We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Settlers Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Settlers Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 179: English reviews
Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed a couple of nights. The room was clean and comfortable, but the decor and facilities are showing signs of age. Parking was easy, right outside the room. The wifi is free, but the data allowance is capped, if I remember correctly at 500MB per night, but this wasn't unusual in our experience in NZ. The owner was friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackydu7
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Settlers Motel. The updating of décor and facilities is being carried out each winter season with two units completed, the worst of the furniture being upgraded and all external areas getting a fresh old look. Safe travels.

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Villa was immaculately presented with good sized rooms and very good facilities for self catering. A very pretty setting, off highway yet convenient for shopping and also close to walks along the river. A helpful manager with pleasant manner..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dixonbailey
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Settlers Motel, Turangi, much appreciated.

Park City, Utah, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We checked in to see the nearby sites, and hotel staff, Donna Vercoe was very helpful to plan our day thru the national park even though it was a bit rainy. Having an electric blanket in a cool damp evening and morning was the answer. Furniture was a bit dated, but only there for a short stay, so no big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Dave for your time to review Settlers Motel, Turangi. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, the shower hot water supply and the electric blanket. Safe travels for the future.

Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very poor unprofessional service. The rooms were average. The gardens were nice. There was a chipped mug a broken lampshade when we arrived in late at night. The hostess was most unhelpful and unaccommidating one I have ever come across. Her manner was not welcoming to say the least chosing to question my children about the chipped mug and lampshade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zawahine
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. When the check in documentation was completed the following morning (late arrival) no mention was made of any damage already in the unit, this would have been the ideal time - I will have to include in the process for late arrivals a question to cover this situation, thank you for helping improve my procedures....

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Owner had queries and chose to address them to my children rather than direct to me. I went straight to office to see what was wrong. Owner said towels were missing. We had taken them with us to swim that day and bought back we apologised. Owner then said we had chipped a cup broken a lamp and the hairdryer...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nancybM7845MJ
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for making the time and effort to review Settlers Motel, Turangi. I wish to advise that some of what you have written is very subjective however if that is how you felt and what you believed was verbally said there is little I can do or say to respond. Anger is an emotion that can cloud ones understanding...

Reviewed 9 September 2016

We booked here last minute when we decided to stop overnight in Turangi. The motel owner is very nice and friendly, however the rooms themselves are a bit outdated and in need of a refresh, especially given the price paid.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rose-Anna F
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time to review Settlers Motel, Turangi. Settlers is in the process of refreshing all units, this winter we have completed the upgrade of 2 units, upgraded 3 showers/bathrooms, and the guest laundry. We have also completed external upgrading so your stay is pleasurable. Unfortunately all units cannot be refreshed at once however we are doing what...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed in Turangi to be near the mountain for skiing. What a lovely motel. Great hospitality and a definite return visit is planned. Spacious, clean, great amenities. Also near awesome fishing spots and walking distance from the town hub.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie R
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to review Settlers Motel, Turangi. Look forward to your next skiing adventure, come and relax after a day on the snow.

Featherston, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 August 2016

This motel was situated perfectly within walking distance of the town and while you could hear a little traffic noise, it was still quiet. The unit was the cleanest place I have ever stayed in. There was full Sky TV also. Would stay again definitely and can highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronica S
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Really appreciate your time to review and thank you for your feedback comments. We would love to have you stay again anytime. Who knows perhaps your snow fun trip.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Excellent little Motel, one of the cleanest and tidiest motels I have stayed in. We arrived in the evening and it was lovely to get out of the cold into a warm room where the heater had already been turned on for us. I would happily stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E9129WZsharons
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time to review Settlers Motel, Turangi. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We stayed for 2 nights so we could visit the mountain. The room was fairly basic but had everything we needed. Motel is in close proximity to the township for all your other needs. The people were welcoming and friendly. Would stay there again :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Southernskiez
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time to review your stay at settlers motel, Turangi it is really appreciated. Hope to see you again in the future.

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
0.4 km away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
54 reviews
33.1 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,310 reviews
9.3 km away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
247 reviews
0.2 km away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.6 km away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#5 of 9 in Turangi
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Make Settlers Motel your home to "stay and play" while you enjoy your Turangi Tongariro experience. Within 1-2 hours drive are the major tourist attractions of the Rotorua & Taupo regions. Turangi is on the North-Eastern boundary of the Tongariro National Park world renowned the 'best one day walk in New Zealand', The Tongariro Alpine Crossing. During the winter season we also have the Whakapapa Ski Fields (the biggest in New Zealand). A few minutes walk from our Motel is the famous Tongariro River, home to Trout Fishing, Kayaking, White-Water Rafting and beautiful walks. We can arrange and ticket any of the activities available in this area, including shuttle buses to the Mountain for Skiing or hiking. Our amenities include our Hot Spa, guest laundry & drying room, in room DVD players and Sky TV with 50+ channels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Address: 24 Te Arahori Street, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Price Range: $112 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Settlers Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Settlers Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unit had a loft bed if you have kids would be a plus”
 of 5 bubbles 278DaveH, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“neat and clean, had heaters and electric blanket which was great to have due to the cold weather, I would recommend it to others but please if people come late, at least think about a discount!.....”
 of 5 bubbles ladybella724, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All quite basic, but it was a clean comfortable motel space with a very comfortable bed”
 of 5 bubbles janthiah2016, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Steep stairs in the chalet style units. Don't count on the wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles scipwraec, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“End unit would be best”
 of 5 bubbles B417GMjimm, 21 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay