We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 143: English reviews
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Hotel was nice enough, lots of history to look at (Though the strange mannequins dotted around were quite out of place), the grounds were nice to walk through too. The rooms were a little rustic but the beds were comfortable enough for me and my wife to get a good nights sleep before continuing on our journey up to Scotland....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lily H
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & we will certainly take on board your comments regarding the continental breakfast & look at introducing some additional items. We do offer the option of a full cooked breakfast but you possibly did not want something as substantial. We...

Reviewed 2 August 2014

I couldn't fault this place really, I said for 2 nights for a wedding in gretna with the groom family, the couple that run it were friendly and made a real effort to talk to us and accommodate us. The 3 dogs that live there were also great! Beautiful surroundings and a very quirky style hotel

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank faylouise1984
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your most kind review of our property. We are so pleased you enjoyed our hospitality & facilities & hope you will visit us again soon!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2014

When you go thorouh the front dorr, you are confronted with a couple of manneguins sitting on chairs in the hall. There are other similarly bizarre touches around the public rooms but our bedroom was perfectly normal and functional. Unfortunately there was a machine rumbling in the early morning near our room. The food was ok and good value but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FionaDC
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed you did not completely enjoy your stay with us, the hotels character & interior has been part of its appeal & attraction for a lot of our patrons. However we understand it will not be to everybody's taste & that is something we will take onboard and address for the future....

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Not sure if this is the place to write this review as ours was not an overnight stay. I ran a small business meeting for one day (second time we have been there). Only a dozen or so of us. Pre meeting, the gear I required was sorted out, only a relatively small deposit was required, the requirements for coffee,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl A
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Karl, Thanks for the fantastic review of our hotel!!! I did at first think it was my funny ear your were referring to however LOL......:) We are so pleased all was too your liking & hopefully we will welcome you back to the Kirkconnel Hall Hotel again in the near future. All the best!

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights the room was comfortable clean and the bath was a nice deep large one big enough for 2 ;) the owner and his employees could not be more helpful and the food in the restaurant was excellent value. We will certainly stay again when we get the chance

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerrynufc
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely & positive review of our property, both myself & my team are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future!

Linlithgow
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I spent two nights at the Kirkconnel Hall. This is a great old-fashioned hotel with a friendly ambiance. John and Babs look after you, with laughs! Around every corner there is something to look at, sometimes with amazement. Lots of clocks, none of which show the correct time! Two lovely dogs keep you company in the bar where I enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hector W
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for kind review & we are so glad your stay brought back some lovely memories from the past. As always our two dogs seem to be the most popular attractions within the hotel, slightly jealous! If you visit us again & I sincerely hope you do I will ensure at least one of the many clocks show the...

Stockport , England
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stopped here for 2 nights on the way back from Perthshire. It was our second stay here and we absolutely loved it both times. The owners are really friendly , enthusiastic and make you feel really welcome. Rooms are comfy and the food in the Restaurant is just amazing. We stay at a lot of hotels and I don't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BigBobJoylove
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review of our hotel. It is even more satisfying to know that you have returned to stay with us again, it lets us know we are doing something correct. I have informed Babs of the "Best Food in Britain" comment & I am slightly worried she is considering challenging Gordon...

Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a large old manor house with lots of history. The innkeepers, John and Babs, are great. This B&B was centrally located for the places we wanted to explore - Johnston Clan, Hadrian's Wall, and the lands of Robert the Bruce. John and Babs have an establishment that feels like home away from home. Coming back each evening from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 365MaryKay
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our property, it was much appreciated. We are overjoyed to hear you enjoyed our hospitality, food & most importantly - alcohol!!!!! Hoping you will visit us again in the not too distant future & we will ensure a glass of your favourite tipple is ready & waiting!

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a weekend . Was lovely place atmosphere lovely . Food was really delicious . Only thing was my parents room was above laundry room and noise was really bad did advise owner but was advised would be off soon . Next morning again noise was shocking. Otherwise stay was lovely only draw back with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimboxxx
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are really pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere & friendliness of our hotel. I do apologise about the noise your parents experienced during their stay, I believe it may have been the kitchen extraction system which was the source of the noise. Unfortunately it is a health & safety requirement that we have the...

Derby
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Again we headed north for a trip into Scotland, I was wanting somewhere to stay for a couple of nights before heading up into Argyll, the borders in Dumfries and Galloway have always been a particular favourite of mine, more importantly was the need for a dog friendly establishment. Kirkconnel answered all my requirements. John the proprietor met us on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank g0rgf
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property, although can I just point out that we are the Kirkconnel Hall Hotel & not the Ecclefechan Hotel. I do hope your superb review was meant for us...............we are taking credit for it anyway!!! We do hope you will visit us again in the future...

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecclefechan
1.6 km away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
132 reviews
8.1 km away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
261 reviews
10.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#7 of 7 in Lockerbie
87 reviews
18.9 km away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
7.8 km away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#6 of 7 in Lockerbie
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel has a highly visable location adjacent to junction 19 of the A74M on the edge of the country village of Ecclecfechan. It is only 10 miles north of Gretna and is well located in an area of south west Scotland popular for both short breaks, weddings, functions and business conferences. Originally home to the Arnott family Kirkconnel Hall dates as far back as the 15th century, providing the property with great historic interest. It was home to Napoleon's physician in the late 18th Century and although extended in the 1870's and again more recently, it retains much of its period charm. Aquired by its present owners Kirkconnel Hall is now a family owned and run business and we look forward to welcoming you and hope that you have an enjoyable stay with us. Kirkconnel Hall has 11 en-suite bedrooms which are decorated to a high standard, bar, lounge, restaurant and extensive and well planned conferencing facilities. Kirkconnel Hall has extensive gardens and grounds extending to approximately 3.75 acres. The hotel has ample car parking and to the rear, accomodating bus tours, there are areas of lawn, a children's play area and grounds which have a range of mature trees and shrubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Address: Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Price Range: $77 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkconnel Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Kirkconnel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kirkconnel Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All appear to be very acceptable”
 of 5 bubbles spanner37, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The road noise wasn't too bad, and we were at the front of the hotel, but rooms to the rear may have been quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles DawnB592, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Wifi bit hit and miss .”
 of 5 bubbles Songwitch, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Quieter at the back, as the hotel is near motorway.”
 of 5 bubbles 283chrissyc, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't get one looking over the motorway”
 of 5 bubbles 854jot, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5