We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aorangi Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aorangi Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aorangi Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 28 December 2015

At first impressions this is a funny little motel. However, inside it is extremely well decorated, modern, spacious and comfortable. I wished we could have stayed longer! Our 3 guests stayed in the two-bedroom unit, which was like a small home. They both had lovely touches like a fresh flower in a vase, or even a posy in the bigger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virginie S
IN
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

This place was a massive disappointment. It was a 90 degree day. The rooms had no air conditioning or fans. We had to leave windows open at night. Then bugs flew in. The wifi was terrible. It constantly kicked off. The bed was uncomfortable and had awful flat pillows. The worst part was that there was no hot water. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OpinionExpert
JustinGeary, Owner at Aorangi Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Aorangi Motel but some of your comments are unfounded and not factual. We do not have air conditioning and hence never advertise this. The hot water issue you claim was outside of our control as a network fault had occurred (identified post your departure) and was fixed by a...

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

Comfortable beds, great towels. It can be difficult getting a room for three, these guys do it well, a queen and two singles. There is a two element hot plate and a microwave if you would like to cook for yourself, and a four square within walking distance for supplies.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kymberley B
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Great motel for overnight stay on long drive from Christchurch to Mount Cook. Clean, spacious, comfortable motel room. Very reasonable priced and friendly, welcoming owner. Gave us a great recommendation for food - The Red Stag for our evening meal and the Fairlie bakery for supplies for our onward journey. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanandjohn2015
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 November 2015

Quiet stopover on a long journey. Units spacious and clean and although evidence of the age of the building, updates have been done as well as possible. Found vacancy on agency apparent ' last unit' and tried contacting motel directly. After leaving message and waiting for call back, which never came, finally booked on agents site in case no vacancy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shakennotstiirred
Worldwide
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

A very friendly welcome from our host and we were shown our immaculately clean unit which was well equipped, especially the kitchen. Fairlie is a great base for exploring the local lakes and mountains, we would rather stay here than at Lake Tekapo which is overpriced and can get over-run by tour buses and large groups.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theshawsontour
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 20 October 2015

We had booked this hotel as a stopover on our long drive from Mt Cook to Christchurch. Suffice to say, it just serves its purpose as a motor-hotel of sorts. The suite is spacious, furniture was slightly old, the kitchen is well-equipped, but for the bathroom, because of the proximity of the suites to Mother Nature, we would once in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

We were greeted with a friendly hello and given our key. Although the rooms are a bit dated everything was so very clean.Bedrooms and lounge area spacious. kitchen had everything u needed also had a cooktop.Bathroom was great Parking just outside door.Good wifi.The host was so very nice.Extra bonus my wife got to help feed the lambs on the property...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane S
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 September 2015

We had a very comfortable night here at the Aorangi motel. The room was clean, warm and well appointed. We had a bit of trouble with the toaster not working in the morning, but otherwise all was very good. I would highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kylie S
Otago Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 July 2015

First overnight stay in Fairlie and what a fantastic friendly warm reception. Room a bit dated but for a small town like Fairlie it's exceptionally good. Well kept neat place, heating was on in room which made it nice and cosy on a cold winter day. Well organised at office when we booked in, the free wifi code was ready...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TinVet

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlie
0.1 km away
Pinewood Motels
Pinewood Motels
#2 of 4 in Fairlie
116 reviews
30.1 km away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,435 reviews
8.0 km away
Mt Dobson Motel
Mt Dobson Motel
#3 of 4 in Fairlie
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 km away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
172 reviews
29.8 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
653 reviews
29.0 km away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
FAIRLIE'S QUIETEST MOTEL ACCOMMODATION Welcome to our family owned, QUIET, spacious, cosy, motel accommodation complex, being 100 meters off the main highway, & only 200 meters from town centre, home of the amazing " Fairlie Bakehouse" Lake Tekapo is only 42km ( 30 minute drive ) We offer quality & affordable, fully self contained ground floor, Studio, One bedroom & Two bedroom units. Serviced daily. Full kitchen in all units. Also microwaves, Ensuite's with heated floors, hair dryers in all units. Breakfast available. Free Wireless Internet, 5 Sky TV Channels / 32" LCD TVs, DVD player's. Safe off street parking outside unit. Guest BBQ and Childrens Playground Enjoy & Relax with your own patio. Carports available. A great base or overnight stop, between Christchurch & Queenstown & for all the activities the Mackenzie District offers, and to enjoy the tranquility, peace and quiet of our beautiful Fairlie township / Restaurants / cafe's . Halfway stop-over between Christchurch and Aoraki/Mt Cook, Queenstown and Wanaka. Ski Mt Dobson, Fox Peak, Round Hill. Boating/fishing at Lake Opuha. Enjoy warm hospitality and comfort. All major credit cards accepted... We look forward to meeting you :) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aorangi Motel

Address: 26 Denmark Street, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Price Range: $109 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aorangi Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aorangi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aorangi Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is a smaller complex and from what we saw all rooms are great”
ehurley2017, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If all rooms are as good as ours you could choose any room.”
Rayre1, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 & 6 have laundry in between them. Room 1 is the room closest to the road. All units are identical as far as I can tell.”
LoveubudMelbourne, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 7. There were no problems with noise, either from the road or other units.”
Narnee, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Small motel, so all would be good”
ATeam2013, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5