Kingshouse Hotel

Kingshouse Hotel

Traveller (1156)
Amazing afternoon tea!
Dining (83)
Room & Suite (34)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 2 hostels in Glencoe Village
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Our crackling fires thaw the coldest of bones – with a little help from locally sourced food, beers and single malts. All served with views to tempt even the weariest to proclaim themselves ready to do it all again the next day. It's all about the views - every room has one - when you're in Glencoe, it's impossible not to. Newly refurbished, the hotel sits like an Alpine retreat. Big windows and views from the bar and restaurant, or corrie round the fireplace in the Way Inn bar, situated in the 1752 coaching inn building. There's also a bunkhouse, and we're right on the west highland way, do drop in for a pint.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Hiking
Skiing
Baggage storage
Concierge
Laundry service
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

W Highland Way, Glencoe Village PH49 4HY Scotland
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,206 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

While the Kingshouse Hotel boasts a stunning location that is perfect for outdoor enthusiasts and is appreciated for its spacious rooms with scenic views, guests have noted that the value for money is lacking due to pricey services and underwhelming experiences. The hotel's atmosphere and amenities receive mixed reviews, with some finding a cozy charm and room comfort while others experience service inconsistencies and a lack of luxury details. Critiques of service are common, describing it as slow and disorganized, although the rooms are generally celebrated for their cleanliness.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Inconsistent
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Disorganized
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,206Review5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 673
  • 165
  • 145
  • 95
  • 128
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nic R wrote a review Sep 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the beginning of September 2020 for two nights with our three young children using the hotel as a base to explore the Glencoe area. We were surprised by the family of "tame" deer who ran up to the car to greet us, but the children were delighted. There are two options when staying, either the bunkhouse or the hotel and we chose to stay at the hotel. On arrival we were greeted with a one way system and front door that required room key entry and very pleasant reception staff. There was a slight issue with our booking which they sorted out quickly and after booking in for a breakfast slot the next morning we went up to our room which had lovely view and big comfy beds. The first night we ate dinner in the restaurant and I found the camembert dish was small for the price, although delicious was just that bit overpriced. The children's meals were very tasty though. The next morning we were greeted by and served in the restaurant by Duncan who was absolutely fantastic and he was great with the kids and a good laugh. Cooked breakfast was available served to the table and cold buffet was all pre portioned on a buffet station with things like pastries and croissants boxed up ready to take away. We didn't dine at the hotel on the second night, something we regret as the meal we had outside of the hotel was not great. It was a really enjoyable family getaway and I almost wished we had booked another night. We will definitely be back next year for some more hillwalking.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Service Team, Marketing at Kingshouse Hotel
Responded Oct 1, 2020
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay NicR203. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed our stay with your family and I am sure Duncan will be delighted by your comments. It is lovely to hear that you hope to visit again next year and we look forward to seeing you then.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marian K wrote a review Aug 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for two nights on 17/18 August and ate one night in the restaurant and one in the bar. The location is the same glorious place it always has been and the view from our room was fantastic. We have visited many times “ in the old days” and this is a huge improvement. We go to Glencoe to walk and relax and appreciate the great beauty of the mountains. This is a luxury option, no doubt, so a treat.
Being able to deliver good service when we are still in the middle of a pandemic is a huge achievement. We appreciate that you can’t have some things you would normally have- toiletries and tea and coffee in the room but it is very clear in the website information available in advance what the changes are. You can ask for these things at reception where Kelly and Louise were extremely helpful.
The staff in the restaurant work under really difficult conditions, wearing a mask or visor and adapting to all the new rules. There are notices everywhere explaining the new gratuity policy and we were certainly happy to pay it.
We felt that the necessary Covid changes are very well implemented here and one way systems, masks, sanitisers, careful food hygiene are all well understood and adhered to. Hospitality is hard from behind a face mask so hats off to Mark and Lee(excellent barmen) and Ramon, Diana, and Duncan who served meals and were unfailingly cheerful. The food is not “haute cuisine” but the steak, haddock and chips and salads were well cooked. The menu could maybe be a bit more adventurous. After nearly 5 months of not being able to travel, it was brilliant to get out and about and stay in a hotel again. Craig, the Manager, was very helpful and answered all our questions and he knows the area inside out. Good luck Kingshouse, we will see you again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Scitech20 wrote a review Aug 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
After a long day of walking the west highland way, we were delighted to see the spectacular Kingshouse hotel coming into view. Set in the most stunning scenery, we were very much looking forward to our stay in the bunkhouse. The hotel itself, the staff, the food were first class but we felt that, sadly, the same service was not carried in to the bunkhouse. Firstly we visited the public toilet after a 20 mile walk it was the first port of call! The locks on the doors are all missing and a rock is in place to secure the door.
The rooms in the bunkhouse have bare concrete floors and the bunks are of plywood construction. A towel is chargeable as an extra, as is the use of a hairdryer!
The rooms were poorly ventilated and unhealthily warm. The bedding smelled as if it it hadn’t been aired for a long time. The doors slam very noisily and the concrete floors don’t contribute to any soundproofing while you try to sleep in the sauna like temperature. Basic items like a bin, or a mirror are absent from the room. Out of all the bunkhouses we stayed at during our 7 day walk (all at a similar price point) this was by far the least comfortable. It was the only bunkhouse without en-suite facilities or a hospitality tray in the room.
It may seem that there are not many other alternatives due to the exclusive location but if I were to do the trip again, I would get a taxi from Kingshouse to Kinlochleven, stay there overnight and get a taxi back in the morning to resume the walk from where I’d left off. Otherwise I believe a room in the hotel would be wonderful but probably not in most backpackers budget!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Crieff Hydro, Marketing at Kingshouse Hotel
Responded Aug 11, 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review shonap941. Whilst it's great to hear of the things that you liked about your visit, we are really sorry to hear that other aspects disappointed you. Guest feedback is very valuable to us in helping us to improve the service that we can offer so please rest assured that all of your comments have been shared with the Management Team at the hotel. We are so sorry that you were disappointed this time and can only hope that you may consider visiting us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andrewjbartlett wrote a review Feb 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived at the Kingshouse Hotel in the sleet after a ~33km walk from The Strathfillian Wigwams. The receptionist (Irina) was warm and welcoming despite my weathered (drowned rat) appearance and efficiently arranged a room in the bunkhouse for my stay.

