We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset View Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunset View Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sunset View Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 55: English reviews
Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I think we would have enjoyed our stay here a lot more if we hadn't been caught in what the locals call a "weather bomb". Wow - it rained, and the wind blew!! So - needless to say, we didn't do much exploring in the area, and can say very little about Baylys Beach as a destination, unfortunately. But I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suec89
TasmanBaylysBeach, Owner at Sunset View Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Sue for your review, It sure was a rough night with the "weather bomb" that engulfed most of New Zealand that weekend, however you were safe on cosy in the well constructed lodge!!!! I am a friendly critter whether it is a single person or 13 guests (max the lodge can cater for) that need hosting . Our typical...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 28 February 2012

When we designed our two-week round trip to northland staying at the best possible places, we were looking forward to our two nights at Sunset View Lodge, close to Baylys Beach. By the way, these were our most expensive nights (190 NZD a night) in the whole of our 5-week tour in NZ. When we got to Sunset View Lodge,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Carlos_R_888
TasmanBaylysBeach, Owner at Sunset View Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, a few things we would like to point out to you; firstly our tariff; you paid $190.00 incls GST , your continential breakfast, free wi fi , unlimited use of the heated swimming pool.($450 per month to heat) and staying in a very clean modern lodge , 5 years old. $1.5 m value , these...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Neat tidy yes. Welcoming no. Got a sore neck watching the smallest tv! Breakfast ok one toaster not working so a bit of a queue. I know alot of people like to be left to their own devices but I found the owners manerism slightly demeaning. Perhaps they don't like people from their the country they live in but prefer...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Frith J
TasmanBaylysBeach, Owner at Sunset View Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, but we have no idea what this reviewer is on about, we love our fellow country folk and i can assure you we treat everyone equally. the "small" plasma tvs cost us $1000 each 5 years ago , today you can get a 40in for the same money, most of our guests spend their time out...

Chievres / Belgium
Reviewed 27 February 2012

great stop in Sunset View on our way north. Marvelous location surrounded by green hills with a wonderful view on the ocean - nice accomodation very confortable - lovely pool - good breakfast and good food at the local resto 'funky fish' - very friendly hosts - address to be recommanded

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paddy069
Auckland
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The good: - nice, clean rooms with deck; - great views; - near the beach; - swimming pool; and - friendly staff. Only thing to note is that there are no cooking facilities here (not even utensils in your room), the tv is small, and the only sky channel you can watch is the one in the common room -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NathanChan
TasmanBaylysBeach, Owner at Sunset View Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, due to the high risk of fire/ spillage/odours, we chose not to have any cooking facilities in the units. Thanks again for staying with us

Helensvale, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Very comfortable room with spectacular view of ocean in the distance, beautiful lush fields & fabulous sunset. Horse riding on the beach was lovely and the girl who took us could not have been nicer to talk to and ride with. The pool was really lovely. Breakfast was a little disappointing on the 2nd day. Butter was forgotten, dried orange...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mc4141
TasmanBaylysBeach, Owner at Sunset View Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, and sorry about the butter, my husband had to do the breakfast this day for me as I was in hospital, he realised after you had gone and does apologise for his "MAN LOOK!!"

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We broke our trip north with a night at Baylys Beach and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The lodge is a short walk from the beach, with great views. The room was comfortable and clean, the hosts and other guests friendly. The local Funky Fish cafe had good food and friendly service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melisandor
Staffordshire, England
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Sunset View Lodge is a really great place to stay. The accommodation is first class, spotlessly clean, really comfortable and very spacious rooms. I booked Sunset room which had a great balcony to sit out on overlooking the pool and great views westwards to the sea. The place itself is really quiet and no light pollution - so having driven...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonoLion
Penn Yan, New York
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We were very pleased with the Sunset View Lodge. Pam and Neil were very welcoming, the room was spacious and clean and the breakfast buffet was wonderful! They even let us use their golf clubs twice so we could play a round just down the street. And the people at the golf course could not have been nicer either! Neil...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keukarus
Auckland
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Great place, a 5 star accommodation in such a nice small town

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23JuJu

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dargaville hotels
11.3 km away
Parkview Motel
Parkview Motel
#3 of 4 in Dargaville
39 reviews
18.7 km away
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
#3 of 12 in Dargaville
60 reviews
0.3 km away
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
#2 of 12 in Dargaville
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
28.8 km away
Birdsnest Holiday Home
Birdsnest Holiday Home
#7 of 12 in Dargaville
1 reviews
11.7 km away
Hobson's Choice Motel
Hobson's Choice Motel
#1 of 4 in Dargaville
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunset View Lodge has been built to create an atmosphere of peace and tranquility, with a high level of safety, with the installation of state of the art fire detection and alarm systems. We offer casual "Beachy" surroundings, so you can relax in your own area or spend the evening in the specially built Guest Lounge and Home Theatre, talking with your hosts over a Glass of Wine or ale. We will be able to assist you with learning about the history of the area, or having us suggest some activities to do the next day.The top floor Suites have large sliding glass doors opening out onto a glass surrounding deck, with one suite having a totally private deck and balcony with lovely rural and sea views, and also one suite on the ground floor has its own private deck and sea views. All units have Plasma TVs, plus fridge, with a minibar of Local Wine and Beers, microwave, coffee and tea making facilities along with modern en-suite making these the ONLY luxury type available in this area. All our top floor suites open out to magnificent sea views, listen to the sweet sounds of the waves rolling in onto the pristine beach, as you sit on your deck reading a good book.Or have a relaxing swim in our heated swimming pool with a turbo jet (closed in the winter). You have the option, subject to availability, of 3 suites on the 2nd floor or 3 suites on the 1st floor. The top floor units have a grander view of the Tasman Sea and wave action while the lower level still has great views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset View Lodge

Address: 7 Alcemene Ln | Baylys Beach, Dargaville 0377, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Dargaville
Price Range: $155 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset View Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunset View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset View Lodge Dargaville, North Island, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunset View Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lovely views from the first floor but there is no elevator for those who are unable to carry suitcases up the stairs.”
JanM592, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are two rooms with balconies facing the sunset, take one of them.”
CanjenMike, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms with balcony”
Fabflick, 13 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Probably get a better view from the upstairs floor.”
962nevillew, 8 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Go for top floor room with a sea view”
colin49uk, 8 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5