We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 24: English reviews
Start your review of DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin
 Click to rate
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this very nice hotel with my mother for four days and we enjoyed our stay like no other in this city. As locals, we had enjoyed the city many times before, but this was the first time we stayed here and we definitely would do it again. The facilities were nice and the food was great, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vania L
Lima, Peru
Reviewed 31 May 2016

DM Rio Shilcayo is lush and large. The grounds are expansive enough for long, leisurely walks through tropical foliage and the pool is huge compared to many hotel pools. The food in the restaurant could probably be bought more cheaply outside of the resort, but the taste and quality was superb in every case. The Bungalow had A/C that froze...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jontul
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay That with us. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards.

Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

Set in lovely gardens. The hotel is quite a way from the centre of town. But it's only 5 sol - c £1.20 to take a motorbike taxi to the centre. They were completing some building work while I was there so not particularly peaceful to sit around the pool area. The breakfast choice was good and the room nicely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback will help us improve as a Hotel, we are working to improve infrastructure the hotel , as with the Services. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards.

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 20 September 2015

This big property is located in the Shilcayo area. Surrounded by mountains and heavy virgin nature,this hotel will nicely surprice you. This hootel has big suites perfect for a romantic scape. The calm and the nature will charm you. Great service, restaurant,bar and pool. It also can welcome your business meetings,weddings or simply family reunions

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harold M
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay That with us. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards.

Lima, Peru
Reviewed 15 September 2015

I went there for a workshop, spent 3 days, and the place was nice. Rooms were spacey, confy and had a good view to the pool had good A/C which is key in a hot city as Tarapoto. Food was good but not superb as we would expect from the price. We had breakfast and lunch included in the package...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OceanLook
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay That with us. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

The hotel was purchased by a teachers union to be used by its members. Used to be a good hotel, now is one of the worst options in the area. Old rooms, bad service and used as camp for hundreds of teenagers. They advertise it as a Hotel, is not a Hotel anymore. AVOID.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelerxxxxx
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback will help us improve as a Hotel, we are working to improve infrastructure the hotel , as with the Services. We regret what happened. Kind regards

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Stayed here a few times now with my family. We had a transfer to and from the hotel which was absolutely brilliant! The bedroom we had, had 2 double beds, AC, TV, and had an ensuite. All good! The hotel also has a swimming pool, and it's surrounding gardens are beautiful! This would be a top pick for families with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mawilko
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay That with us. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards.

Lima, Perú
Reviewed 10 March 2015

This hotel was part of the peruvian 'national tourism enterprise' (entur peru) on the 50's. Afterwards most venues were sold to private entrepreneurs. This particular 'hotel de turistas' was well kept and more than half a century after being made, it now is really in town (when it was built probably it was on the outskirts of Tara, now in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hor-em-akhet
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay That with us. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards.

Lima, Peru
Reviewed 11 November 2014

This hotel is really good for Tarapoto standards. You can't say it's far away from the city centre because it's not such a big town, but it's not walking distance either, which in my opinion makes it a really good option because it gives you some peace and quiet. The food is nothing outstanding, but it's still okay, the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natalia c
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay That with us. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards.

Lima, Lima, Peru
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at Rio Shicayo two years ago with my family and had a good experience. Sure, the room was not great and the bedding made of polyester and the food was just OK but, hey this is a 3 star property in Peru and there isn't much to chose from unless you don't want to get ripped off by...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Ron C
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback will help us improve as a Hotel, we are working to improve infrastructure the hotel , as with the Services. We regret what happened. Kind regards.

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (161)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarapoto
0.8 km away
Tucan Suites Aparthotel
Tucan Suites Aparthotel
#1 of 17 in Tarapoto
190 reviews
1.6 km away
RioSol Tarapoto Hotel
RioSol Tarapoto Hotel
#3 of 17 in Tarapoto
149 reviews
27.0 km away
El Sauce Resort
El Sauce Resort
#1 of 1 in Sauce
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
No photo provided
Leito Inn
#12 of 17 in Tarapoto
14 reviews
3.7 km away
Madera Labrada
Madera Labrada
#5 of 47 in Tarapoto
210 reviews
3.0 km away
Puerto Palmeras Tarapoto Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rio Shilcayo hotel is the best host in Tarapoto. With over 5 acres of gardens and green areas, in addition to swimming and sports facilities, this is the perfect place to rest and to see the lush Amazon rainforest. Enjoy our hospitality, the comfort of our rooms with air conditioning and rich local cuisine, which undoubtedly will be for you an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin

Address: Pasaje las Flores 224 | Banda de Shilcayo, Tarapoto 042, Peru
Region: Peru > San Martin Region > Tarapoto
Price Range: $85 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suites are big but Standard rooms are well located also”
thomasdF1645RC, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“There are hammocks tents for you to rest if you want seem very nice!”
OceanLook, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Rooms near the pool are quite convenient as usual.”
Hor-em-akhet, 10 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Bungalows on left wing are better.”
dcwledzep, 22 Jun 2012 | Read review
“stay away from this hotel”
th1world, 28 Apr 2012 | Read review
5 of 5