We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mount Everest Guest Farm

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mount Everest Guest Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 112: English reviews
Lenasia, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed the stay at mount Everest game farm, the views at sunrise and sunset were stunning. We spent one night enroute to Durban with the family. All the staff in the farm were very friendly and helpful. There's a lot of activity available in the surrounding areas. The highlight for us, at the farm was the milking of... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank YusufPahad
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Mount Everest game farm is amongst the best places I've been to.I mean it is so wonderful that I recommended it to friends and 2 weeks later we went back again The fact that it has over 5 different species of game on the premises just makes it awesomer there is one element missing though and that is a 🏊... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 333gladwinr
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2016

The staff is friendly, place is clean. And the mountains in this area is just so beautiful! We have stayed here now twice two years apart and it is just as nice. I will surely recommend it to anyone who needs a weekend away.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 599jaco
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The landscape of Mount Everest Resort is facinating and very beautiful with many different rocks, wildlife and walking/running trails to follow. We will be sure to retourn and explore more. The host was very kind and welcoming.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tanjaw862
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2016

It was an awsome place. Very clean and neat. The surrounding area was beautiful. One of the best place I've been on holiday. Amazing hiking trails and even beter scenery. Will defenitly go back for a longer time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank douf2016
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2016

The guest farm is a beautiful place, the service we received was good. There was a mix up with our booking however the owners resolved it before we got there and they made sure we were comfortable. We appreciated their assistance and friendliness.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 350ayandag
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We were travelling through to JHB from Port Shepstone and due to terrible weather conditions we were forced to find a place to stay over. I do not regret choosing this lodge, but the gravel road to the location is quite a stretch and I would not suggest it if you are driving a feeble vehicle. Upon arrival, we noticed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dalton W
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Great location, amazing climbing and game Very hot, would have liked to have shade to park the bakkie under during the day Mattress needs to be replaced Amazing scenery - had an amazing adventure and will be back next year

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank B5173QMrobertb
Pretoris
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The chalets are in a poor condition, and not well maintained. The furniture and beds were old and uncomfortable. The paint is coming off from the walls and the bathroom pipes are leaking. It was extremely cold and our oil heater kept tripping the electricity. There was no fireplace. The place would be nice it is a nice farm and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 287liezld
Amanda W, Owner at Mount Everest Guest Farm, responded to this review

Hi, so sorry to hear about your bad experience. Would you please email me to let me know which chalet you were in? We are not aware of any peeling paint, leaking pipes or tripping heaters and we want to address these problems. If we had known while you were here, we would have attempted to make your stay more... More 

Benoni, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We wanted peace and quiet and that is what we got, fantastic. We were able to view game up close. But unfortunately the infrastructure needs help, urgently. The activities shown on the website are not all available. We stayed in the Witkruisarend chalet, very cute, except for the resident mice and the mice droppings under the sofa cushions. The doors... More 

Helpful?
Thank brykal

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrismith
14.9 km away
Harrismith Inn
Harrismith Inn
#1 of 1 in Harrismith
17 reviews
16.9 km away
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Harrismith
66 reviews
417.0 km away
Riverview Country Inn
Riverview Country Inn
#12 of 18 in Harrismith
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 km away
Green Lantern Inn
Green Lantern Inn
#2 of 5 in Van Reenen
74 reviews
41.4 km away
Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort
14.0 km away
De Oude Huize Yard
De Oude Huize Yard
#1 of 18 in Harrismith
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Take the road less traveled ... it makes all the difference!Mount Everest Game Farm, formerly known as Eagle Mountain, is nestled between rolling grasslands and majestic mountains in the scenic Eastern Free State. Just 20km from Harrismith, it makes for perfect Harrismith accommodation on your holiday or business travel. Whether you are seeking adventure or peace and quiet, you will find it here. Harrismith is centrally situated between Durban and Harrismith, making it the ideal stopover on your trip. Or make us your base from where exploring the surrounding artistic towns like Clarens, culture - Basotho Cultural Village, Drakensberg Mountains, boer war battlefields and the many art and craft shops and stalls in the area. Accommodation at Mount Everest is in swiss style log cabins or thatched duplex chalets, sleeping from 4 up to 10 guests. There is a camp site with power points at each stand and rustic log cabin style ablutions. The camp site has spectacular rocks to the East and the scenery as far as the eye can see to the west. Enjoy breakfast and dinner in our restaurant or prepare your own in your self-catering chalet. Game drives, rock climbing, paintball, abseiling, rapp jumping, horse riding, hiking, fishing, all can be had at Mount Everest Game Farm. There are more than 200 bolted mountain climbing routes of varying degrees - guide books are available at the establishment. Or have your company conference or team building at Mount Everest. We have a high ropes course, among other teambuilding activities and qualified instructors to guide you every step of the way. Our beautiful wedding venue has recently been completed and can host up to 200 guests, at very competitive rates.Some of the species of game are buffalo, zebra, lechwe, blesbuck, blue- and black wildebeest, springbuck and waterbuck, as well as some meerkat colonies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Everest Guest Farm

Address: Rural Harrismith, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Price Range: $68 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Everest Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Mount Everest Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mount Everest Guest Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Phone and confirm what you are getting before booking”
 of 5 bubbles brykal, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The log cabins and secluded and lovely.”
  • Log Cabin view
  • Tarentaal Log cabin
  • Log Cabin view
 of 5 bubbles WendyvdbSA, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay