We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barnsdale Hall Hotel

Hotels.comUS$80*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

838 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 835: English reviews
Start your review of Barnsdale Hall Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Fabulous timeshare week at Barnsdale Hall. Great unit no.61 amazing views over Rutland Water from sun up to sun down. SPA, POOL & GYM. Squash, BAR & Restaurant. Outside seating area. Most enjoyable. Outside activities such as Tennis, Pitch'n'Put & Bowls.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenette B
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jennette B, Thank you for posting a review in respect to your stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. Looking through your comments, I'm delighted to see that you had such an enjoyable experience- including Fitz William Suite itself and all our leisure and dining facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back here at Barnsdale Hall Hotel in the near...

Vancouver
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for a week in one of the 3 bedroom chalets, a time share unit. Very well appointed and comfortable. Great view overlooking the lake. Had a pleasant meal in the bar on our first night but sadly the breakfast served the next day was tragic. Nothing worse than a buffet that has been sitting around too long. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VancouverDave
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VancouverDave, Thank you for posting a feedback in respect to your recent stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. Looking through your comments, I'm delighted to see that that you have generally enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry to note your disappointment with our buffet breakfast, however I'm pleased that your bar meal on the night before was enjoyable. Also, I'm delighted...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is the star of the show and the resort has lots going for it, however: We stayed in a small double room which was a real disappointment because our outlook was onto a beige wall - this should have been made clearer on the booking form. The bathroom was modernised but the bedroom was old and dingy with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roger M, Thank you for posting a review in respect to your stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. Looking through your comments, I am pleased to see that you have generally enjoyed your stay- and it's mainly down to helpfulness and friendliness of our team. Your comments about quality of food have been noted- please accept my sincere apologies about...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a spa day gift voucher and chose Barnsdale Hotel. We expected the normal treatment of robes, towels and poss flip flop slippers, vapour steam rooms, sectioned areas for relaxsation with piped appropriate music etc. Unfortunatelly this was a swimming pool with a small steam room and sauna in the corner. There was a raised jacuzi. There needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank king12301
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear king12301, Thank you for posting a review in respect to your spa day here at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. Looking through your comments, I regret to see that the spa day didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. Our resort holds numerous facilities, including Hair & Beauty (for beauty treatments). Virgin Experience voucher offers use of poolside facilities at the...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One night stay including breakfast. The staff who helped us were all well trained and helpful, our room was spotlessly clean and functional rather than luxurious. (Room 430) There was no view from this room at all, just a painted wall outside both windows. The decor is decidedly dated, probably refurbished during the early 90's. heavy swags and tails curtains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachel M, Thank you for posting such a lovely detailed review in respect to your recent stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. Looking through your comments about the room, it is delightful to see that despite the fact that you weren't necessarily impressed with in-room décor, you found it functional, convenient and exceptionally clean. You are right- we have recently...

Sheffield
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night over a bank holiday weekend. We had booked a superior room which was large and had 2 double settees. There was a fridge in the room which was convenient as we went out to buy milk - the tea and coffee facilities were not over generous! We had a balcony which overlooked the lake -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane D, Thank you for posting a review in respect to your stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. Looking through your comments, I am glad to note that you have generally liked the Superior room you were in. With regards to the view from the room, all our Superior rooms are facing Rutland Water side but considering our grounds and...

peterborough
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited the hotel for lunch on a Saturday afternoon over the Easter bank holiday weekend. Arrived into the bar area around 2pm which was very busy. There was used glasses and plates littering the tables and hardly any space to be seated. No exaggeration but we waited at the bar for 15 minutes to be served. The bar looked dreadful,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matt W
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matt W, Thank you for posting your review further to visiting Barnsdale Hall Hotel for lunch. Looking through your comments, I terribly regret to learn about your disappointment. Please rest assured that your feedback was taken seriously, and I am sorry that your experience was so poor.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Barnsdale hall hotel for a spa day that we had used our virgin experience gift voucher towards. On first impressions nobody seemed to know what to do or who to send us to. We were told at the gym/leisure reception that we would need to get our robes from the beauty department, but they told us we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlieda1711
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear charlieda1711, Thank you for posting a review in respect to your spa day experience at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. I'm sorry to learn about the way you felt on arrival- please note your comments have been addressed to Spa & Leisure Managers. On appositive side, I am pleased to see that you were generally satisfied with Leisure facilities and your...

Sandy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This has been my most difficult hotel review so far. There are both positives and not so positives about this place and it seems to be a bit of a lucky dip as to what your experience will be. We went to Barnsdale Hall Hotel for a quiet relaxing week end away. This is a busy wedding venue, conference centre...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandyman53
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful hotel, stunning views and room was tidy and clean. Housekeeping very attentive and room was lovely. We had a view of Rutland Waters from balcony.reception staff polite and friendly. Pool slightly cold for my little one coming up two years old but great facilities for her having a soft play indoor area and an outdoor playground. Nice Easter break,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WK87
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WK87, Thank you for posting such a wonderful feedback in respect to your Easter break here at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

287 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (272)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (88)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsdale
0.6 km away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 km away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
546 reviews
4.1 km away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
4.2 km away
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
4.4 km away
The Admiral Hornblower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Brasserie Restaurant
Brasserie Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With this unique setting, personal charm, character, and friendly but attentive personnel, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is the perfect venue whatever your occasion may be. Extensive spa and leisure facilities makes it a haven in which to retreat, relax and unwind. With its breathtaking views of the natural splendours of Rutland Water where better to hold your wedding reception, corporate event, or a romantic getaway for two?Set in conservation parkland on the slopes overlooking Rutland Water, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is one of the most unusual and comprehensive hotel complexes in the United Kingdom. This makes it an ideal location for corporate business, conference and leisure pastimes. With a rich and varied range of things to do on and off site there is, we believe, no better position in which to be located in this country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barnsdale Hall Hotel

Address: Stamford Road | Nr Oakham, Barnsdale, Oakham LE15 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Barnsdale
Price Range: $126 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnsdale Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barnsdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsdale Hall Oakham
Hotel Barnsdale Hall
Barnsdale Hall Hotel Oakham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barnsdale Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
derby
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Leeds, United Kingdom

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Barnsdale Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a lake view!”
RogerM794, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“If you would like a view, give 430 a miss!”
105RachelM, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Make sure that you ask for a room with a view.”
Sandyman53, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe Room had an amazing view with a balcony.”
  • view from Deluxe Room
  • view from room
mangosara1, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't pay extra for a 'deluxe' room and expect a better room than standard unless you really value being able to see the lake.”
Marshwiggle, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$80* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$80
Orbitz.comUS$80
PricelineUS$80
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates