We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hitchin Priory

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hitchin Priory
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hitchin Priory
See the most recent reviews
Showing 383: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

My room was in a modern annexe. Luckily the weather kept fine because it was a 3-4 minute walk to the hotel for breakfast. The main hotel building is very pleasing and the grounds are beautiful. I felt the staff were very badly trained as they didn't seem very focused. At breakfast the waiter delivered the wrong meal three times...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne03
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

_Please accept my most sincere apologies for the poor service you received. I have spoken to my team and hopefully it wont happen again. Kind regards

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We had our wedding in marquee at hitchin priory and it was absolutely perfect,we got married in the music room in the house which was beautifully setup and had our evening and meal in the marquee which was absolutely stunning.it was the perfect venue for our wedding with there being kids there they could use the stunning grounds to keep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SeanBurdett
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Dear Katie and Sean, Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am delighted that we met and exceeded your expectations. I have congratulated Charlotte on her work (she asked for a pay rise! :-) and send her kindest regards). Wishing you a long and happy married life.

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We had the most amazing day at hitchin priory for our wedding. We had the marque and it was just perfect, great team throughout the whole day from start to finish very attentive and the day couldnt have gone any better. Big thank you to the team from Carly and Dave

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carly19812015
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Dear Carly and Dave, It was a genuine pleasure looking after your wedding as our guests created a great party atmosphere (along with the great décor!). Wishing you both a long and happy married life.

Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Decent hotel but showing signs of age now. Rooms are comfortable although decoration is very tired. Some lovely quaint areas, especially near the upstairs bar, and an excellent breakfast experience but could do with a bit of work in updating.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Billy L
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. You are absolutely correct. I have passed them on to our owners in attempt to convince them that we are indeed in need of investment to improve the quality of our bedrooms. Kind regards.

Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

When I booked the room I had already read the poor reviews and booked it because of its good location. The location is a serious advantage. Check in was quick and efficient and the room was a bit of a distance in an annex, but was very acceptable and very clean. I think a problem with other reviewers, is one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meonamission
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It is a very fair review and I am glad that you have given us a chance and stayed with us. I have passed them on to our owners in attempt to convince them that we are indeed in need of investment to improve the quality of our bedrooms. Kind regards.

southend on sea
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night and this has beautiful grounds and main building. We were in a coach house room (off the main building) which I can only describe was like a holiday camp chalet from the 80s . There was a printed letter on the dressing table apologising for the decor being in poor condition and that a refurbishment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jajodie
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Please accept my apologies, the receptionist should have asked you about your stay. I only wish you had asked to speak to my Duty Manager on the day. I have passed them on to our owners in attempt to convince them that we are indeed in need of investment to improve the quality of our...

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

I recently had my wedding at Hitchin Priory, and everyone had an amazing day! All of the staff were so accommodating, a special mention to Charlotte who was so helpful during the whole process and Tom who helped out immensely during the running of the day! I can't thank you all enough, it was the perfect place to have my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer, it was our pleasure hosting your wedding. Wishing you and your husband a long, happy and wonderful life together.

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2016

We recently had our wedding at Hitchin Priory and we would like to firstly thank Charlotte our wedding coordinator who was excellent and made the whole process very easy. Our special day went very well and everything went very smoothly. Hitchin Priory is beautiful and our guests enjoyed the day very much. We would not hesitate to recommend the venue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lanaphillips347
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Dear Lana, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review as most people don't, they simply return. I am glad to read that you had a great day. Wishing you a long and happy married life.

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Got married here on the 5th of June. Beautiful house, garden and landscape. Charlotte and the whole team were brilliant from start to finish. It was worth every penny and would do it all again. So thanks to all the team at the priory

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gss32
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Delighted to read your comments, although I genuinely hope that you won't have to "do it all again". Wishing you a long and happy married life.

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2016

As you arrive at Hitchin Priory the kerb appear is magnificent. Approached by a short drive way up to the ancient building's façade, with a babbling stream/ponds to the right my expectations were high. Having eventually found somewhere to park--the car park appears to be shared with an insurance company and possibly others--clearer signage before the LV car park barrier...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John C
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Please4 accept my most sincer apologies for the poor stay at the priory. would you be kind enough to contact me to discuss your stay in more details. Kind regards

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hitchin hotels
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
3.2 km away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
244 reviews
0.2 km away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hitchin
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 km away
Lord Lister Hotel
Lord Lister Hotel
#7 of 8 in Hitchin
79 reviews
4.4 km away
Offley Place Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Hitchin Priory

Address: Tilehouse Street, Hitchin SG5 2DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Price Range: $83 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hitchin Priory 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hitchin Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitchin Priory Hotel Hitchin
Priory Hotel Hitchin
Hitchin Priory UK - Hertfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hitchin Priory staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hitchin Priory staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No good rooms available.”
 of 5 bubbles PauloM252, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you can cope with stairs book in the main building. Room 24 in the courtyard was great.”
 of 5 bubbles photolass, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We didn't stay here, but simply enjoyed a lunchtime snack.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffLePage, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms in the main hotel seem to be of a good standard”
 of 5 bubbles jennie_hampel, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quieter in the annex, but the party that was on stopped at 12 midnight so it was not a problem for us”
 of 5 bubbles V2857LZcarolinem, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5