We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Settlers Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Settlers Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 182: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

As a whole the accommodation was adequate, we had everything we needed including heated blankets. The shower wasnt the best. But the reason for our low rating was the service we recieved. From start to finish the host was not very welcoming and it felt like we were a burden to her, as aposed to a paying custoner. The thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 953LexNZ
Florence, Oregon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a clean and tidy motel that is conveniently located in central Turangi where you can stage for the famous Tongoriro Alpine Crossing or for the famous Fly Fishing in the areas lakes and streams. We spent two nights here. Turangi itself is in an economic downturn with many shops shuttered in the Town Center. This motel property shows...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry F
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Hi Larry, Thank you for your review. Your comment on the pillows, I have now added an assortment of soft and firm pillows to all rooms. There is not much I can do with the water pressure at this time of the year as the population grows significantly in Turangi over the Christmas period and the water supply does not...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Good budget motel to put your head down on the AKL -WGN trip. Roughly half way this motel makes for a cheap and cheerful stopping point . Old style but clean with basic services. Situated just off the main highway with a pleasant lawn environment out from of the units.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daisynz
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time to review Settlers Motel, Turangi.

Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

We stayed a couple of nights. The room was clean and comfortable, but the decor and facilities are showing signs of age. Parking was easy, right outside the room. The wifi is free, but the data allowance is capped, if I remember correctly at 500MB per night, but this wasn't unusual in our experience in NZ. The owner was friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackydu7
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Settlers Motel. The updating of décor and facilities is being carried out each winter season with two units completed, the worst of the furniture being upgraded and all external areas getting a fresh old look. Safe travels.

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Villa was immaculately presented with good sized rooms and very good facilities for self catering. A very pretty setting, off highway yet convenient for shopping and also close to walks along the river. A helpful manager with pleasant manner..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dixonbailey
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Settlers Motel, Turangi, much appreciated.

Park City, Utah, United States
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We checked in to see the nearby sites, and hotel staff, Donna Vercoe was very helpful to plan our day thru the national park even though it was a bit rainy. Having an electric blanket in a cool damp evening and morning was the answer. Furniture was a bit dated, but only there for a short stay, so no big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Dave for your time to review Settlers Motel, Turangi. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, the shower hot water supply and the electric blanket. Safe travels for the future.

Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Very poor unprofessional service. The rooms were average. The gardens were nice. There was a chipped mug a broken lampshade when we arrived in late at night. The hostess was most unhelpful and unaccommidating one I have ever come across. Her manner was not welcoming to say the least chosing to question my children about the chipped mug and lampshade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zawahine
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. When the check in documentation was completed the following morning (late arrival) no mention was made of any damage already in the unit, this would have been the ideal time - I will have to include in the process for late arrivals a question to cover this situation, thank you for helping improve my procedures....

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Owner had queries and chose to address them to my children rather than direct to me. I went straight to office to see what was wrong. Owner said towels were missing. We had taken them with us to swim that day and bought back we apologised. Owner then said we had chipped a cup broken a lamp and the hairdryer...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nancybM7845MJ
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for making the time and effort to review Settlers Motel, Turangi. I wish to advise that some of what you have written is very subjective however if that is how you felt and what you believed was verbally said there is little I can do or say to respond. Anger is an emotion that can cloud ones understanding...

Reviewed 9 September 2016

We booked here last minute when we decided to stop overnight in Turangi. The motel owner is very nice and friendly, however the rooms themselves are a bit outdated and in need of a refresh, especially given the price paid.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rose-Anna F
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time to review Settlers Motel, Turangi. Settlers is in the process of refreshing all units, this winter we have completed the upgrade of 2 units, upgraded 3 showers/bathrooms, and the guest laundry. We have also completed external upgrading so your stay is pleasurable. Unfortunately all units cannot be refreshed at once however we are doing what...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed in Turangi to be near the mountain for skiing. What a lovely motel. Great hospitality and a definite return visit is planned. Spacious, clean, great amenities. Also near awesome fishing spots and walking distance from the town hub.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie R
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to review Settlers Motel, Turangi. Look forward to your next skiing adventure, come and relax after a day on the snow.

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
0.3 km away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
58 reviews
33.1 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,364 reviews
9.1 km away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
255 reviews
0.1 km away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.5 km away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#5 of 9 in Turangi
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Make Settlers Motel your home to "stay and play" while you enjoy your Turangi Tongariro experience. Within 1-2 hours drive are the major tourist attractions of the Rotorua & Taupo regions. Turangi is on the North-Eastern boundary of the Tongariro National Park world renowned the 'best one day walk in New Zealand', The Tongariro Alpine Crossing. During the winter season we also have the Whakapapa Ski Fields (the biggest in New Zealand). A few minutes walk from our Motel is the famous Tongariro River, home to Trout Fishing, Kayaking, White-Water Rafting and beautiful walks. We can arrange and ticket any of the activities available in this area, including shuttle buses to the Mountain for Skiing or hiking. Our amenities include our Hot Spa, guest laundry & drying room, in room DVD players and Sky TV with 50+ channels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Address: 24 Te Arahori Street, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Price Range: $107 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Settlers Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Settlers Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
22 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Settlers Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unit had a loft bed if you have kids would be a plus”
 of 5 bubbles 278DaveH, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“neat and clean, had heaters and electric blanket which was great to have due to the cold weather, I would recommend it to others but please if people come late, at least think about a discount!.....”
 of 5 bubbles ladybella724, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All quite basic, but it was a clean comfortable motel space with a very comfortable bed”
 of 5 bubbles janthiah2016, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Steep stairs in the chalet style units. Don't count on the wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles scipwraec, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“End unit would be best”
 of 5 bubbles B417GMjimm, 21 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay