We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dimitris Resort Hotel

Save
Share
Matala Main Road, Matala, Crete 702 00 Greece
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (134)
Pool & Beach (30)
Dining (29)

About

#8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Matala
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hospitality in Greek language is treasured as one of the most precious values and inheritance we got from our ancient Greek roots and the Cretan culture. We mean to offer this to our guests while they stay in our hotel.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Diving
Kids pool
Car hire
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Hiking
Horseback riding
Fishing
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Greek
184Reviews4Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 40
  • 54
  • 36
  • 23
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Pieter B wrote a review Jul. 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Look at that sparkling pool, which features prominently in all marketing. But ... the pool is dry. Apparently due to Corona health measures, but this doesn‘t seem credible: all other hotels we stayed at in Crete had filled and functioning pools! Note: the empty pool isn‘t covered or enclosed i.e. it‘s a dangerous hole in the ground
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ernie A wrote a review Jun. 2019
10 contributions12 helpful votes
Second visit to this property, although the rooms are dated and spartan they are very clean and the friendliness of the staff was great! Looking for a Waldorf-Astoria experience? This ain't it and you're not paying WA prices either, just good value for the money
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
StewnGeorge wrote a review Jun. 2019
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions5 helpful votes
If you have a pool can you call yourself a RESORT? This place is no RESORT....more like a backpackers hotel. Rooms are small with absolutely no amenities, that is soap, shampoo, hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities, glasses. Small shower facility with shower nozzle holder broken. We were shown our room and had to take the balcony table and chairs from our small room and place them on the balcony. Fridge was not plugged in, no water provided. We came back after dinner at 9.00pm and bar/reception was all locked up. Couldn't even get a cup of tea. I would advise anybody thinking of staying here, think again. There has to be better options.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MatalaDimitrisVilla, Owner at Dimitris Resort Hotel
Responded Jun. 11, 2019
Dear George first of all i want to thank you as you have choose us for your stay in Matala . Probably you have forget to write that you have choose the ECONOMY BACKAGE WITHOUT BREAKFAST AND DINNER and of cource the ECONOMY ROOM category....so as i have see you have receive everything you have pay and of cource you not receive the Facilities in the Premium Category ...this type of Reservation (PREMIUM) of cource has much more Facilities and services but is not 25 euro per night the double room...its about 75 euro per night. Thank you again and i wish you the best for the rest of the summer Regards Houstoulakis Dimitris Hotel Owner
Read more
jo t wrote a review Jun. 2019
Hasland, United Kingdom65 contributions103 helpful votes
We are a family of 3 and stayed here for a couple of nights in April. There is free parking and a lovely veranda to sit out on. It is located a short walk out of town, maybe 7 minutes, and surrounded by fields, excellent for birdwatching. Unfortunately, the pool was drained as it was the start of the season and probably considered too cold. The room was adequate, clean and a bit tired but perfectly fine, free safety deposit box, small bathroom, plenty of hot water, and a fridge. It was clean but there were quite a few mosquitoes, so we kept the door closed. A kettle/tea making facilities would be brilliant. We enjoyed our stay. Matala is lovely. This place is good value.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Rooms
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
englishman74 wrote a review May 2019
Leipzig, Germany108 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
Beware this place is the worst we saw in 2 weeks in Crete. Not only is it a dump that should be condemned but the owners are also very dishonest. We booked the room through Airbnb which shows only 3 bed and 4 bed rooms as the options available. We went for the 3 bed option as we always like to have a bit of extra space. Upon check in they gave us the key for a room with 2 beds, so I wondered off to the reception to explain what I thought was a mix up. Unfortunately they told us that there were no 3 bed rooms available in fact she told us that they do not have any 3 bed rooms, which is untrue. So we had no choice as it was already late and I had just driven 4 hours across the island, we had to accept the room. When I got to the mosquito filled room and tried to have a shower which was not possible as there was no hot water. I checked the internet on other platforms to find that the room that we were given was half the price of what we had paid. We had been completely ripped off. So for the first time ever, we checked out the next day and were confronted by the lady telling us we will not be able to get a refund as we can't prove anything. To top it off she claimed that she knew that I was also a hotelier which is complete rubbish. We stayed in 4 other places in Crete which were far superior to this disgusting little place. Before the lady comes back by saying we knowingly booked the economy package that is totally untrue because they claimed to have '20 A class rooms' (see photo). Anyway we decided to leave Matala straight away which is a shame because it looks like it is a nice place but unfortunately Dimitris left a bitter taste in my mouth.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MatalaDimitrisVilla, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dimitris Resort Hotel
Responded May 20, 2019
Dear Mr Warner first of all i want to thank you for your choose to use our Hotel for your stay in Matala with AIRBNB. About your comments probably you have forget to write all the truth. 1) About triple or double let me remind you that your Reservation is for 1 Double-BB-ECONOMY room from the AIRBNB platform and NOT a Triple room as you request from our Manager , in AIRBNB the system when you put the choise "persons" and you choose the number "2" show you ONLY the Double rooms 2) After we show you all the AIRBNB papers about your Reservation you receive the room and you stay for the day and the next day the noon you have decide to let the Hotel without to pay and you have request the total ammount back...of cource we dont agree with that. 3) About the HOT WATER is totally untruth all you say becouse 30 days ago we have change the Solar System of the Hotel and the hot water is really to match for the 30 guest we have in the Hotel. 4) About the dirty room also is totally untruth becouse EVERY DAY there is a Cleaner who be in the Rooms and spend 30-40 minutes for every Room for Cleaning 5) ...and final after a "search" about you we found in many Hotel Guest Databases your "name" with similar problems who you do last year in June in your holidays in some others Hotel Thank you again and try to be more honest when you write something just to receive some money back from your holidays. Regards and i wish to you the best for the rest of the summer Houstoulakis Dimitris Hotel Owner
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$33 - US$75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
matala dimitris hotel, hotel matala dimitris
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Matala Dimitris Villa
LOCATION
GreeceCreteHeraklion PrefectureMatala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dimitris Resort Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Dimitris Resort Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Matala beach (0.6 km), Red Sand Beach (Kokkini Ammos) (1.1 km), and Matala Caves (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dimitris Resort Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Dimitris Resort Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Dimitris Resort Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Dimitris Resort Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dimitris Resort Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include George's Yard, SCALA Fish Bar Restaurant & Hotel Boutique, and Alexis Zorbas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dimitris Resort Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dimitris Resort Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Dimitris Resort Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting War Tunnel (12.8 km).