We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malapascua Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 154: English reviews
North Carolina
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

The owner was very nice which is what kept my rating from being lower but on the whole I was not very impressed. I would say the pros are that the rooms have very nice covered balconies, and that the resort is fairly quiet, and away from most of the islands foot traffic. However, I had a pretty negative experience....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben E
sundang, Owner at AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua, responded to this review

Hi Ben Sorry for your bad experience about the Brownout. It happend after a tropical storm that late evening when a fallen coconut tree cut the power line going to the village INDONACION. We are tight up with our power line to that village. When i called the Power station they told me its impossible to repair the power line...

Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

This place is beautiful. I stayed in the fan room ensuite. The breakfast was included and again this was very good. The beach is clean. The staff so friendly I could not fault this place. It's quiet but nearby to places for food etc. I am a solo traveller but would also recommend family's to stay here as they have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_082
Reviewed 22 October 2016

I had planned to stay just for 3days, but ended up staying for 11days at Aabana. Absolutely perfect decision it was. As a sole traveller i stayed at Casabella1 which has spacious restroom with hot shower and good water pressure!! Also has private veranda with table, chair and hammock to chill anytime:) if you have travelled small Islands, you know...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank YUJIN J
Haifa, Israel
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I stayed there for 3 nights during my diving in Malapascua. The most special thing about this resort is the staff - they are so lovely and friendly people! They will help you with anything you need and will do their best that your stay there will be comfortable. I enjoyed to talk with them, to receive their recommendations for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yuri1409
Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewed 1 October 2016

The accommodation on Aabana is not that high-end. And i must say that i am a little bit disappointed. The shower in Casabonita is not that functional, and when we arrived, the shower floor was dirty with crawling insects. The whole bathroom though is huge. The rear door lock knob was also damaged. However, if you want to enjoy the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Urejiak
sundang, Manager at AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua, responded to this review

Sorry for your bad experience with the CASABONITA Masterroom. OK we know already that the new backdoor the (new) doorlock is not in function. We ordered already spare parts for repair. Actually our staff has to inform you about that on checkin. So sorry for that. Anyway the room has 2 doors , so you could use the main door...

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in the Casabella room in July 2016 and had a prefect time. The room was nice and clean, with a quiet floor fan and a generously spaced bathroom. Lots of hooks and space to hang wet towels and clothes! The garden is lush and inviting, with hammocks to relax in, and the beach in front is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonas K
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 28 May 2016

We stayed at Aabana because it was recommended from the Lonely Planet with the best price/performance ratio. I can agree with that even if its a long walk from the Port to the Resort and its a bit of a walk to the dive shops. Anyway good and affordable accomodation on Malapascua.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank flipo1996
Nakhon Si Thammarat, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Great location with nice, clean rooms. Quiet. Overall a great spot...! With the exception of the owner, Mike, who was downright blunt and rude to both his customers and staff. He seemed to enjoy waking guests up from naps for no reason at all, and having his staff re-arrange furniture mid-stay. A great place to stay, just steer clear of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Elijah L
sundang, Inhaber at AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua, responded to this review

Hi Elijah Sorry for your experience you talked about. But i dont know what you are talking about. Waking up his guest when an a nap? why should i do that? Would be nice if you explain the exact incident you complain about. Only reason i wake up guest on a nap is ...if they ordered some meals that is...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Good location right next to Evolution Dive Resort, although a long trek up the beach. The room (Guesthouse Siko) was perfectly fine with a nice bathroom. Lovely breakfast options. Were made to feel extremely bad about using more than the 1kw electricity for overnight air conditioning. This is an optional extra that we were quite willing to pay as my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kitkatz1701
sundang, Manager at AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua, responded to this review

Dear KAT and Chris, your story IS SIMPLY not true. you stayed May 1 - May 4 in our neighbors room what we call the Guesthiuse Siko. You had a DEPOSIT of php 500 and that was clearly stated to you. Dont know why you say there was a mess. The room you booked was also clearly in our description...

Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

One of the best resorts we have been on the Philippines. The rooms are beautiful and quite, delicious breakfast is included, nice private beach in front of the resort, reasonable prices and very friendly owners. Thanks for the relaxing days at Aabana!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KathaRina009

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (210)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
1.0 km away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
444 reviews
0.7 km away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
138 reviews
0.5 km away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
84 reviews
1.3 km away
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
211 reviews
0.1 km away
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & ...
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautiful little beach resort (BIR name is AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua) on the peaceful east side of the Bounty Beach, Malapascua. Fantastic priceworthy solid cottages with air con, Sat-TV, value safe, warm water shower, refrigerator, big terrace, WiFi internet connection. White sand clean, well-maintained beach. Still under construction but fully operating, friendly service and best price / value ratio. ... more   less 

Additional Information about AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua

Address: 6013, Philippines (Formerly Mike & Diose's Beach Cottage)
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Price Range: $12 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Mike And Diose`s Beach Cottage
Mike & Diose`s Beach Cottage Hotel Malapascua Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
24 days ago
Manila, Philippines
Cebu City, Cebu City, Philippines

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose Casaviva if you want to cook your own food.”
 of 5 bubbles Urejiak, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Fan room with optional aircon and with cr. We had the Guest house Siko.”
 of 5 bubbles 111ziad, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Would not recommend 'Siko' rooms due to noise from the village.”
 of 5 bubbles 0JenniferH, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“fan bamboo room is best value formoney”
 of 5 bubbles mattbZ9623IX, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the second floor is always better”
 of 5 bubbles Certified_Biyahero, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5