Virgilio Grand Hotel

Traveller (428)
Room & Suite (152)
Il Cortiletto RestaurantBreakfast Room at the Virgilio Grand Hotel
Dining (113)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#5 of 17 hotels in Sperlonga
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Virgilio Grand Hotel, Sperlonga's modern and welcoming 4-star hotel, is situated in the heart of one of the most exclusive and attractive villages in Italy, very close to the historical centre and just a few steps away from the sea.Our hotel provides the warmth and care of the best Italian hospitality along with comfort, functionality, relaxation, quality, wide and well-lit open spaces, blended together to create an elegant atmosphere, enriched by carefully chosen details.The hotel has 72 finely appointed rooms with innumerable services of the highest quality, carefully prepared to meet all sorts of requirements and to offer a pleasant stay to all our guests. It boasts the largest and most modern Congress Centre in Sperlonga and a wellness centre, for a marvellous experience in the world of well-being.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Hammam
Massage
Solarium
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
1,224Review21Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 484
  • 451
  • 175
  • 60
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
pierrfra wrote a review Jul 2020
London, United Kingdom92 contributions73 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
You will be conquered by the quality and choice of the food (especially sea food) and by the very kind and prompt availability of the personnel, including the young guys from the reception, one cleaning lady, one waiter and the drivers of the shuttle to the beach: they all really make a difference, also for their accurate but non obsessive care in observing and ensuring observance of social distancing and face coverings.
You are close to the sea, but also far enough to be deprived of its sight and sound. A good walker can reach it in less than 5 minutes though, or less than 15 if it is the hotel’s beach, which raises the conflict between a nice walk on the beach (unmissable at the sunset) and a nice chat with the charming shuttle drivers (convenient if it is late in the morning or early in the afternoon, hence hot).
You are also at 10 mins climb from the amazing ancient Sperlonga, but again far enough to miss its sight and voices... Probably good when it’s time to sleep.
The swimming pool cannot compete with the sea, both for the rare transparency of the latter and for the small size of the former, but your kids will think otherwise. Some green around the pool would perhaps give it a more naturalistic aspect.
Overall the hotel works well, perhaps a quicker table service would sometimes help, especially at the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yvonne G wrote a review Jul 2022
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom12 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful, despite the language barrier and breakfast was plentiful.
The hotel was tired and in need of repairs. The hotel pool was missing lots of floor tiles, piled up on the pool side. Our shower and sink both leaked water, we had to use all the towels to mop the floor.
The Wi-Fi was not great.
But by far my biggest annoyance and disgust was the cost of the sun loungers and umbrella at the private beach. This four star hotel charged €35 per day (£29) for two sun loungers and an umbrella, which should have been complimentary. For that ridiculous cost, you got NO beach towels, NO complimentary drink/water at the beach bar and NO Wi-Fi.
The hotel situated close to all amenities and the old town, which is well worth a visit. There is a lift to the top of the old town but the stairs and ally’s are so beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking good. Weekends are busy on the beach. We did not eat an evening in the hotel, the choice...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
S G wrote a review Aug 2021
Los Angeles, California2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved the place. Diana at the front desk was really helpful during check-in process and her colleagues were always available to help. the place is clean and well-kept. I would definitely choose the hotel if I go back to Sprelonga:)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ricevimento Hotel, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Virgilio Grand Hotel
Responded Aug 3, 2021
Dear A8600HFsg, Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you again! Best regards VGH Staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jean-s wrote a review Nov 2005
Whitby, United Kingdom4,387 contributions503 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I really cannot fault the Virgilio Grand. It was the 4 stars it promised in every aspect for an unbelievable price. It had just dropped from 90 euros to 75 euros a night because of the season but the weather we had at the beginning of November was glorious.
Our bedroom was very modern, with a lovely jacuzzi bath, minibar, tv, two (!!!!) large balconies (room 325 if you can get it)and very clean. As the hotel is set a bit back in the town you only get a distant view of the sea but it only takes 5 minutes to walk there.
The breakfast was very good indeed. The man in charge was happy to fetch us cappuccinos and then there was coffee americano in hot flasks should you need it. Lots of food choices but all cold. gorgeous pastries.
Sperlonga really is a lovely resort. Lots of nice bars and restaurants. Lovely walks through the myriad of alleyways and arches in the upper town. Great gelatos in the piazza's also at the top ( but pricey). Lovely walk along the beach to Tiberius'grotto. You walk up to the road for access to the museum, villa and grotto (only 2 euros and very very interesting.) If you wanted to combine a beach holiday with a few days in Rome - this is the place to do it!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2005
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Khalil K wrote a review May 2012
Dallas, Texas9 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is for anyone in Rome with tired feet, sensory overload with Piazzas, monuments, catching the subway to get from one side of town to another. My wife and I, decided we needed a vacation from our holiday in Europe. Looked on Tripadvisor.com for suggestions and discovered Sperlonga and the Virgilio Grand Hotel. Pictures don't do the place justice, very nice accommodations inclusive of jet showers, and patios. It's a boutique hotel and we enjoyed every bit of it. Rosa (receptionist) is a gem of a person, spoke great English and and went above and beyond with dinner reservations and suggestions. Wish we could have stayed longer, but it was unplanned. We will go back to Sperlonga and stay at Virgilio's.......

So for you sitting in your hotel in Rome or planning this vacation from home, Do yourself a favor and visit Sperlonga - you will not regret it.

PS - 5 minute walk to the beach, 15 minutes to city center. To get there catch a train to Fondi station from Roma Termini ~ 13 euro round-trip per person. Bus from Fondi station to Sperlonga ~1 euro per person.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sperlonga, Direttore vendite at Virgilio Grand Hotel
Responded May 7, 2012
Dear Customer, Thank you for the beautiful words he wanted to dedicate to our structure and in particular to our reception staff (Ms. Rose) and thank you again ... It will be a great pleasure to have you again in our hotel as soon as possible and with the occasion greet you very cordially. Pino Todaro - Sales & Marketing Manager - Virgilio Grand Hotel - Sperlonga
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
samm0262 wrote a review Jun 2009
Bude, United Kingdom4 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
please do not go to this hotel. the staff were incredibly unhelpful and rude and we had the worst holiday of our lives. on the 2nd day of our trip we were robbed of everything - the safe was pulled from the wall and stolen along with our suitcases. the management were totally unhelpful and simply did not want to know. go to the aurora instead.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2009
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warsaw4You wrote a review May 2014
Warsaw, Poland13 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located in very good place, but some facts are required to write. We had apartement in the 1st floor, far from the reception desk (which is not a problem yet). In fact that it was near the ground (and above garage) we had in our balcony and our rooms lots of red ants. When we told about it to staff, they just told that they knew about it before. And they did nothing! To make it funnier, after one day some men started renovation, they broke a wall right to our rooms. Of course - no information before. In results we had lots of dust and noise for a few hours. We took two rooms, and in the second room was my mom, who is very calm person. But even she was fed up with this situation.
Staff was friendly, but it seems with lack of customer service attitude. Rather avoid this place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid rooms 104,105
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel
Responded Jul 31, 2014
Dear Guest, We thank you for your review about your stay in Sperlonga. We are very sorry to hear that our staff didn't help you when you contacted them about some problems with your room. We usually do our best to satisfy the wishes of our clients. This time we have failed and we apologize for the inconvenience. We hope that you have found satisfactory other services, like breakfast, restaurant, spa, swimmingpool, etc... Looking forward to welcome you again in Sperlonga, in order to show you that your complains have been considered by our management. Thanking you for the preference, we remain. Yours truly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
agdonn wrote a review Aug 2008
bradford4 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Vastly overpriced. The receptionist was surly and unhelpful, it was really hard work to get service from the bar. The breakfast was limited in choice for a 4 star (eg extra charge for eggs) and mediocre quality. The only redeeming feature was that it was very clean.

