We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Booking.comUS$156*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

703 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 646: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Three of us recently dined at Miha restaurant on a Wednesday night as there was no where else in Pauanui open. We were lucky everything else was closed because otherwise we wouldn't have given ourselves the chance to have such a beautiful meal. From the moment we arrived upstairs at the restaurant we were given wonderful polite informative and friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jan P, thank you for that rave review. We' re always open, 7 nights a week, so look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Tairua, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 February 2015

We spent the night at Puka Park and were treated extremely well. They knew we were celebrating our anniversary and there was chocolate in the chalet for us. We had a lovely Peruvian buffet for dinner and were given Cocktails. We ordered dessert which came on a plate decorated with Happy Anniversary all these extras were much appreciated. Thanks Puka...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BettyOudney
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello BettyOudney, thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. It's great to have our locals celebrating such special occasions with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2015

This was the second stop on our tour - we spent 4 nights at the resort - the accommodation we beautiful especially the bathroom. It was like staying in a very posh tree house. As some of the other view have commented the reception area is a little odd. The bar and restaurant lacked atmosphere. We only ate there in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nuttytroll
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello Nuttytroll, thank you for your review of our very posh tree house... I love that description!! Your feedback is appreciated. We do have WIFI available in our main lodge and restaurant areas as well as two computers available for public use. Our reception team are always on standby to help you plan your day as well. I hope you...

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patp44
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

London
Reviewed 9 February 2015 via mobile

We stayed there in Jan 2015 for our honeymoon travelling around New Zealand. We spent 2 nights and were really impressed with the staff, quality of accommodation (like tree house chalets!) and excellent food. It is a little hard to find as area as a whole doesn't have a great amount of signs but once you're there it's a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keentraveller084
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello keentraveller084, thank you for your review. It's great to see that you enjoyed your time here. We are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed a relaxing getaway.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 February 2015

The reception area is bizarre, it looks like a temporary area is being used with an old wooden desk. The restaurant was very average, it looks as if it has had some recent refurbishment but its an odd mix of the old wooden ceilings and pillars with some more contemporary fixtures. Not very appealing to the eye and very gloomy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoodTriptips
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello GoodTriptips, it always nice to hear individual opinion on our refurbishment, thank you for sharing yours. Our designers did a great job at keeping the history of the building whilst adding in the modern comforts we all enjoy. I appreciate your feedback regarding the issue with the milk, we will fix this. Thank you again for taking the time...

London
Reviewed 1 February 2015

A really lovely hotel. We had a lodge in the trees. It was very high quality and the service and staff were excellent. The food was superb and we would recommend this hotel highly. There is a lovely beach just a 3 minute drive from the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hello Frank M, thank you so much for your feedback. We certainly enjoyed having you stay with us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday and have a safe journey home.

Addingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2015

We are locals and decided to dine here last night. It was DIVINE. We will definitely become regulars here. We started with sushi for the husband and prawn dumplings for me. Very tasty and balanced. Followed by the steak mains. hubby had 26 day old aged fillet mignon and I had the smoked rib eye fillet. Absolutely melt in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JulieHewison
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi JulieHewison thank you so much for your fantastic review. Thomas Briggs, our head Chef, and the team have been doing an amazing job in Miha Restaurant. It's great to hear that you enjoyed everything. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Enjoyed my stay but it could have been better, loved the surrounding and where it is located. Pauanui waterways was such a sight and made up for the little disappointment I had from this resort. Out of 10 I would give it a 6. Still worth a look

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AbbyNarelle
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Hi AbbyNarelle, thank you for staying with us and for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Please get in touch with me gm@pukapark.co.nz if there are some suggestions you have on how we can improve. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2015

The Puka Park resort in Pauanui is a great concept, but very poorly executed. Our chalet was comfortable, but the lack of air-conditioning meant that we had to keep the slatted windows and sliding-glass door open for ventilation. There were no screens on the windows or doors, however, and because the resort is located in a heavily forested area we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brittrav2015
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear Brittrav20152, thank you for sharing your opinion of our resort here. We appreciate you taking the time to express your thoughts. Whilst we generally find the natural relaxed setting we are in is appealing, and provides a well deserved break to the vast majority of our guests, from time to time we find it's just not the experience that...

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
26.6 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
483 reviews
3.0 km away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
149 reviews
18.8 km away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
317 reviews
26.7 km away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
423 reviews
1.1 km away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Price Range: $157 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not overlooked”
jackc825, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Close to reception, restaurant area to avoid the hill. 😜”
111sharonf, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms closer to reception are easier to walk to, although there is a shuttle that will uplift you if needed.”
Kotuku123, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“I guess all the chalets are similar. The ones higher up require more walking to get to, as you can't park at the door.”
RogerWnz, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in chalet 31... No trouble to walk uphill to this.”
jillbA4198DV, 3 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$156* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$156
HotelQuicklyUS$364
GrandMercureUS$156
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates