We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Breakers Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Breakers Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Breakers Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 165: English reviews
St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 14 March 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights during our recent group tour of New Zealand and it was wonderful. The apartments were lovely - very spacious, clean, and bright, and we were lucky enough to get one with a hot tub! We were met by the owner, Ross, who couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. The group consensus was that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harwin2015
sunshinewhangamata, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for you compliments. You tour was a real pleasure to host. We are so pleased you had time to enjoy the hot tub. These are a very popular feature of Breakers Motel and an ideal facility for a pending winter getaway. We trust the remainder of your tour was as pleasant as your stay with us. Regards...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

Very comfortable apartments - clean and spacious. Friendly and helpful reception staff. Excellent place to stop. The hot tub was a godsend. Backs on to the marina and is only a short walk to the 'town' centre. It's a very spread out place but the pubs shops and restaurants are only a short walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie J
sunshinewhangamata, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words. We truly appreciate such feedback and recognition of the motel itself and the service we provide. It was lovely to meet and host you. Safe travels home.

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Under new ownership, this motel was fantastic to stay at. The hosts could not be more accommodating, the rooms were beautiful and the pool area is perfect for a lovely, relaxing stay. Make sure you check out this great motel - I'll definitely be booking in again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
sunshinewhangamata, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We take pride in providing a friendly and relaxed stay and are proud of the quality of our rooms. The private spa pools on the outdoor decks of many of our rooms are a great way to unwind at the end of the day. It was a pleasure to meet and host you. Safe...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2016

Breakers was under new management (3 months in) and to be honest I could not fault them. Great motel, clean, welcoming, allocated parking, daily service.... nothing was "too much trouble" and all requests were met exceeding our expectations. Can fully recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wigster2016
sunshinewhangamata, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. As new owners our aim is to provide a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere with a high level of personal service. We appreciate such recognition. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your travels around our wonderful country and hopefully we will host you again sometime.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 March 2016

I stayed in one of there Studio units on the upper floor overlooking the Breakers pool. I cannot fail the new owners they are very friendly and went out their way to make my stay of 3 nights perfect. Clean and tidy rooms ,Car parking allocated for each room , and the pool was not over chlorinated ( bonus )...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank welltraveled2016
sunshinewhangamata, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to post your comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your 3 night stay and took advantage of our wonderful facilities such as the beautiful pool and the private spa pool attached to your room. We appreciate your comments of our "friendliness" as our aim is to provide a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Stayed in this motel for 1 night in February 2015 and again for two nights February 2016. New owners who are caring and friendly. Still the same level of cleanliness which is excellent. Car parking for each room. Lovely pool with the added bonus of a spar on our balcony. Play area for children with a trampoline with safety sides....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LJLinda
sunshinewhangamata, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet and host you both. We hope you enjoy your stay in our beautiful country.

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 February 2016

New owners lack the warmth of the previous one. Dirty plate and dish rack and microwave had strong smell of Janola. Room serviced late afternoon instead of morning as previous. No longer recognition for regular stayers. All in all will be looking elsewhere. Very sad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cHRIS9507
sunshinewhangamata, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this review

Christine - we are genuinely surprised and upset with your comments. We are fully aware that you have being staying here for a number of years and have a friendship with the previous owner whom you visited during this stay. Despite enjoying several pleasurable lengthy conversations with you there is no way we can replicate such a historic relationship in...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 February 2016

We only had time for one night to end our Coromandel holiday and wished we could have stayed longer. The two bedroom apartment was ideal for two couples. All facilities were excellent with the beautiful swimming pool being the icing on the cake. We will definitely return to Breakers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie52_10
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

Our third visit to Breakers. We have stayed in a poolside one bedroom, an upstairs spa studio and this time the executive two bedroom which was just lovely. Everything you could need for a relaxing stay. Plenty of room for us and our young son. Particularly for kids the facilities are fantastic...our son loved the trampoline! And the pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
Bucks. UK
Reviewed 26 January 2016

A good modern spacious apartment with good kitchen equipment but seemed a little bare of furniture – a few more places to put things down would have been nice. Great patio with a spa pool and adjacent to the pool but not next to it – which was a good thing as there were some rather noisy people messing around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenakitt
sunshinewhangamata, Owner at Breakers Motel, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments and all our other Tripadvisor comments from guests also agree it is a very pleasant place to stay a fabulous getaway to enjoy the relaxing pool and sunshine. We pride ourselves on being family friendly and the pool is an attractive place for families to spend their time under their parents supervision, if you...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
0.9 km away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
18.8 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
21.8 km away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
1.8 km away
Marine Reserved Apartments
Marine Reserved Apartments
#3 of 10 in Whangamata
43 reviews
1.4 km away
Blake Court Motel
Blake Court Motel
#5 of 6 in Whangamata
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Quality self contained motel accommodation overlooking a superb landscaped pool complex with waterfall. Large BBQ areas for great outdoor dining and enjoying the Whangamata sunshine. Spacious studio, one and two bedroom units with private spa and decks with views over marina and pool, well equipped self catering kitchens, modern marble & tiled bathrooms and Sky TV 50+. Private, luxury honeymoon suite ideal for romantic getaways. Wireless internet, off-street parking available. Children's playground and breakfast available on request. Walking distance to Marina, beaches, golf course, restaurants and lovely designer shops. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Breakers Motel

Address: 318-324 Hetherington Road, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Price Range: $168 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Breakers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Whangamata
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Breakers Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Savannah, GA
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Breakers Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are spacious. They are on ground or first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles roderickt252, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“upstairs rooms have lovely view. Have stairs to climb though if that is troublesome”
 of 5 bubbles hamiltonkiwis, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beautiful Views”
 of 5 bubbles DellyJelly, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs, with a balcony and outdoor spa.”
 of 5 bubbles 284Blatter284, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“downstairs pool side is awesome for a couple”
 of 5 bubbles ShelleyRarotonga, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay