We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

618 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 615: English reviews
Start your review of Grand Hotel
 Click to rate
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The newly decorated brasserie at the Grand Hotel, formerly the Victorian Restaurant is just lovely for afternoon tea. I arranged a large party of ladies for tea and the staff were efficient, caring and the food was delicious. The restaurant was busy with similar parties and couples enjoying the ambience of this historic and beautiful hotel on the stunning sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nicest afternoon tea ,, liked how you could choose your sandwiches,, best scones,, and the cakes were the best,, unlimited tea but the waiter needs a mention,, nothing was to much bother for him,, he went out of his way to make sure our visit was enjoyable,, he worked so hard

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is worth it for the views. Room was average, but nice enough. We had drinks in the bar and the view was amazing. We saw people having afternoon tea which looked amazing and the staff boxed up the left over cakes up as a matter of course without being asked. Only few downsides were that the breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tg2111
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a very enjoyable Sunday lunch in restaurant of Grand Hotel, lovely dining room overlooking tune mouth beach. Good value for money - £21.00 for two course or £24.00 for three courses. Roast beef main was very tasty and would highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davecave1
Craig C, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again soon, If you would like any further information on other areas of the hotel please check out our new website

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took my 90 yr old mother in law to the Grand for a birthday tea .Wonderful food great service and real value for money with great sea views thrown in .The menu allows you you choose your sandwiches and cakes

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
Craig C, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening Thank you for your comments and glad your mother in law enjoyed her birthday and we look forward to greeting you back at the hotel soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would like to thank The Grand for a family friendly experience. We enjoyed our afternoon tea, just enough to eat. The staff were attentive and thoughtful. I won't go into detail, but a situation arose which the staff handled so well. We will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeautyMash
Craig C, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening Thank you for your feedback and glad to hear that our service has made you feel so comfortable and hope to see you again in the future

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hubby and I were given a gift voucher for our Silver Wedding Anniversary for Afternoon Tea. The room was very nice, recently decorated and our sandwich orders taken promptly, 4 each from a good selection, a choice of 2 scones and tea/coffee. We also had a small bottle of prosecco each with our voucher, I think it was £20 each,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Airedaless
Craig C, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to give feedback on our establishment. Let me start with the good points in your review and say it is great to see understanding people who can grasp sometimes it is out of our hands the way a service can go and i will pass your comments on for...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for only the one night, this was our return visit to the hotel. We booked the deluxe room which featured a lovely 4 poster bed, in a huge room with very large bathroom with a giant jacuzzi bath. Breakfast was lovely, I was feeling a bit poorly and staff made me hot honey and lemon to help my sore...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire A
Craig C, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly let me thank you for acknowledging our going the extra mile for our guests i will make sure these comments are passed on to the team. Feedback is the best training tool we have for staff and it helps more than people realise. I am glad you had a lovely time and hope to see you again in the...

Leicester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 night a week ago. Hotel is a lovely old building just across the road from the sea and a lovely beach. Parking can be a problem close to the hotel. The hotel does have some spaces but not many. The staff are all excellent and very friendly. We had a double room in the building next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sueleicester
Craig C, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for your recent feedback, we also agree about the rooms and thats why since last year we have been refurbishing our rooms to a new modern level with only around 17 rooms left to do out of the whole building. We look forward to greeting you in the future.

Mirfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently stayed for 4 nights to visit friends are were delighted with our stay. Good location on the sea front and the town. Parking free on street. Comfortable warm rooms. Excellent breakfast cooked individually and not on self service buffet. Dined in one evening and the menu and food was good. Attentive and welcoming staff. Good value

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Craig C, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon thank you for the great feedback and we are so delighted that you had a great stay. I will pass your comments on to the team and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

547 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (159)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (372)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Double Bedroom (33)
Viewed
Double Room with Balcony (40)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (28)
Viewed
Executive Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Sea View Room (27)
Viewed
Standard Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)
Viewed
Twin Room (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
3.9 km away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
#3 of 6 in South Shields
379 reviews
11.8 km away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#30 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,817 reviews
1.7 km away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 6 in South Shields
641 reviews
2.9 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 10 in Whitley Bay
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 14 Grand Parade | Tynemouth, Tynemouth NE30 4ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Price Range: $154 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tynemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Kingswear, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“on the front looking out to sea”
 of 5 bubbles 786heatherc, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view if you are staying for a few days - view is beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles Acaw57, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a room at the front of the hotel to enjoy the beach views.”
  • View from outside the hotel
 of 5 bubbles stevien17, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Insist on a room in the main building with a view of the sea front”
 of 5 bubbles BarSTL, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“front of the hotel for sea veiw”
 of 5 bubbles davidrD9745MD, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5