Sperlonga is a pleasant resort. .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2008
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabriel V wrote a review Jul 2008
Canada91 contributions63 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We travel a lot and we see a lot of hotels. In general we are not getting too excited for having minibar and AC in a room at a 4-star hotel. It is somehow expected. We had the executive suite which was way too small (approx 250ft). The advertised massage shower never worked. It says it sleeps 4 but actually it is a small room with a double bed and a bunk bed. Breakfast was OK. Parking is very tricky if you drive a big car. Staff is very unfriendly. When we went to beach, they informed us of the wrong price for the umbrella and the beach beds. When I questioned the price with the beach staff ,they contacted the hotel staff. An argument ensued as it seems that the hotel staff had no clue of the rates. Eventually after a huge argument and demanding to see the hotel owner, the hotel staff agreed to pay the difference in price. Shortly after, I was refunded the whole amount. All in all a very frustrating experience. BTW. It did not helpthat I speak Italian. I watched the reception activity while working on my laptop and it seems that the italian guests are treated differently than the foreigners.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2008
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bigbill007 wrote a review Sep 2006
Culcheth, United Kingdom50 contributions42 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel looks and feels like a 4 star hotel.
The experience is somewhat different.
Positives - new, clean, trendy style, nice pool area, nice rooms, good facilities, free wireless access in the lobby.
Negatives - dreadful customer service, hidden costs.

Basically this hotel could have been great apart from the simple fact that they tried to charge hidden costs. Example - gym usage included. Sauna, Steam, whirlpool not included. The hotel wanted to charge 80 euros for 2 visits to the sauna. This price was not mentioned at any time during our stay. What resulted was a stand up argument with the manager and a grudging agreement to pay half.
I was absolutely furious and would not recommend this hotel on that basis.
Additionally the beach access was simply to pay the hotel for sun loungers rather than the guy at the beach - 30 euros for 2 loungers and a umbrella for one day which is also exorbitant.
Stay at this hotel if you dont mind paying through the nose, we dared not order a drink - no prices were listed for those either.
Hotel Aurora on the beach looked nice with beach access included.
Also avoid Restaurant Scylla off the main piazza, nice food, terrible service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2006
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tresario asked a question May 2016
cheshire790 contributions15 helpful votes
Do you do transfers from airport FCO?
N4non asked a question Oct 2015
Rhayader, United Kingdom16 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi can anyone tell me how much the car park is and if I need to pre book Many thanks in advance :-D
rowansmith2002 asked a question Sep 2015
London, United Kingdom268 contributions9 helpful votes
Hi Lauren, great review! I was wondering if this hotel was near the town centre/attractions? Thanks
Answer from Lauren_Cole1
Wrexham, United Kingdom23 contributions7 helpful votes
Hi! Yes it is very close to the centre, just a 5 minute walk and you're there!
Answer from Татьяна Б
Saint Petersburg27 contributions19 helpful votes
You either take a taxi from the hotel to the nearest rail station and then take a train to Rome, Termini, from Termini there are no problems to take another taxi at 48 euro to airport, fixed price. In Sperlonga very relyable family taxi company tel +39 3397545297, possible to negotiate the price to airport.
Yvonne G wrote a tip Jul 2022
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom12 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking good. Weekends are busy on the beach. We did not eat an evening in the hotel, the choice of restaurants locally is fabulous"
Read full review
_ccerroni52 wrote a tip Sep 2018
Bexley, United Kingdom16 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dont choose room 204 if you want a decet balcony"
Read full review
RogueChi wrote a tip Sep 2018
Chicago, Illinois4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All pretty decent rooms end of quiet street."
Read full review
samrich91 wrote a tip Apr 2018
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom10 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for room away from reception and lift and only stay between May and September"
Read full review
Kevin L wrote a tip Sep 2017
Reno, Nevada40 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Recommend it. Very central and 4.5 stars"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sperlonga area.
PRICE RANGE
C$156 - C$223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
virgilio grand sperlonga, hotel virgilio grand
LOCATION
ItalyLazioProvince of LatinaSperlonga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Virgilio Grand Hotel - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Virgilio Grand Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Virgilio Grand Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Centro Storico (0.4 km), Il Gorilla cocktail bar (0.4 km), and Lido Grotta dei Delfini (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Virgilio Grand Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Virgilio Grand Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Virgilio Grand Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Virgilio Grand Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Virgilio Grand Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizzeria Aqua & Farina Sperlonga, Altro Sperlonga Restaurant & Drink, and Tropical Ristorante Tipico.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Virgilio Grand Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Virgilio Grand Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Sperlonga.
Are any cleaning services offered at Virgilio Grand Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Virgilio Grand Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Virgilio Grand Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Sperlonga HotelsSperlonga Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SperlongaHotels near Virgilio Grand Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars