We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Matala Main Road, Matala, Crete 702 00 Greece
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Priceline
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (134)
Pool & Beach (31)
Dining (30)

About

#10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Matala
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hospitality in Greek language is treasured as one of the most precious values and inheritance we got from our ancient Greek roots and the Cretan culture. We mean to offer this to our guests while they stay in our hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Diving
Kids pool
Car hire
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Hiking
Horseback riding
Fishing
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Greek
188Reviews5Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 55
  • 37
  • 23
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dave W wrote a review Jun. 2018
13 contributions
Booked directly using the poor check bookings site. Sent a note to cancel for a partial refund which was ignored for a week (even though all previous communication was instant) was then told that I had to use the check bookings site to cancel - by which time I was too late for a refund -and in any case it was not possible to cancel using the site. Awful communication from the owner who started talking about getting his legal team involved. - not the Cretan hospitality I have been used too for 30 years. So I told this story to a few friends and low and behold a number of others have had the same experience. One friend lost 500 euros because the rooms he booked were not cancellable and he was not allowed to let a friend use the room as it is not allowed. This was for the Matala
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DimitrisHou, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dimitris Resort Hotel
Responded Jul. 4, 2018
Dear Dave About your commetns i thing is not "all the truth" you have use the Real Time Reservation System from CHECKBOOKING ...when you make a Reservation you receive a username and a password if you wish to make any "changes" or "cancel" your Reservation till 14 nights before the arrival date....you never use them and from our side we can not have access in your "data' to make any change in the Reservation becouse this is Unlegal from Europian Law. About your friend who you say "he lost 500 euro" he make a Reservation to our Hotel from BOOKING.COM under a NON-REFUNDABLE mode and as you already know these Reservations can not change or cancel thats why the Price in these reservations are really low ( -40%) ...this is the truth ...i understand that you probably you dont know to use the Technology of Internet to make changes or to follow "Term and Contitions" but our Hotel do... Also from our side we prefer to co-operate with guest who understand how the Internet work and to follow the "Term and Contitions" of a Net Reservation ....please try to forget what you can do in Greece 30 years ago becouse this style and this "philosophy" make all this financial problems in the Country. Thank you again and i wish to you the best for the rest of the summer. Houstoulakis Dimitris Hotel Owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Briam M wrote a review Oct. 2017
Guildford, United Kingdom16 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Had a great stay for a week October 2017. The rooms were spotless and cleaned nearly every day. The breakfast was very good and as much as you would want to eat. We also had the half board option and the evening meals were 3 course traditional Greek cookery. The pool was first class and very clean. The property is well set back from the road so is quiet. Elaina ran the facility and was warm and friendly. If you are a natural complainer this may not be the place for you but if you don't like friendship, hospitality and generosity you probably shouldn't be in Greece anyway! the hotel has a slightly hippy bijou feel other guests with children loved the atmosphere and some had visited several times. Note the pool has a deep end.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ladislav49 wrote a review Sep. 2017
Prague, Czech Republic17 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
We spend three weeks in September in Dimitris´ in Matala and it was a nice experience for all of us. We booked for two rooms - one was in the house nearby the breakfast premisses and the nice swimming pool, the rooms are on the second floor (a little bit higher stairs - no elevator), the other in the building only one minute walk distant, with rooms also on the ground floor with a charming veranda. Our rooms were not five stars but corresponding with the price we had chosen - big enough for two and every day cleaned. If You are not in a honeymoon trip, book for a room with two separate beds as the double bed is not wide enough and every move next to You will awake You. All offered equipmets were functional - just a little bit weak shower. Only a couple of wire hangers in the
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marisol G wrote a review Aug. 2017
Düsseldorf, Germany21 contributions
We stayed for one night (2 persons) for around 54€. We became a very good breakfast, the rooms are simple but clean and roomy. We had a working AC and the pool is very nice and clean. The beach is just 5 min. from the accommodation but it's nevertheless a quiet place. There are good parking places direct in front of our room. Good Wifi in our room. The stuff are very friendly! :) thank you! We would come again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
pufftah wrote a review Jul. 2017
3 contributions1 helpful vote
This "Rent Rooms" [you can see this stenciled on the side of the dormitory block], has recently changed name to "Dimitris Resort Hotel". First of all it is not a Hotel and is certainly not a Resort. The rooms seem to be at least 30 years old, they still have minuscule cathode ray tube televisions that must be at least 15 years old with hardly any foreign stations, the sheets are only changed on certain days even if they have been dirtied in any way. The bathrooms are horrendous, minute shower in which your body cannot avoid touching the shower curtain whilst holding the actual shower head above you, as it does not keep in the position you put it. The towels are similar to sand paper, as they are washed and then dried in the harsh sun.... but to look on the bright side you get a
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DimitrisHou, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dimitris Resort Hotel
Responded Jul. 9, 2017
Dear Sir first of all i wan to thank you for your choose to use our Hotel and Creta Island for your holidays this summer. About your comments i have check your reservation and i see the follow: 1) you have choose the more cheepest package from OTA and you have agree with the standards of the accomotation (20 euro per days include the breakfast for 2 persons) is "what you pay is what you get" 2) in the DIMITRIS RESORT there are also Villas and Houses with 350 euro per night so you have the choise to use one of them if you pay ofcource 3) Also in the DIMITRIS RESORT there Hotel Rooms with 4 stars facility but the cost as we inform you is 120 euro per night. 4) you have choose BY YOUR SELF this package and i thing is very unfaith to complain now and to talk about our RESORT with this comments. 5) we call the place RESORT becouse is a complex of different building (25000 sq.m - 9 buildigs in the same area) for all the amounts. Thank you again and i wish to you the best for the rest of the summer. Regards Houstoulakis Dimitris Owner of DIMITRIS HOTELS RESORT
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GedHob2013 wrote a review Apr. 2017
Crete, Greece38 contributions16 helpful votes
This is the third occasion we have stayed in the apartments and we will be staying there again . This family run apartments are very clean , only a 10 minute walk to the centre and the family who run it are so friendly and helpful
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Emanuele P wrote a review Apr. 2017
Castelfranco Veneto, Italy36 contributions7 helpful votes
We staid there one night, with two rooms. We chose the hotel for its price. The swimming pool was still empty, and we couldn't have the AC working. The parking was big. The location is fine, rather close to the beach, but still quiet. Unfortunately the shower was barely warm. Simply put: it is the most affordable accomodation in Matala, and you get exactly what you pay for.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tross9 wrote a review Apr. 2017
Wakefield, United Kingdom32 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed here over Easter weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were greeted by friendly smiling staff. The room was a decent size with comfortable beds, a double and bunk beds for our boys. The bathroom was compact with a small shower. We were on the ground floor, with a table and two chairs outside with 2 very friendly cats waiting to greet us each morning. The breakfast was lovely, we helped ourselves to a choice of yogurt, local honey, bread, boiled eggs, tomatoes, feta cheese, juice and coffee. It was a 10 minutes walk into Matala which is a charming place. I would love to revisit this hotel in the summer when the pool and hotel bar are open. The fireworks in Matala at midnight on easter saturday were fab, we watched from outside our room. Thank you for an enjoyable stay
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dean P wrote a review Nov. 2016
Ljubljana, Slovenia160 contributions105 helpful votes
Walking distance to the beach - 15 minutes, breakfast was fine. Room was clean and quiet - good rest. Pool area and restaurant. No welcome drinks for "genious booking.com travelers", as advertised. Bill for the room was promised but never received.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Per-Olov L wrote a review Nov. 2016
Gotene, Sweden171 contributions104 helpful votes
The location is outside the village of Matala in a quiet lane about 7 minutes from the beach. The rooms in the first annex by the pool are bigger than the second annex. Both have a small balcony. The room at the second annex had a moldy smelling bathroom. The staff is very fiendly, a mother and her daughter running the place. We had half-board so they prepared excellent meals for us every night which we had by the pool. I can really recommend that you take half-board as the price was excellent. The breakfast was ok with a limited selection also eaten by the pool.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
US$35 - US$57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
matala dimitris hotel, hotel matala dimitris
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Matala Dimitris Villa
LOCATION
GreeceCreteHeraklion PrefectureMatala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Dimitris Resort Hotel - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Matala, Greece) - B&B - Tripadvisor