We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hermitage Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Hermitage Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,837 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hermitage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,605: English reviews
Sherborn, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 January 2015

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for two nights last week. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and had an outstanding view of Mt. Cook. The hotel has many activities and there are some nice hikes nearby. The Panorama Dining Room had outstanding a la carte dinners. Don't miss this hotel if you are traveling on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nancy L. Thank you for your positive comments. We strive to create memorable hotel experiences for all our guests and are so glad to hear our team and facilities played a role in enhancing your stay. I am happy that you experienced the activities we offer and that you appreciated the Panorama room, its a fine dining restaurant utilizing...

Sydney
Reviewed 23 January 2015

Weather permitting the Hermitage gives you simply amazing views of Mount Cook. The Alpine Centre shows interesting documentaries, and has ample historical information on Sir Edmund Hillary, his epic climb of Mount Everest, and his enduring love of Mt Cook. The hotel is moderately expensive for what you get, but this reflects its somewhat remote location. I do not recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AusGourmetTraveller
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AusGourmetTrave. I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and delighted you experienced the theatre and its range of movies, the area has a rich history and with the legacy of Sir Edmund Hillary and his achievements there are some great stories. I appreciate your comments on the Panorama restaurant and I apologize it was not meet...

Reviewed 22 January 2015

Great stay and a fantastic view. great selection of activity options etc. highly recommend. Wheelchair access was good in the aoraki wing and there was plenty of space in the room. breakfast was ok without being brilliant but very acceptable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quentin S
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Quentin S. Warm greetings from the Hermitage Hotel Aoraki, Mt Cook. Your feedback was much appreciated and well received. We're glad to know that you had enjoyed the services and facilities provided in the hotel and experienced the great views from your Aoraki wing room. Thank you again and safe journeys Rodney Young Executive Assistant Manager The Hermitage Hotel...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 January 2015

We have continually stayed at the Hermitage since the 1980s and you have not spent a cent since then. Please upgrade your rooms. They are tired and shabby , and all your furniture is too. Far too pricey for the sort of money we paid. A reasonable rate would be at $350 not $650 for superior room. Your Panorama Restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sirani M
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirani M. Thank you for taking your time to post feedback on tripadvisor.com and for your loyalty to Mt Cook since 1980. We are very disappointed to learn that we did not reach your expectation on your recent trip but am happy to learn that the staff were friendly and accommodating towards you. I note from your reservation that...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 20 January 2015

We stayed at the Hermitage for one night on our self-drive tour of the South Island. We had a partial view room, and we could hardly believe it was considered "partial" -- we felt like we had a perfectly wonderful view of the mountains and we spent quite a bit of time staring off of our balcony. It was pricey,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vissidarte27
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vissidarte27. Thank you for posting your feedback online and we are very appreciative of your comments. The hotel has been designed so the majority of rooms have maximum views of the surrounding area and we are delighted that you were able to experience this from the comfort of your balcony. Hope that we have the opportunity to host you...

Newcastle
Reviewed 18 January 2015

We stayed at the Hermitage Hotel early January as part of our APT tour, our room was clean and tidy with a sliding door to the most breath taking view i have ever seen and a courtyard area with chairs to sit and enjoy that view, BUT the room had no safe which makes it difficult having to carry passports...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FiveStarKazz
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FiveStarKazz. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and experienced the great views from your balcony, while having a chance to enjoyed our intensive buffet dinner which is also a favourite of many as it show cases some great local products. Thank you for the constructive feedback on the safe and smoking issue,...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2015

We stayed for one unforgettable night at the Hermitage hotel in the superior room. The views were simply breath taking. Rooms were well equipped and comfortable. I must mention the Duty manager on the 9th of January Andrew and on the 10th Waisea. These guys were just brilliant in trying to help us resolve the issue of our locked car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theodore Z
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Theodore Z. Thank you for your valuable and positive feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and truly appreciate the nice comments, I have personally thanked Waisea and Andrew for their extra efforts in resolving your car issue. All team members try their utmost to help our guests, and it is truly satisfying...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2015

Booked a motel for three adults. Motel had a queen bed in a bedroom and a queen bed in the lounge. Basic kitchen (not that we used it) and a reasonable bathroom with a good shower. The place was clean but furnished and equipped in a very basic way. I guess the $300 a night price tag was for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GrantandPam255106
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GrantandPam.255. Warm greetings from Hermitage hotel, Aoraki Mt Cook and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to the south island. I really appreciate your understanding regarding the pricing in the village, being a free national park, its a big picture price and for us the only full service provider in the area, just...

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We were booked here on a self driving tour and were booked into a chalet and upgraded our included breakfast from a continental to a fully cooked, but on arrival check in staff tried to downgrade our booking to a motel were discovered the motel was not satisfactory. As went complained to reception they offered us the free fully cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joshua J
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joshua J. Thank you for taking time to give your feedback on your recent visit. I have investigate the record of your stay. When you checked in the guest service agent informed you that we have a maintenance issue in the chalets and we have relocated you to the motels, a family unit, which in fact is not a...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 14 January 2015

The views are something you have to see in your lifetime. Our hotel room and many public areas have this incredible view. The room was clean. However, the hotel's hallways and elevators are straight from the 1970s -- goldish doors and carpet up the walls. Yuck! This hotel could be one of the best hotels in the world. It just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank feelingbeachy
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Feelingbeachy. Thank you for choosing the Hermitage on your recent visit to Mt Cook. The hotel was designed to have as many rooms as possible and public areas to have great views of either Mt Cook or other suroundingmountain ranges, I am glad you experienced all the various views. However I am disappointed that the colour scheme was not...

924 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (907)
Viewed
View from Room (155)
Viewed
Room/Suite (115)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (178)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (378)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
39.3 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
643 reviews
39.6 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,081 reviews
39.3 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.7 km away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.6 km away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, The Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD and Argo Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Address: 89 Terrace Road | Alpine Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Price Range: $164 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Mt Cook Village
Hermitage New Zealand
The Hermitage Hotel New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hermitage Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
over a year ago
Solana Beach, California
7 months ago
Orlando, Florida
7 months ago
Coolangatta, Australia
brisbane

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Hermitage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The more you pay, the higher the room, the better the view”
 of 5 bubbles RickWorth, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you decide to stay get a room with a view its the only + point”
 of 5 bubbles thebarratt, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in tower above the 5th floor. This is a must so book early. Otherwise you be in the older part of hotel or chalets.. .”
 of 5 bubbles 280sheila, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The higher rooms in the back block have the best views”
 of 5 bubbles Sandi572014, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top floor are best view but not sure it is worth the extra as most rooms have a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles WYorkshiretraveller, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5