We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Matala Main Road, Matala, Crete 702 00 Greece
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (134)
Pool & Beach (31)
Dining (30)

About

#10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Matala
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hospitality in Greek language is treasured as one of the most precious values and inheritance we got from our ancient Greek roots and the Cretan culture. We mean to offer this to our guests while they stay in our hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Diving
Kids pool
Car hire
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Hiking
Horseback riding
Fishing
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Greek
188Reviews5Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 55
  • 37
  • 23
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Price-conscious-man wrote a review Oct. 2016
Denmark10 contributions2 helpful votes
According to the description our room should be 30 m2 but in reality it was less then12 m2. According to description as rooms amenities was among others TV, telephone and safe. No one of this things was present. According to description the room should have a balcon or terrace. There was not any of them but on the corridor to the room there was put a little table and a chair. Refrigerator in the room was so noisy that we had to turn it off in night because otherwise it was impossible to sleep. On the ceiling was hanging a bulb without any lampshade. There is no 4 minutes walk to the beach as it is 800 m. Not any lights in the passage from main street to the hotel ( about 100 m ) what feels unsecure. Breakfast was simple and did not responded to the pictures.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Date of stay: October 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MatalaDimitrisVilla, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dimitris Resort Hotel
Responded Oct. 29, 2016
Dear Sir First of all i want to thank you as you have choose to use our Hotel for your holidays in Matala. About your commentsis not really truth becouse as i have your reservation the system that you have choose to make the Reservation (Budgetplaces) dosnt offer all these that you say . With this Reservation System you have choose the "economy package" and of cource the service is more low than the "Standard Package" but already you know that when you made the reservation (35% more low price). About the distance from the Beach of Matala is 350 m and everybody can check that from Google Earth so is not truth when you say "the Hotel is 800 m from the beach". Thank you once more and io wish to you the best for the winter time Regards Dimitris Houstoulakis Hotel Owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ladypeppercombe wrote a review Oct. 2016
Brighton, United Kingdom9 contributions19 helpful votes
Stated for a week. Great as a base when you intend being out and about. Close to beach and town. Lots of lovely beaches close by. Room adequate with free key safe and air conditioning. No safety issues like other guests reported. We had a ground floor room with a double bed and pretty shared terrace outside door. Shower wasn't good as water pressure poor and it was cramped. Breakfast was simple. We arrived on a late flight and key was left in reception for us to let ourselves into our room. A note accompanied the key and stated we would be required to move rooms mid holiday; this wasn't enforced and had it been we would have objected. We overheard another guest being told they would have to pack their belongings and place case in reception until given another room later in the
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LynO14 wrote a review Sep. 2016
Torquay, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
Very comfortable room, cleaned every day . Staff nice and friendly and really helpful. Just off the main road so nice and quiet .Swimming pool is beautiful set in a lovely grassy area.Arranged for a taxi to get us back to the airport , which was an excellent service. All in all a very pleasant stay
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
B H wrote a review Sep. 2016
12 contributions5 helpful votes
Dimitris Villas in Matala, is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. I would never have agreed to this place had they shown one photo of the rooms or known it would be so bad & in a state of such disrepair. The pictures on the site link portrayed a nice pool & reception area- no rooms. And they are horrible. This is what you need to know about this place: Poop in toilet upon arrival. Floor wet & slippery in hallway by our rooms and dripping down the stairs that access our rooms from condensation from the air conditioners and drip bucket not being emptied, We asked them to do something about it upon arrival & they said they would. This morning-the tile floor was wet again with no rug or towel & I slipped & fell & really hurt my knee. Only working light in room
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MatalaDimitrisVilla, Owner at Dimitris Resort Hotel
Responded Sep. 13, 2016
Dear Sir I want to thank you for your choose to visit Matala for your holidays . About the room comments when you come you see that you have two options for your holidays : 1) to use the old rooms in Stergios Villa (Low Cost Package) 2) to use the New Rooms in Dimitris Villa (Elegance Package) As you decide to use the option No1 because is the half price from the option No2 probably you forget to write this. Thank you again and I wish to you the best for the rest of the summer Regards from sunny Matala Dimitris Houstoulakis Hotel Owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Giulia G wrote a review Aug. 2016
Vicenza, Italy53 contributions23 helpful votes
I enjoyed my staying here, the location is essential but clean and nice and the whole staff is very kind! I would recommend it to everybody! The villa is provided with a pool also, so you will certainly find everything you need!! And Matala is wonderful so, go to Dimitris Villa and have fun!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
pauline k wrote a review Jul. 2016
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for 10 nights in June 2016. Very basic but clean and a really nice pool area which you need when it gets too windy to sit on the beach. For the money - around £20 per night per room - I thought it was good value. Beds not so comfy but that is my only gripe. Matala a great Wee place.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
harleydude_tom wrote a review Jun. 2016
Ireland20 contributions7 helpful votes
Very nice apartments and well maintained. Staff so friendly. Apartments clean and fresh. Nice pool and bar area great place to relax. Good Breakfast. Close tothe town of Matala. Great value. I would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cloudy_awe wrote a review Apr. 2016
Milan, Italy81 contributions51 helpful votes
More like a B&B rather than a hotel. It is a bit isolated so it is very quiet. The services are basic and the breakfast a bit poor, however the rooms are very nice and comfortable, all in all great value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chrysa K wrote a review Jan. 2016
Patras, Greece1 contribution5 helpful votes
We had a misunderstanding. They cancelled our reservation leaving us with no rooms. After we left the motel, they called and threatened to chase us if we don't leave the village.. Worst kind of people(crazy). Additionally, the room they showed us when we went there was like hostel. Just don't go.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MatalaDimitrisVilla, Owner at Dimitris Resort Hotel
Responded Jan. 21, 2016
Dear Guests probably you talk for some other Hotel and for sure not for Matala Dimitris Villa. As I check my reservation Book we never have you with us or have any reservation request from you. All you say is totally untruth and I don't know the really rezon who you do that . Matala Dimitris Villa Holidays Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
yossil01 wrote a review Oct. 2015
kiryat motzkin135 contributions47 helpful votes
A family owned hotel. The word MOTEL will describe it better. A two story building, the rooms and beds are Europiean and not American standarts. Amenities include AC, refrigarator, a safe box and free wifi. Good breakfast is served with bread, boiled eggs, feta cheees, water melon, tomatos, greek yoghurt, honey and jam, coffee and tea. Located in a quiet place with free parking, about 10 minutes walk from the center and beach. Very kind and helpful management. In short, a basic motel, dont expect anything fancy. Very good value for the money. Stayed for sevsn days. Too much for a little place like Matala and far away from the main attractions of Crete. Good for those seeking a quiet beach.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
US$34 - US$57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
matala dimitris hotel, hotel matala dimitris
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Matala Dimitris Villa
LOCATION
GreeceCreteHeraklion PrefectureMatala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Dimitris Resort Hotel - UPDATED Reviews, Prices & Photos (Matala, Greece) - B&B - Tripadvisor