We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Derbyshire Derby

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,388 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Derbyshire Derby
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,383: English reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

I booked this hotel for its location which is great. Nice and efficient check-in along with free wifi. Room ok, bit dated and dark as inadequate lighting, but comfortable.The real negative for me is the food, it's average and expensive however the staff were very pleasant. Although it's a great location it's doubtful I would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil-the-1
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Neil-the-1 Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. I am so pleased you commented on our staff customer service and I will ensure this communicated with the hotel team. Our location is ideal for both business and leisure and I hope we can welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards Anna

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

We went for our nenu tasting before our wedding next month. The food is the best i have had for a very long time and the staff made us feel very welcome and important. The only down side is the price of drinks. I find £6-£8 for a glass of wine very expensive for the area the hotels is in....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mr B
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear MrB Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your menu tasting for your forthcoming wedding. We will ensure your special day is exceptional. Our team is available to ensure we help with all the final details, every step of the way and most importantly so you and your future wife have a magical day...

Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

This hotel is much better than on our previous visit, which was many years ago. All staff are extremely pleasant. The room was of a good size and had a table and two easy chairs. There was the usual flat screen TV, hairdryer, plenty of storage space, tea & coffee making facilities plus an iron and ironing board. The gym,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Dave N Thank you for your review, we really appreciate receiving feedback from our guests. I am pleased you had a great stay and you received a warm welcome from our team. Likewise to see you returning and seeing improvements from your previous visit. I hope we can welcome you back again very soon please feel free to contact...

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2016

When we arrived into a very spacious and modern reception area we were greeted by a fairly pleasant member of staff who checked us in and gave us directions to the room. However we were then asked if we were having breakfast and before we had a chance to answer they suggested we go to the local McDonalds, so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adventurers1225
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Adventurers1225 Thank you for your review and taking the time to share your honest feedback, I am sorry we let you down in certain aspects. We are continually looking to improve and I can assure we do review all comments and rectify and retrain to make future improvements. I do genuinely hope we can welcome you back and regain...

Burntwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2016

We attended this hotel before the above title date, and although a number of xmas parties were taking place, we were warmly welcomed. The three course meal was really good,and the staff were quick and efficient, considering they were very busy. We were a party of four adults, and we all enjoyed our meals. The rooms were on the ground...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian T M
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Ian T M Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us, I so pleased you had a lovely stay and enjoyed your meal in our restaurant. We really do strive to ensure everyone receives a warm welcome and we do get fantastic feedback regarding the team. I sincerely hope we can welcome you and your...

Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Reviewed 10 January 2016

I liked staying at this hotel. Everything went smoothly, there is a nice pool with a sauna, the staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast is delicious. They even have vegan saussages. The room was reasonably big and clean. Also quiet, despite the location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Catherine R Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your experiences. I am so pleased your business trip went well and you enjoyed the facilities at The Derbyshire. Our leisure and spa is a relaxation zone after a hard days work. Thank you for the kind comments regarding the team, I will ensure this...

Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

Great night out. Lovely food. Fab disco, good wide range of music for all ages. Great DJ. Staff unfortunately not very attentive, we had to ask several times for coffee. Soft drinks a little pricey, there were offers on shots & it would've been more value for money to have alcoholic drinks but I was driving so couldn't. Not many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Princess77EMR
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Princess77EMR Thank you for taking the time to review your Christmas party, We really do appreciate your feedback and assure you we review and make improvements where ever possible. I am sorry that we let you down on a couple of the points you raised, however I am pleased you did enjoy your evening and that you would definitely...

Reviewed 3 January 2016

fantastic amenities at this hotel lovely to have a wedding reception there the staff is really friendly the boss is lovely fully recommend this would suit a family or couples or if you going into the nottinghamshire town mega cheap taxis and good food in the indian restaurant lovely nightlife

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ceri S
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Ceri S Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we sincerely appreciate this and I am so pleased you had a lovely time at the hotel. We are the ideal venue for a short relaxing break and in additions our function space for weddings and functions. I will ensure your feedback is shared with...

Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

The hotel facilities are well presented the rooms are clean, tidy and well equipped We went for the ball but whilst there tried the spa out for size Pool lovely,steam room, jacuzzi and sauna awesome The meal at night very good and although the disco music was a litho staid at times it was lightened somewhat by the liquid refreshment...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davidlear681928
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Davidlear681928 Thank you for sharing your New Years Eve Celebrations with us, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so pleased to read your comments regarding your stay and also that you took advantage of our relaxing leisure and spa facilities. Thank you for your recommendation and I hope myself and the team can...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We stayed for our Christmas do, with 7 other couples booking rooms we thought we were on for a good drink after the party finished. The bar shut at 1am and that was it - no budging by the night manager. The rooms are in a massive need of an upgrade and the breakfast is what I would call beige...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennie P
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Jennie P I am very sorry to read your review and your comments regarding your stay at The Derbyshire Hotel, we have received so many positive comments from our events throughout festive season. We take all feedback seriously and genuinely make improvements wherever possible. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel should you wish to discuss...

294 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (98)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (115)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Double Room (17)
Viewed
Superior Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)
Viewed
Twin Room (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
542 reviews
17.7 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,251 reviews
8.8 km away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
681 reviews
16.6 km away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
15.8 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Price Range: $98 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Derbyshire Derby staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question
Walsall, United Kingdom
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Kent

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from The Derbyshire Derby staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't swim with the beast”
 of 5 bubbles M3352OEmichaelc, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Near the reception was useful. Think most rooms are the same.”
 of 5 bubbles essjay2730, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for ground floor if you have difficulty handling luggage”
 of 5 bubbles Bohojen, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If your in a wheelchair and want to use the pool get a coat and umbrella ready!”
 of 5 bubbles garykovacs, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our experience - quiet and restful - room in the 230 area”
 of 5 bubbles 417royw, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5