The bunkhouse is well provisioned with hot showers, a communal kitchen/eating area and a drying room. In high season I could imagine it feeling a little crowded (or cosy depending on your perspective) but when I visited in the depths of winter - there was space enough to feel luxurious.

The old building (dating back to the 1750s) has been given a new lease of life with the remodelling and is a fine place to have a drink, debrief or watch the rugby. Some may find this modernisation difficult to swallow but I see it as giving this amazing space many more years of use whilst preserving the all important historical connection - to feel that I was drinking ale by the same fireplace used for centuries by those that have come before me along this same route...

The cooked or continental breakfast was delicious and plentiful with views out over Glencoe to dream about for years to come. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CustomerServiceExec, Guest Relations Manager at Kingshouse Hotel
Responded Feb 18, 2020
Many thanks for your kind review andrewjbartlett. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Bunkhouse and liked the historical associations combined with the recent modernisation of the building. We do very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Kingshouse in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shelbi C wrote a review Dec 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a stay with the Kingshouse Hotel after being recommended by a friend. We spent four night at the hotel and honestly, I'm not sure those four nights were enough.

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by kind and welcoming staff at reception. All the staff we encountered on our time at the hotel were friendly, helpful, and so lovely to chat with.

We were given a room facing the river and wow! The room held incredible views and the river (with the window open) was very calming. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfy and the tv had a wide range of channels. There were outlets next to the bed which was great for charging. The room had lots of lights to illuminate and also table side lamps on the wall for reading before bed. The bathroom had a great towel warmer and a nice big tub. We were very pleased with our room.

The hotel also has really great food offered in the bar and restaurant. During our stay we had breakfast every morning and this was very filling. They had a menu offered which provided a range of items or you could choose a full breakfast. For dinner we enjoyed the fish and chips as well as various cocktails the hotel offered. We ate here most nights and every meal was just so delicious.

I cannot say enough positive things about the hotel and we look forward to returning in the summer (fingers crossed things are better in the world).

In regard to COVID the hotel had a one way system, plenty of hand sanitizer available, and required masks when not seated. They also had a basket for games and books to put once used to allow cleaning.

Thank you Kingshouse Hotel for a truly wonderful time away!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor facing the river and it was spectacular.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Crieff Hydro, Marketing at Kingshouse Hotel
Responded Dec 28, 2020
Hello Shelbi C and thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us and that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and hope that it won't be too long before you visit us again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BethStaley12 wrote a review Oct 2020
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Came here for 25th wedding anniversary with friends. Beautiful hotel & grounds. Scenery is lovely due to the fact location is very remote.

Reception staff apart from Adam were very frosty, unfriendly & unhelpful. Room wasn’t serviced for 5 days, understandably due to COVID however this was not explained upon arrival and we were told that this was “in the booking email”. This meant, that anytime we needed extra toilet rolls, towels, bin removal, tea/coffee we had to request from the receptionists who were stated above.

Mixed messages with regards to drinking in guest areas past 10pm.. Night manager very rude and contradicting the serving bar attendant.

Overall very slow service in restaurant and bar at all times whether at breakfast or evening drinks. Discretionary service charge unexpected and for some of the staff (not all) very undeserved.

Majority of staff was very nice however it seems to be poor leadership that let the whole hotel down & overall was the downfall of our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Service Team, Marketing at Kingshouse Hotel
Responded Oct 12, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay BethStaley12. We do trust that all of our team will behave in a helpful and courteous manner to our guests and are so sorry that this was not your own experience. We are following Government advice and specific guidelines for the hospitality industry and some items are currently not available in our rooms but are, as you mention, available on request from our Reception Team. These details are given in our booking updates on our website and in our pre-arrival E-mails so we can only apologise that you were not aware of this in advance of your stay. If you would like to discuss this further then our General Manager, Craig Haddow, would be pleased to receive your comments on Craig.Haddow@kingshousehotel.co.uk.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
seamuscoolcat wrote a review Jul 2020
Scotland
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Been here a few times to eat and have a few drinks and this was the first time we stayed at the hotel. Craig was a legend and looked after us all from the moment we arrived - had a beautiful rib eye steak cooked to perfection and then some drinks looking at the stunning view (which included baby ducks and their mother and literally 40 deer) Because of Covid there was extra precautions in place - everyone wearing a visor and lots and lots of visible cleaning. We got a wee mini pack for our room with toiletries and ordered our breakfast the night before for an allotted time (literally the tastiest and best breakfast we’ve ever had) We’ve been here before in the winter and after we couldn’t get a taxi to our little wigwam at Glencoe ski range, one of the people working at reception drove us back to it after our meal (this was obviously before Covid) Everyone here literally couldn’t do anymore for you. Friendly, helpful and genuinely interested in making sure you’re looked after. Stay here for luxury in the most beautiful of surroundings.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Service Team, Marketing at Kingshouse Hotel
Responded Jul 30, 2020
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your visit to Kingshouse seamuscoolcat. We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your first stay at the hotel and felt well looked after throughout. Your kind comments regarding the team will be a pleasure to pass on and we do hope that you will visit us again very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EdinburghBoatCharter wrote a review Aug 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Kingshouse Hotel for two nights on 4 & 5 August 2020 and between us, the family booked three rooms. I personally paid £378 for my room and spent quite a bit more on food and drink. That would have been fine but:

I was put in room 119 which would appear to have a large and very noisy kitchen extraction fan outside the window. After getting very little sleep on day 1 I was offered room 121 which is above the same room and still in the proximity of the extraction fan. At least it was switched off on the second night so it was only a problem early in the morning.

Given the "New Normal", I wasn't expecting everything to be perfect but the food and service were pretty bad.

This is not acceptable given the prices they are charging.

As other reviewers point out, the location is fantastic but sadly becoming part of a large hotel group has not been a good thing for the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are quieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
whipdsv wrote a review Jun 2022
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The most expensive bunkhouse on the West Highland Way but in the end I must admit it was worth it.
It was very clean, bedding clean and warm, not needing to go outside to reach the shower block was a bonus. I also appreciated that in the shower cubicle you actually had a "sheltered" area where you could hook your things and leave stuff without worrying that it will get splashed on and wet.
Charging £0.50/3 minutes of hair drying was kind of petty.
You have metal lockers in the room so you can keep your things safe if you are sharing with people you dont know..
The food and drinks in the restaurant are on the expensive side
The view of the Buachaille makes the place perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Craig Haddow, General Manager at Kingshouse Hotel
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Thanks for your comments. I hope you enjoyed the remainder of the walk.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kyla1234 wrote a review Nov 2020
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you haven’t visited the Kingshouse yet, it should be on you bucket list. The setting is superb and it’s got a cozy, welcoming atmosphere. As well as stunning views it allows you to take a wee wander along the west highland way while you stay here. Alternatively it’s a great place to stop if you’re walking the WHW as it has lovely rooms in the hotel but also a bunkhouse and there was even someone camping in the grounds while we were there. I felt safe here as there is plenty of sanitiser and tables in the restaurant and bar are well spaced out and although not in our rooms everything we needed such as tea, coffee, toiletries was given to us at check-in in an environmentally sound paper bag.
Yet again the food was fantastic and the chef makes a great poached egg for breakfast. The staff were lovely, special thanks to Sara for looking after us at dinner and Laura who took care of us at breakfast.
We will definitely be back here
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Service Team, Marketing at Kingshouse Hotel
Responded Nov 20, 2020
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your stay Kyla1234. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit and plan to return. We hope to see you again in the very near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JayneWoroch asked a question May 2024
Leicester, United Kingdom205 contributions68 helpful votes
What time does the bar close in the main hotel please? The website says the Climbers Bar closes at 9pm!
Answer from John D
1 contribution
The hotel bar shuts at 11 which I found off as there is no where else near
Road246378 asked a question Feb 2022
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
What facilities are available for wild campers ?
Jake A asked a question Jan 2022
Bingley, United Kingdom2 contributions
When is the best time of year to stay to see the reindeers?
Answer from Stephen T
6 contributions
December the 24th late evening would be a good shout but I think the red deer pretty much all the time ;)
Answer from Jim F
West Kilbride, United Kingdom42 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes. This is the case in Scotland, generally, at present. I was very pleased to note that both staff and guests adhered to the rule while we were there. It's really not a big deal and helps to protect us all.
Jan2175 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Brisbane, Australia31 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't order the packed lunch!"
Read full review
Lewis_England_9 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Birmingham, United Kingdom414 contributions217 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a mountain view ask for one "
Read full review
Dave wrote a tip May 2024
24 contributions17 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look to staying elsewhere"
Read full review
Thomas C wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book dinner in the restaurant as it is popular."
Read full review
Bryan G wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay here. Camping would’ve been a better nights sleep. Absolute dump especially for the price. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Glencoe Village area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
kings hotel glencoe village
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsGlencoeGlencoe Village
NUMBER OF ROOMS
57
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Kingshouse Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Kingshouse Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kingshouse Hotel?
Nearby attractions include West Highland Way (4.3 km), Glencoe Mountain (0.7 km), and Buachaille Etive Mor (4.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kingshouse Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Kingshouse Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kingshouse Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Kingshouse Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Glencoe Village HotelsGlencoe Village Hotel DealsHotels near Kingshouse Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars