Howard Johnson by Wyndham Lindsay

Howard Johnson by Wyndham Lindsay

354 Lindsay St S, Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes, Ontario K9V 4R4 Canada
The bug in my bed
Traveller (32)
King Room
Room & Suite (31)
how do two ladies, sitting in Dr's office or car all day, then sleep, cause this to towels!
Bathroom (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.0
#5 of 6 hotels in Lindsay
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Howard Johnson Inn a Kawartha lakes hotels has been serving the town of Lindsay and surrounding area for over 30 years, providing clean, comfortable and affordable accommodations. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, our facilities will help make it a memorable one. Close to major attractions and services, the Inn is the perfect location to start and end each day. We have four different types of Guest Rooms King Executive, two Queen beds, two Double beds and one Double bed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Snack bar
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
466Reviews3Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 78
  • 110
  • 121
  • 65
  • 92
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
melwilson66 wrote a review Jan 2024
Mansfield-et-Pontefract, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
if your looking for a room for a quick 1 night stay it might be ok for that but not much more. No coffee in the rooms, the breakfast is basically nothing, no sweetener for coffee etc. For a few extra dollars you can get something a lot better close by
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jjchow2004 wrote a review Dec 2022
Ottawa, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked for a long term stay as I was expecting to be in Lindsay for a few months. David was the staff member that checked me in. He said the minimum for long term stay a 3 months. I asked what if it doesn’t work out and I’m only there for a couple weeks? He said that I would then be charged the daily rate for the time I stayed and would be refunded the rest. That was not the case.
I stayed for eight days and then I had to leave. He then refused to refund me the 7,000+ that he had charged my card. I returned the next day and spoke to a different staff member, I eventually got a refund for the last 2 months after spending an hour arguing.
Furthermore, the property looks like it has not been attended to in years. The rooms were old and not welcoming at all. I was there for long term stay and my room only had a 2x2 fridge. They charge an extra $100/ month for a COMPLEMENTARY breakfast which consisted of yogurt, stale muffins and horrible coffee. The conference room was literally falling apart. The roof flashing was falling off, paint bubbling etc. it looked like an abandoned building.
I want my money back!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
k2wolf wrote a review Jan 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have to stay in a hotel at least three days per week until April, staying at the Ramada was not pleasant because of management, the cable TV offering, and water pressure was below standard. Howard Johnson not as elaborate management is much easier to deal with. Rooms are small but comfortable, tv reception is good and water pressure is great.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ryanjU6308HX wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Came up for a Tragically Hip tribute show. Hotel was great. Good price. Great staff. Clean rooms. Other hotels in same price tange were dumps and the only other hotel was 40 dollars more for the same room type. No thanks.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joy Adams wrote a review Jun 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So the room was run down, the newer paint did not hide the flaws! The bathroom was disgusting! First thing you see was a major stain on the counter beside the sink and a supposed to be grey facecloth, beside the sink, not folded properly with white stains and a rip. But after 2 medical procedures in one day a few hours drive to get there, a room is a room! We left at 8 am the next day, for our 9 hour drive home! The following day, I checked my credit card, to see I have been charged $200.57 for an $89 dollar room rate. Call the hotel, was told I caused damage to towels. We used 1 face cloth, well sort of, as the water that came out of the sink was filthy, so no face was or teeth brushing. My daughter used 1 towel for a quick shower! So after a week since we checked in, 5 days since I first started calling, I finally got the receipt, and pictures of supposed damage. Called the hotel again, was told they were giving me 50 back of the 100. I did not damage the linen, they said 3 were damaged, 2 pictures are identical. No way could we cause the black mark on the face cloth! 5 days constant phone calls, no return call from a manager, nothing! They would not give me managers or owners name, etc!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Lindsay
Responded Jul 10, 2020
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Lindsay. It is our hotel policy to call each guest within 30 minutes of check-in for a routine welcome call. During your welcome call, you advised our guest services agent that "everything was great". All of our rooms are inspected to meet brand standards to ensure guest satisfaction. Upon check out, rooms are inspected again for incidentals and damages prior to releasing security deposits on file. Unfortunately, it was at this time when our staff observed the damage to hotel linens, took pictures for documentation and provided pictures to you for reference. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay after being notified of damage charges. We wish you a speedy recovery and do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sinclair_J979 wrote a review Jan 2020
Toronto, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were travelling from Minden back home to Toronto but had to stay overnight at hotel to wait out ice storm. The staff was very friendly and check in was smooth. The kids really enjoyed making waffles for breakfast the next day. We will definitely stay here in the future and tell friends visiting from out of town.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manager46569, General Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Lindsay
Responded Jan 14, 2020
Thank you for staying with us. It's our pleasure to serve as a safe haven to ride out this storm or any future events in Lindsay/Kawartha Lakes region.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jbyers227562 wrote a review Sep 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This Motel is one of the dirtiest motels you can find and the highest price with damage and over all horrible conditions. I do not recommend anyone stay here. My tv remote broke, the shower controls broke while iI was in shower on the hottest setting. Long black hairs in shower and on ceiling, breakfast was a absolute joke. didn't come with coffee maker and when i got one it looked like it was taken out of a closet in had been in for a year with dust dirt and grim. Went to office to get coffee and it was just brown water. Cigarette butts and joints on the ground outside room, water damage carpets, walls and ceiling, OVER ALL a horrible experience. I recommend the Knights inn down the street as its clean as friendly!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
toxby909095 wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Motor motel with clean rooms and easy check-in. Continental breakfast came in a brown paper bag although no coffee. Located close to Hwy 35; the cycle path along the Trent Waterway and next door to Lindsay Golf and Country Club. Lots of parking. Recommend for overnight.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MicheleKenwood wrote a review Mar 2022
Toronto, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
What a disappointment to host one of my employees here. The room was filthy with old fixtures, old bed, old bedding with cigarette burn holes. There were cigarette butt containers outside of all the rooms that stunk. No coffee makers and breakfast was handed out in a paper bag consisting of a bottled water, yogourt, granola bar and an apple.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
susandugas wrote a review Nov 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
These were reasonable accommodations, the room was clean and the bed comfortable. Staff were helpful and accommodating when we needed replacement supplies for the room. Like the ground floor access as we were travelling with pets (dogs). Outdoor seating area with BBQ that looked nice (we did not use).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mvanderburgh asked a question Oct 2016
Shawnigan Lake, Canada4 contributions6 helpful votes
Is this hotel eligible for air miles points?
Answer from Manager46569
Hello, Thank you for your inquiry. Guests do not earn Air Miles points if they stay at our hotel. However you do have the option of earning Wyndham Reward points for staying at our property. The points can be redeemed for a free night stay at any 8000 Wyndham property as well as for gift cards and other items. We look forward to welcoming you. Warm regards, Conrad G. General Manager Howard Johnson Inn Lindsay
silvio m wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms at front are super nice. Pull up ot yuour door easy access. very frinedly staff. Alwaays come here when working in area. Great prices"
Read full review
huskieshomes wrote a tip Nov 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We reserved rooms with queen beds close to the lobby. The rooms by garden in the courtyard was convenient for walking the dogs."
Read full review
Sherry T wrote a tip Aug 2022
Grimsby, Canada3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"stay someplace else .. This place is dirty"
Read full review
Jetlag2009 wrote a tip Jun 2019
Bonita Springs, Florida56 contributions35 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good luck finding a good room"
Read full review
flyhorse1980 wrote a tip Jan 2019
Buffalo, New York3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The queen rooms at the front is where our team stayed. Parked right at my front door!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lindsay area.
PRICE RANGE
C$109 - C$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioKawartha LakesLindsay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Howard Johnson by Wyndham Lindsay - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Howard Johnson by Wyndham Lindsay
Which popular attractions are close to Howard Johnson by Wyndham Lindsay?
Nearby attractions include Century Cinemas 3 (2.7 km), Academy Theatre (2.8 km), and Lindsay Twin Drive In (4.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Lindsay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Lindsay?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Lindsay?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Lindsay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Howard Johnson by Wyndham Lindsay?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cat & The Fiddle Lindsay, Saint Dave's Diner, and Teriyaki Town.
Are pets allowed at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Lindsay?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Howard Johnson by Wyndham Lindsay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Lindsay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
All Lindsay HotelsLindsay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LindsayHotels near Howard Johnson by Wyndham Lindsay
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars