We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 499: English reviews
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great venue for weddings - I was there as part of a group just for a meal - it wasn't the best - peoples food didn't turn up and some of those whose did turn up was cold - mine however was on time and excellent!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

While we only used the room for getting ready for a night out and staying the one night ; the room was very good. The room itself was not in the main building but a separate area. The room was clean, tidy and warm. A bath and shower was a great asset to getting ready. Obtained for a good price,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zak_neutron
East Yorkshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a cottage room for a one night stay as a special treat for us rather than an ordinary room. The room was a decent size and was very clean, bed was a good size and very comfortable and we had an excellent night’s sleep. But we were disappointed, the antique roll top bath is not, it’s a modern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexEastYorkshire
Andrew L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AlexEastYorkshire, Thank you for your comments and I'm pleased you were happy with some aspects of the room. The roll top bath is not advertised anywhere as being suitable for 2 people. The bath is located in the room itself and is a little awkward for shelving but I will review this. The shower in the actual bathroom is...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its the little things that were missing that made this stay average. No shelf in the bathroom to put your toothbrush on, instead the toiletries ( what little of them there were) were placed on the back of the toilet cistern... even the glasses! Toiletries were a bar of soap, 1 shower gel and shampoo... no conditioner and hardly enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lin Z
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found the hotel comfortable and satisfactory to our needs. The restaurant (once heating turned on) was well appointed and modern with good menu selection. The restaurant manager gets full marks. We came down for breakfast too late on the Sunday (having mis-read the times). Despite being 15 mins late and him having a coach party of elderly visitors arriving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidgT5744CF
Andrew L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daviddg, Thank you for your review and kind words. I'm pleased we met with your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area. regards, Andrew.

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked for Sunday lunch on 13th Nov to try out this place as we have never visited before but have book for the gala dinner and overnight stay on New Years Eve. There were 3 of us and although the food was ok the service was dreadful. When we were served the main course the waitress left a small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carhcant
Andrew L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carhcant, thank you for your review and nice comments regarding the food. I do apologise for the service issues you encountered and I can assure you this is not our normal standard. Unfortunately several staff were ill on Sunday and the restaurant had several tables that had not booked putting extra pressure on the team. I do hope you...

Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely venue. Lovely on all levels. Lovely food, service and nothing was to much trouble. Rooms for my sisters wedding were stunning. Intimate. Got a better price via web than through the hotel. Only down side...only enough toiletries and towels for one...even though the booking was for two. Easily sorted though. V lovely venue.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rekemp
Andrew L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rekamp, Thank you for your review and lovely comments regarding all aspects of your stay and indeed the wedding. We look forward to you returning in the near future. regards, Andrew.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had my wedding last Wednesday at the West Retford Hotel. From the day we went to view the hotel till the time we checked out after our wedding we had the most amazing experience there. The staff were fault less, the wedding went like clock work. They made all our guests and people involved with our wedding feel so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nottsgirl_13
Andrew L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nottsgirl13, Thank you for the lovely review and such nice comments. I'm pleased to hear that your day went well and met with your expectations. We would love you to visit us again, perhaps for your anniversary? regards, Andrew.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

West Retford Hotel is a beautiful place staff of very friendly the prices are quite reasonable we had a lovely meal there and would like to thank the staff for a great time I would give this 10 out of 10 and would love to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl J
Andrew L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carl, thank you for your review and great comments, including your 10 out of 10 score for us! We would love to see you again in the near future. regards, Andrew.

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Excellent venue, food and wonderful friendly attentive service by all who helped the celebration be happy and memorable for all the right reasons. Accommodation, breakfast and other facilities also excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin M

336 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (246)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Cottage (35)
Viewed
Executive Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Standard Double With Extra Single Bed (35)
Viewed
Standard Twin (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
The Suite (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Retford
4.8 km away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
8.6 km away
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Clumber Park
1,035 reviews
23.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
731 reviews
12.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
10.1 km away
Cherry Park Hall
Cherry Park Hall
#2 of 2 in Blyth
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A superb 18th Century manor house set in over 5 acres of professionally landscaped gardens. Located in the historic market town of Retford, this traditional 63 bedroomed hotel is one of the best in the area.Relax in the comforts of The West Retford Hotel by enjoying a drink in the Chatsworth Bar before dining in the luxurious Orangery Restaurant, with a menu featuring traditional favourites and exciting new dishes.The hotel is ideally situated for business travellers or leisure guests with the A1 and M1 only a short drive away making it perfectly located to explore the local area or further afield.With a newly refurbished ballroom dating back to 1851, with patio doors opening on to a large seating area and six other meeing rooms this hotel is the only choice.Whether it be for a business stay, conference, wedding, function or a leisurely break let us welcome you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel

Address: 24 North Road, Retford DN22 7XG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford
Price Range: $95 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HRS, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Retford
Worksop Best Western
Best Western Worksop
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The cottages are located outside and up steep stairs let reception know if you have any mobility issues. There are no lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles 241linz, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms east side of annexe' overlook gardens. West side might be quieter when if visit coincidences with main building 'parties'”
 of 5 bubbles colinm329, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Dont stay here in the winter”
 of 5 bubbles Shanewilliamfinlay, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Hobbit Cottages, Door may go at anytime with the three bears demanding their warm cereal not be tampered with.”
 of 5 bubbles coltseivers86, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“top floor is probably quieter”
 of 5 bubbles jimcK7167MM, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay