeply appreciate your loyalty to Grecotel and your trust in our services and we are looking forward to welcoming you back next year Kind Regards, Vassilis Minadakis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zilonis wrote a review Aug 2021
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel many years ago and we were looking forward to staying there again.

This stay was a bit of a disappointment esp. given how much they charge for the accommodation.

The sea was rough on a number of days, so we could swim only in the pool (which was with sea water).

At breakfast they offer quite a good selection of different foods, but when asked what can be made specifically for a vegan, they spent some time discussing with the kitchen and went back to say that nothing could be done beyond the usual fair that they have on offer. Too many smokers for breakfast and dinner. The waiters do not inform you that there is actually a non-smoking area, we only discovered it on the 2nd day. By the way, from that non-smoking terrace there is wonderful sunset. We dined there as part of HB package, I did not appreciate to be charged so much for drinks, incl. water. Wine selection is poor and imported wine is very overpriced.

Try coming for breakfast early to avoid crowds.

On few nights there was hellish noise coming from outside the hotel. It was not fun to be on a balcony.

The hygiene is ok, the towels on the beach are wrapped in plastic. Personnel wears masks (albeit it might be on the chin) and gloves.

They give you plenty of water but for some reason you need to come to the reception to pick it up. Why not to deliver it to the room?

Overall, not good value for money, not coming back anytime soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VASSILIS MINADAKIS, General Manager at Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort
Responded Sep 8, 2021
Dear Zilonis, thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to read that we have not exceeded your expectations during your stay here with us and that you felt a little disappointed. As our main aim is to ensure a relaxing a nice stay for all our guests as we take all comments very seriously. We would like to ensure you that all point will be discussed in detail with the responsible departments in order to make all necessary actions to improve our guest's overall experience. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you in one of our resorts again soon. Kind regards, Vassilis Minadakis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terry H wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just, sadly, left Amirandes after a magical week. The hotel is stunning, the room was truly perfect and, most importantly, every member of the Amirandes team is completely focussed on making ones time there memorable and stress-free.

I recommend a villa. The beach is accessible to all, but having a reserved beach gazebo is worth its weight in gold. Insider note: the beach area closest to the main hotel is rockier, but the area in front of the first three gazebos (L to R, if facing the water) has several wide openings, from which you can go out 30 metres and still only be waist high in water.

The food was great. Get the cervice appetiser - you won't regret it. The breakfast crew was wonderful. See my review of the most memorable off-resort restaurant.

I can't recommend this hotel enough. Wonderful through and through. We were there with our 13 and 11 year old, and all had a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All the frontline rooms looked amazing. go villa if you can. otherwise, frontline non-villa...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VASSILIS MINADAKIS, General Manager at Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort
Responded Aug 30, 2021
Dear terryhP1307OS, we thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read how much you and your children enjoyed the hotel and your overall experience here with us! We are excited to read how much you enjoyed the food, the service and that you recommend us to the world. We will be more than happy to welcome you again soon! Best wishes, Vassilis Minadakis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from binx892016
Greater London, United Kingdom12 contributions6 helpful votes
Lots of chips -don't worry. Sorry, didn't use the pool bar so can't really help with that.
Answer from Nikos P
Dear Aurélien L, Good morning from Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort and thank you for your question. Kindly note that Amirandes can arrange a pool fence to be put in front of the private pool of a room/suite/villa upon request. Moreover, for your information, there is a secondary lock on all the terrace doors of the rooms which have direct access to the pool at a specific height, in order to prevents the kids from opening the door and reaching the pool. I hope these actions will make you feel secure concerning the safety of your child. We remain at your disposal for any further clarification you may rquire. Best regards, Nikos Poulakis Rooms Division Manager
Diane M asked a question Sep 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Is Alcohol Free Beer available?
Answer from George T
New York City, New York204 contributions36 helpful votes
I think so
Answer from Charlie Calman
Radlett, United Kingdom8 contributions8 helpful votes
Yes you can wear smart shorts. They are not that fussed on dress code, unless you’re wearing swim shorts or other obvious inappropriate clothing.
Icefairy wrote a tip Jul 19
Aldershot, United Kingdom136 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Short transfer from the airport and the town, you can choose various packages. We did all inclusive which worked for us."
Read full review
Carolyn S wrote a tip Jul 13
Buckinghamshire18 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No worry about beach beds on the beach or by the pool theye are always available, with a clean beach towel on them too."
Read full review
Andrea H wrote a tip Jul 12
Vienna, Austria16 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We appreciated the suite with the individual pool"
Read full review
Phil A wrote a tip Jul 6
11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No need to scramble to the pool early doors for beds, there’s always availability by my experience"
Read full review
Jules_NL wrote a tip Jul 1
Gorinchem, The Netherlands94 contributions34 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Download the Grecotel app at home and do the pre check in before traveling to speed up the process once you arrive :)"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kato Gouves area.
PRICE RANGE
C$506 - C$789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grecotel amirandes hotel gouves, grecotel amirandes amnissos, grecotel amirandes hotel amnissos
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
LOCATION
GreeceCreteHeraklion PrefectureGouvesKato Gouves
NUMBER OF ROOMS
212
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort?
Nearby attractions include Central Bar (0.6 km), Maria Yannis Cafe Bar (0.6 km), and KonDimAr Cocktail Bar (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Limanaki Restaurant, Medusa Restaurant, and Taverna Philipos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Amirandes Grecotel Boutique Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Russian, and Greek.
All Kato Gouves HotelsKato Gouves Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kato Gouves
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars