We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The White Cliffs Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The White Cliffs Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The White Cliffs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 261: English reviews
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2015

This Hotel has the feel of an old fashioned inn, the restaurant and bar areas are furnished in a cosy home from home style and very nice to chill out with a nice drink from their well stocked bar. I thought the menu was a little pricey at first but the quality of the food was excellent. The young team...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karensj1
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Super-handy review, thanks ever so much. The most important piece of the hotel jigsaw is the people that work in the place. Our happy team are a lovely bunch and it's great when you chaps give then them recognition that they heartily deserve. Also, thanks to your feedback we've seen to the bed in the 'Fossil' room and given the...

timoleague
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Our stay at this hotel was pleasantly managed by a disorganised establishment. The wifi promised didn't work, the tea service in the room came without milk and our booking was mislaid . When we arrived we were too that we hadn't made a reservation, which we were certain that we had. After a fifteen minute nail biting wait it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenguapa
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

We all love to work together as a team to ensure our guests are really happy. We do have a very clever state of the art online reservation system and mistakes are few and far between. We urge all of our guests to use our own online booking page on our website for best available room rates. If you have...

London
Reviewed 22 July 2015

The water pressure was not strong enough for a shower. Damp on the wall in the bedroom and the bathroom (see photos). However, the place is charming and excells in other areas. I would most probably go back to this place if I was in the area. Got the cheapest room and went with low expectations. Was initally dissapointed with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deric B
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your useful feedback. You may have read in a previous review that we have plumbing issues recently and it took a little while to find the leak. We also recently had a summer deluge of very heavy rain which caused some gutters and roof valleys to overflow into The Loft Apartment. This did leave some stained areas on...

harrogate
Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night in one of the outside rooms ( lighthouse). The staff and food were faultless in every respect, however the rooms cleanliness was an issue. Several cobwebs around the room together with dead insects were one issue and the other is decor, the room desperately needs a refurbish! Even just repainting would suffice. Apart from the above...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank david9659
Walletts, Owner at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

I love living in this lovely leafy village, every morning I awake to the sound of the dawn chorus of the birds in the tops of the magnificent trees that surround our hotel. Summer time brings with it all sorts of visitors from near and far; swallows swoop down in the pastures, skylarks hover high over cornfields, bees buzz around...

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2015

Wanted a 1 night stay whilst visiting friends in the area, i called the hotel rather than my usual book online as we now have a 19th month old baby and ideally wanted an additional attached room so we didnt have to goto bed at 7pm! Im glad i did, the lady on the phone was so helpful, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2015

Great place, off the beaten track, nice rooms great staff, very friendly. Rooms are modern and well equIpped , the restaurant is small but seating was comfortable, we all had a very enjoyable meal, steak, fish etc, the pricing was just right in our opinion and breakfast was an unhurried affair and again met our expectations . The true test...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kevin R
Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2015

We have recently returned from a weekend at The White Cliffs Hotel in St. Margret’s at Cliffe. We chose this hotel because of the good reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel and grounds are exquisite. The staff are polite and professional. We booked a table in the hotel restaurant for Saturday night. The ambience for dining is ideal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russj2704
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

Only stayed 1 night but was superb. Very friendly greeting on arrival, straight forward check in before being led to our room. The room itself was excellent, booked the four poster room, lovely bed and room, good views onto garden and church. Well appointed room. Excellent restaurant serving locally sourced food and drink with a good selection on the menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leeatlife
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2015

Stayed overnight in this hotel whilst visiting Dover. We stayed in the 'mews' which were lovely and seemed to have been recently decorated - very bright, clean and comfortable. The bar was welcoming (including a wood burner, which was not alight but would be an added bonus on a cold evening) and we received a friendly welcome on arrival. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sue5
London
Reviewed 24 April 2015 via mobile

Spent a long weekend here on a walk weekender stay with 10 friends who also stayed at the hotel. Breakfast and dinner were unbelievably good. We also has a substantial packed lunch as part of the weekend walker's package which contained a choice of salmon or ham or cheese. Im sure we could have asked for different fillings but why...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeishaLondon

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
3:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
5.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
4.8 km away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
4.5 km away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
812 reviews
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
9.2 km away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Cliffe Kitchen at The White Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffe Kitchen at The White Cliffs Hotel
Cuisines: Pub, Bar, British, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Cliffs Hotel is set in the heart of the picturesque village of St. Margaret's-at-Cliffe under a mile from the beautiful beach at St. Margaret's Bay in celebrated White Cliffs Country. This is the closest hotel in England to the coast of France at Calais 21 miles away and is just seven minutes drive from the port and Cruise Terminal at Dover. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Cliffs Hotel

Address: High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Price Range: $147 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Cliffs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The White Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Cliffs Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The White Cliffs Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The newer annexe rooms are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Cornwallgurl, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Garden rooms are nicer, but outdoors (v short walk) so maybe not in winter!”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Perfect for dog owners but some rooms have windows that don't open so check”
 of 5 bubbles PandionWest, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother.”
 of 5 bubbles Derek821, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room but we were on ground floor with easy in and out of yard area”
 of 5 bubbles mawrcrest, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5