Dimitris Resort Hotel

Dimitris Resort Hotel

Matala Main Road, Matala, Crete 702 00 Greece
Traveller (135)
Pool & Beach (31)
Dining (30)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#2 of 2 B&Bs in Matala
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hospitality in Greek language is treasured as one of the most precious values and inheritance we got from our ancient Greek roots and the Cretan culture. We mean to offer this to our guests while they stay in our hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Diving
Kids pool
Car hire
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Hiking
Horseback riding
Fishing
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Greek

Location

Matala Main Road, Matala, Crete 702 00 Greece
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 71 out of 100
71
N. Kazantzakis Airport
54.7 km
See all flights
189Reviews5Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 42
  • 55
  • 37
  • 23
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
K S wrote a review Oct 2015
Palo Alto, California2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked on Travelocity, arrived at night to find no one; apparently they had some communication problem, Travelocity thought they had room while they did not. They didn't answer the phone, slept in my rental car (fun!);
The next morning the extraordinarily rude lady yelled at me for calling her at 2 AM. As if I did this to chat?
Surely it's their responsibility to make sure they are communicating correctly with Travelocity??! I had a confirmed reservation.
In fairness, the location is very good - very close to the breathtaking Matala beach, esp the red beach trail.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from fasatos, Owner at Dimitris Resort Hotel
Responded Oct 2, 2015
Dear Karen hello as my Manager inform you we don't have any co-operation with Travelocity and also we have not receive any reservation in your name the night who you come in Matala...also is not really polite from your side to be untruth and say that you have a "confirmed reservation" to our Hotel as we don't receive it from anyone...anyway I wish you the best for the winter. Dimitris Houstoulakis Owner of Dimitris Villa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Greggory C wrote a review Jul 2015
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was absolutely wonderful. Very clean. Good service absolutely no problems at all. The family who run it a very welcoming and friendly and a pleasure to have met and spent time with them. The food is fantastic the ladies work very hard every day catering for your every needs. Would stay here over and over again. Big thank you to everyone there who made my holiday a pleasurable experience
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James wrote a review Jul 2015
Bristol, United Kingdom58 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Returned here for the second year running, this time spending just over a week at the Dimitris villas
A warm welcome from staff in the evening, and a comfortable room still with free air con, daily cleaning, free mosquito plug, plenty of storage and comfortable beds
The ground floor did seem to suffer cockroaches and the wifi was only good in the pool area and very corner of the terrace. However that's normal for most of Crete and the least of concerns
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and hope to return again next year
Matala. Το μεράκι !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eero H wrote a review May 2013
Keminmaa, Finland27 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited at Dimitris Villa at the end of April 2013.We stayed 3 nights.Downstair room is spacios.Tv was not ok.The only kitchen machine is fridge.Pool area is nice,and there was breakfast too.Breakfast is typical Greek style.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vsiron wrote a review Sep 2011
Portsmouth, United Kingdom166 contributions85 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I never ate the fruit that they served during breakfast since they didn't bother to cover the food and a few flies were hovering over the food like crazy. There isn't a non-smoking area for non-smokers to enjoy their breakfast since the owner's daughter usually smokes inside the taverna and at least few smokers are also gathered outside.

The food that they serve in most of the tavernas in Matala are just barely eatable, do avoid ordering salads, fried anchovies (they didn't take the insides out, yuk!) and the lamb chops at Hakuna Matata's. I've probably had the worst salad ever, and the only place that we came across which offers decent food was Die Zwei Bruder.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison T wrote a review Jun 2022
Newcastle, United Kingdom2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The owner was arrogant and a bully.He kept hounding me to do things which had already been sorted… threatened me with police ……as I see in other reviews, he seems to do quite a lot. The receptionist was not fit for purpose. The Room totally out dated and unfit to have 2 adults and a child with just 2 single beds. Left after 4 days despite being booked for 7. Poor breakfast…. ….. δεν πειράζει …… everywhere else in Crete had been fantastic🌻

His reply on his own website review insinuated I was taking drugs!!!! I’m a 61 yr old with COPD and do not smoke. I’m out here recovering from long covid and have been Joined with family.!!!
Houstoulakis Dimitri - the Hotel Owner seems to be those on another planet!!!🌻🙏🌻
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CretanEagle wrote a review Aug 2018
Hania66 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It is not luxurious, but the a/c and refrigerator both work and are both quiet. The bathroom is cramped but works. The place is QUIET. Wonderful. Our hostess was friendly and sensibly attentive and the pool was just splendid. And it was exceptional value.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jackie672015 wrote a review Jul 2018
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom13 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely family run accommodation. Breakfast was good, especially the bread.
Nice pool.area which can get busy with not enough sunbeds.
Rooms cleaned regularly and are a good size.
Problems with checking in as arrived to find our room occupied so had to.use a different room and move next day. Our transfer driver though was very helpful.
We asked to keep our room til the evening but unfortunately someone was booked in. We were however offered another room for €30 until we left. It's a shame it wasn't ready until well in the afternoon.
Manager and staff were friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave W wrote a review Jun 2018
13 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked directly using the poor check bookings site. Sent a note to cancel for a partial refund which was ignored for a week (even though all previous communication was instant) was then told that I had to use the check bookings site to cancel - by which time I was too late for a refund -and in any case it was not possible to cancel using the site. Awful communication from the owner who started talking about getting his legal team involved. - not the Cretan hospitality I have been used too for 30 years.

So I told this story to a few friends and low and behold a number of others have had the same experience. One friend lost 500 euros because the rooms he booked were not cancellable and he was not allowed to let a friend use the room as it is not allowed. This was for the Matala weekend where rooms would relet immediately.

There are plenty of other lovely rooms and hotels in Matala so avoid this place if you can!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DimitrisHou, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dimitris Resort Hotel
Responded Jul 4, 2018
Dear Dave About your commetns i thing is not "all the truth" you have use the Real Time Reservation System from CHECKBOOKING ...when you make a Reservation you receive a username and a password if you wish to make any "changes" or "cancel" your Reservation till 14 nights before the arrival date....you never use them and from our side we can not have access in your "data' to make any change in the Reservation becouse this is Unlegal from Europian Law. About your friend who you say "he lost 500 euro" he make a Reservation to our Hotel from BOOKING.COM under a NON-REFUNDABLE mode and as you already know these Reservations can not change or cancel thats why the Price in these reservations are really low ( -40%) ...this is the truth ...i understand that you probably you dont know to use the Technology of Internet to make changes or to follow "Term and Contitions" but our Hotel do... Also from our side we prefer to co-operate with guest who understand how the Internet work and to follow the "Term and Contitions" of a Net Reservation ....please try to forget what you can do in Greece 30 years ago becouse this style and this "philosophy" make all this financial problems in the Country. Thank you again and i wish to you the best for the rest of the summer. Houstoulakis Dimitris Hotel Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Briam M wrote a review Oct 2017
Guildford, United Kingdom22 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a great stay for a week October 2017. The rooms were spotless and cleaned nearly every day. The breakfast was very good and as much as you would want to eat. We also had the half board option and the evening meals were 3 course traditional Greek cookery. The pool was first class and very clean. The property is well set back from the road so is quiet. Elaina ran the facility and was warm and friendly. If you are a natural complainer this may not be the place for you but if you don't like friendship, hospitality and generosity you probably shouldn't be in Greece anyway! the hotel has a slightly hippy bijou feel other guests with children loved the atmosphere and some had visited several times. Note the pool has a deep end.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bamfor asked a question Aug 2021
Bradford, United Kingdom31 contributions11 helpful votes
Hi, is the pool fully open now?
Matala, Greece1 contribution
yes is full and you can join it
DimitrisHou asked a question Sep 2017
Matala, Greece
hello there how are you ?
Answer from DimitrisHou
Matala, Greece
test question OK
Matala, Greece1 contribution
thank you really :) ...
Matala, Greece1 contribution
Dear Herve can you please send me your reservation ID for your booking in our Hotel. Also to organize the Taxi Transfer I need the follow information 1)arrival time in Heraklio airport 2)flight number 3)airline company name all this information you can send them in the Hotel email dimitris@matala.gr and not in here. Regards Dimitris Houstoulakis
Hervé L asked a question Mar 2015
Langueux, France
Comment réserver la navette aéroport - hôtel ?
Matala, Greece1 contribution
from Heraklio Airport you can take a Taxi and say to the driver to take you in "MESSARA KTEL" when you arrive there (5 minute driving) ask for a Bus Ticket for MATALA (1 hour Bus driving) ...or you can use our "Taxi Service" from Heraklio Airport to the Hotel direct for 65 euro (every Taxi can handle till 4 persons) . For anything else please let me know Regards Dimitris Houstoulakis Owner of Matala Dimitris Villa and Hotel
Briam M wrote a tip Oct 2017
Guildford, United Kingdom22 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The whole hotel is quite"
Read full review
ladislav49 wrote a tip Sep 2017
Prague, Czech Republic17 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"A very quiet location, parking at the premisses, helpful stuff, outstanding swimming pool and nice family atmosphere."
Read full review
Per-Olov L wrote a tip Nov 2016
Gotene, Sweden166 contributions105 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get a room in the annex by the pool. They are bigger and better bathrooms."
Read full review
harleydude_tom wrote a tip Jun 2016
Ireland20 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A car would be needed to make the most of your stay in Matala."
Read full review
yossil01 wrote a tip Oct 2015
kiryat motzkin138 contributions47 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Second floor accessible by steps only."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Matala area.
PRICE RANGE
C$53 - C$67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
matala dimitris hotel, hotel matala dimitris
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Matala Dimitris Villa
LOCATION
GreeceCreteHeraklion PrefectureMatala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Dimitris Resort Hotel - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

All Matala HotelsMatala Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Matala
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars