We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
Matala Road, Matala, Crete 702 00 Greece
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (65)
Dining (9)
Pool & Beach (6)

About

#2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Matala
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Hotel Coral their inn of choice when visiting Matala. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

The rooms offer air conditioning and a refrigerator, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

In addition, as a valued Hotel Coral guest, you can enjoy a pool and a restaurant that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the seafood restaurants, including Hakuna Matata, George's Yard, and Petra & Votsalo, all of which are a short distance from Hotel Coral.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Hotel Coral as you experience all of the things Matala has to offer.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
117Reviews5Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 58
  • 38
  • 13
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stephan I wrote a review Oct. 2021
Wuppertal, Germany20 contributions7 helpful votes
If you have been here once, you will return. Very friendly staff, nice and clean hotel with pool, lots of plants and flowers Ideal for relaxation and lovely holidays The breakfast contains more than you need and more than you normally get in Greece
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Kaz wrote a review Oct. 2020
Worcester, United Kingdom250 contributions85 helpful votes
We stayed here the last weekend at the end of the season. The manager was very helpful and allocated us a room leaving the key in the door, giving us the WiFi code. The hotel is small with a pool and parking. 900m from the beach front. The rooms were basic but spotlessly clean. Our bed was very hard and we only had one pillow each. Had it been a normal season and there were staff around I’m sure I could have asked for more. There was no shampoo in the bathroom and the shower sliding doors were very difficult to open a doc lose. Breakfast in the morning was typical cheese, meat, bread, fruit etc and given the prices we paid for the night it was all very reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
ann692 wrote a review Jun. 2019
Maleme, Greece136 contributions74 helpful votes
Firstly would I ever visit this hotel again - NO NEVER The owner and her Manager were unbelievably rude to my face and the facilities advertised were not available. We were visiting Matala to attend the music festival for the second year running and had booked Coral Hotel for its amenities and location. It has a small pool - always welcome when the temperature is above 30 degrees and air conditioning. We arrived at the hotel too early to book in which was fine but we were told which room we were staying in. We had arranged to meet friends in the afternoon for a beach party which was fabulous. We then returned to the hotel to check in but as we couldn't see anyone to check in with and the keys were in the door we went to the room. I asked the owner for the remote for the air conditioning only to be told that the previous occupiers had broken it and we had been informed of this. That was certainly not true. The owner accompanied me to our room and showed us a desk fan that they put in the room instead. With temperatures being high that was certainly not going to do the trick and the room would have been unbearable at night. I asked that we be given another room which had air conditioning to be told that they had no vacancies. This again was untrue as apparently the room next to one of our friends was vacant. After a heated discussion we accepted €20 due to the lack of air conditioning and was told in no uncertain terms that after our visit there we were never to return to the hotel. On going back to the room we then discovered that the shower doors wouldn't open. I asked the young lady manager to come have a look and after some brute force and speaking to someone on the phone she managed to open them. In her presence I then stepped into the shower to try the doors which again wouldn't work right. I was told by the manager that I was being argumentative and she went away. The whole affair and rudeness upset me and after discussing with my husband we came to the conclusion that we couldn't stay the 2 nights we had booked and therefore returned the keys to the owner and manager who merely smirked. I wont go into the plaster that was missing in two areas of the bedroom and the expanding foam around the toilet. We had paid €161 for 2 nights through Booking.com (minus the €20 the hotel gave us back) which we have lost and it ruined our weekend to be spent with friends. If we had booked directly with the hotel we would only have lost a small deposit but as we prepaid through Booking.com we have lost €141 minus a small amount Booking.com have offered us as compensation (€25)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Ask to check the room before you pay
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Stephan I wrote a review Aug. 2018
Wuppertal, Germany20 contributions7 helpful votes
We have been staying at this hotel for 15 years now every summer and still cannot get enough. This beautiful family run little hotel offers you everything you need to calm down and relax. It has a litlle pool, a lovely breakfast with home made marmelades and other stuff and clean rooms with aircondition and fridge. The staff is absolutely friendly and open to any wishes or complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Helena B wrote a review Jun. 2018
Eastbourne, United Kingdom9 contributions20 helpful votes
This was the trip of a lifetime with my friends. I was recommended this hotel and went so far as to visit it last year to see for myself its suitability. Maria was in charge at the time and all was fantastic. I looked around it was just want i wanted. I took the email details and emailed Maria when i got home and knew how many people would be coming. The amount was 14 adults. I emailed as agreed and was told Maria had left but no matter her mother Eleni was in charge and would take and confirm my booking. We arrived and paid cash as requested by Eleni 40Euros per night B&B. This is when it all seemed to get confusing and not be the value for money, good quality it had been. Neither Eleni or her new manager Esmeni seemed please to see us and strained to smile. We were later told by Eleni that her daughter had gone and left her to run the hotel alone without staff or facilities. I am very sorry to hear this but was never apologised to for the fact that there was no bar, food and only one kettle to share between 14 of us. We all had to pay extra daily to have our fridges turned on. there was a breakfast but if the bread ran out or you asked for honey we were told there wasn't anymore. Our sheets were not changed the whole two weeks and we had to ask for clean towels, which on occasions were refused. One member of our party was asked to change rooms to accept a guest. She agreed if she could move next to us which she did. Later that evening she realised she had left her pyjamas under her pillow in her old room. There was no one there to ask so she left it. In the morning she asked for them and the cleaner went into her old room and took them out from under the pillow.!!! This meant that the last person had unwittingly slept in her old sheets! The pool was full of insects and on more than one occasion cleaned by the guests just so they could swim. Matala is lovely and so are the people. I am sure things will improve for Eleni and her staff and of course therefore the guests, lets hope. Because of these things and for Eleni shouting at my sister who complained that her room wasn't clean I give the rating a poor result. I think maybe what Eleni didn't take into consideration was, that we had all been working hard all year to afford this holiday together to celebrate my 60th, one of my party came all the way from Texas. On a positive note Eleni cooked the most amazing birthday meal for me organised by my sister and paid for by my friends, it was fantastic. When i thanked Eleni and told her how beautiful it was noting she should sell this food to the tourists she said, I don't want to I don't want this I want to retire, I have had enough. Perhaps that is the answer to our overall poor experience at the former lovely Coral Hotel B&B, Eleni doesn't want to be there or to provide a service for her guests, she has had enough. I wish Eleni all the best and hope things improve for her and her guests. Best wishes
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The hotel next door was very noisy until the early hours
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$50 - US$79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GreeceCreteHeraklion PrefectureMatala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Coral
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Coral?
Nearby attractions include Matala Beach (0.08 km), Matala Caves (0.00 km), and Prisma (0.05 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Coral?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Coral?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Coral?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Coral?
Conveniently located restaurants include George's Yard, SCALA Fish Bar Restaurant & Hotel Boutique, and Bistronomy Matala.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Coral?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Coral?
Many travellers enjoy visiting War Tunnel (12.8 km).