We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lodge at Winchelsea

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lodge at Winchelsea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 305: English reviews
Bovingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Lodge is a distance from Winchelsea, but that's not a problem if you have a car. We had a room on the 2nd floor, which overlooked fields - delightful. The staff (unusually ? everyone we met), were pleasant, chatty and friendly. It was a really nice atmosphere. The room was warm and clean. I'm over 6' tall, so a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wolfie_Bill
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visiting the beautiful English countryside in East Sussex and booked online for £63 and to our surprise it came with breakfast . Just a little disappointed that it was the continental kind and as we were in jolly old England thought it would be full English. Still not complaining as it was free. Nice clean accomadation with wonderful views of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room had a dangerous step down from the bedroom area to the entrance/bathroom area. Not a problem in daylight, but very dangerous if you get up in the night to go to the loo and don't want to disturb your partner by turning the light on! Also, entrance doors shut noisily; an early-departing guest in the next room awoke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gilljohnstone
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as it was the venue for a friends birthday party. It is located just outside of Winchelsea itself and backs on to open countryside. The staff are friendly and the room was spotless. Breakfast was excellent. It appears to be dog friendly so we may return to explore the area more later in the year.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael W
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Charming on the outside and charming on the inside. This unique little hotel wrapped around an excellent bar and restaurant is quite a find. Charming staff... always smiling and clearly enjoy what they do. The Sunday carvery is excellent as is the menu all week. Keep visiting their website and Facebook pages as there are always some amazing offers available....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol M
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed for an evening and found the room to be comfortable, clean and with reasonably good amenities especially in view of the 65 pounds rate. The restaurant was again clean and decorated in a contemporary style. The food itself was excellent (easily matching far more expensive venues we have been to) and the service was efficient and friendly. Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John A
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Went and stayed at the lodge for the local bonfire. Staff were nice.. our room was like a little studio flat with its own entrance which was nice as we didn't have to worry what time we came back that night. Rooms were clean and comfortable a few bits like a broken lampshade would have taken this to a 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janine P
TheLodgeAtWinchelsea, Manager at The Lodge at Winchelsea, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Janine and delighted you enjoyed your stay. We check the rooms every day when they are cleaned so must have missed the lampshade. It will be replaced. All the best and hope to see you again.

Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Stayed for 2 nights to attend a family get-together nearby so am unable to comment on eating in this hotel. The room was warm and comfortable with very pleasant views over open farmland.. We were situated at the rear of the premises so were not bothered by any traffic noise from the main road. Enjoyed an amble aroung the local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Arrived for a Saturday night stay. Filled in an A4 registration form and then asked my name??? Nearly late for dinner reservation as shower wouldn't drain, so second person in had a thirty minute wait for shower tray to drain. Meal was good, but could do with properly trained bar staff. It's not that hard to serve water with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D4VYP
TheLodgeAtWinchelsea, Manager at The Lodge at Winchelsea, responded to this review

Sorry about the shower, there must be something wrong, we will check it out. All our staff are thoroughly trained so I am not sure what the problem was but i apologise if you were not happy.

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We've just got back from a 2 night stay here as we were down for a wedding at nearby Camber Sands. First impressions of room 17, the room was what we expected from the photos on their website, medium sized shower room as you walk in, then 2 steps up to the bedroom which had a sofa, double bed, tv,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ilovehols291984
TheLodgeAtWinchelsea, Manager at The Lodge at Winchelsea, responded to this review

I very much regret that you had such a bad night and especially just before an important occasion, this is just not acceptable and i really cannot apologise enough. I hope however you recovered by having one of our delicious full english breakfasts and your day was not spoilt. If you decide to visit us again, and i hope you...

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchelsea
3.7 km away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
4.1 km away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
673 reviews
3.8 km away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#3 of 9 in Rye
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The George in Rye
3.6 km away
River Haven Hotel
6.2 km away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lodge at Winchelsea offers its guests the perfect base to explore the beautiful 1066 countryside and historic sites. Situated between Rye and Hastings with ample free onsite parking. There are fantastic walks from our doorstep including the ‘1066 country walk’. 28 modern en-suite guest rooms, bar and restaurant, free wi-fi and free parking. Room price includes continental breakfast. The contemporary restaurant is open seven days a week serving a wide range of delicious dishes, including an excellent carvery every Sunday. Our menu changes to reflect the seasons and offers dishes for all tastes and budgets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lodge at Winchelsea

Address: Hastings Road, Winchelsea, Rye TN36 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Winchelsea
Price Range: $94 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Winchelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge at Winchelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Winchelsea Hotel Winchelsea
Winchelsea Hotel East Sussex
Winchelsea Motel East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lodge at Winchelsea staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Worthing, United Kingdom
Greater London, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Lodge at Winchelsea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the rooms with a step inside.”
 of 5 bubbles gilljohnstone, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“quieter rooms are at the back”
 of 5 bubbles LINALLEN, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back as traffic travels at speed along the road outside. Also suggest taking a three-way adapter.”
 of 5 bubbles cm9cm9, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you like doggy smelly rooms and don't mind them taking more payment its great”
 of 5 bubbles karenh272016, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose the upstairs rooms. We stayed downstairs, no view and quite dark”
 of 5 bubbles 465CathyN, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5