We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Isla Bank House

Save
Share
Isla Bank House Seafield Avenue, Keith AB55 5BS Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 21-07-07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Isla Bank House
Updated 21-07-07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Keith
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Isla Bank House is a family-run B&B in the heart of the Scottish Highlands only a stone’s throw away from some of the world’s oldest and most revered whisky distilleries. Built in the late 1880’s its rooms are spacious and bright offering guests comfortable and elegant accommodation. All our rooms are Kingsize Suites with Private Bathrooms and Garden Views, and all our prices include breakfast. Suites can be configured with an extra single bed for a small supplement. We have a range of impressive reception spaces which can be configured on request for small corporate events, parties or private dining. Keith and the villages in the Moray region are friendly and active places year round with events and attractions that draw visitors from across the globe. To find a specific event or to see what’s on during your stay Click Here for our calendar of events. If you are interested in booking one of our reception spaces for Private Dining or another event then please contact us to discuss.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
16Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
sue h wrote a review Jul. 4
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here for 1 night in the Isla Suite. 1st, the positives. Spotlessly clean room with a very comfortable bed and absolutely delicious home made/grown evening meal in your own private dining room. Warm, friendly welcome. However, we were disappointed that the Isla Bank is marketed and priced as "luxury". From our experience, we would expect more for the price we paid. NO toiletries in the bathroom. Even basic B & Bs provide toiletries. The room was bare... No tissues, no promised free gift, no bathrobes (unless you paid extra), just no niceities at all. You were really just paying for a largish room with a large bathroom and a comfy bed. Breakfast was also disappointing in that we did not get any fresh orange juice or the Earl Grey tea we ordered. But most surprising of all.... No toast or preserves (just a single buttered slice of toast served with the cooked breakfast). We have had far more at far less expensive B & Bs, such as fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt pastries etc.... But not even a rack of toast at the Isla Bank. Nor were we given the opportunity to ask for it. We both felt that we were paying for ongoing renovations, rather than a luxury experience. Toast & toiletries for £115, surely not a big ask?
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Kimber, General Manager at Isla Bank House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Sue, Thank you for your feedback and for giving us the opportunity to reply. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your large, clean, comfortable bedroom and “absolutely delicious” evening meal but deeply sorry that you were disappointed with other aspects of your stay at Isla Bank House. Throughout the pandemic we have complied with the Government guidelines for hospitality. In line with those guidelines, we removed from our suites the “Niceties” you refer to and our experience, throughout the last year of Covid is that guests bring with them their own toiletries, gowns and even, on occasion towels as a precaution. However, at check-in we usually ask guests if they need anything and provide it without charging extra. I’m sorry that we forgot to do so on this occasion. After reviewing your breakfast order, I can confirm that you received everything you chose from our menu when you ordered it two months ago. In retrospect we should have checked that you didn’t want to change anything, but when we returned to your table after serving other guests you had already left unexpectedly. Unfortunately, our intention to provide you with free drinks with your evening meal as a thank you for transferring your booking from earlier in the year was derailed when you ordered tap water, and we didn’t realise that this had happened until it was too late. Looking back, we are disappointed that you didn’t communicate your feelings to us when you were here, which would have given us an opportunity to redress any of your issues and improve your experience.
Read more
Stay780642 wrote a review Nov. 2020
1 contribution
We have just spent three days staying at Isla Bank House, we needed a short relaxing break not too far from home and chose to stay at Nick and Vena’s house, a large Victorian house which they have recently very tastefully renovated and have three large bedrooms each with there own separate lounges. Because of COVID 19 we had concerns of being able to dine out in the evenings, this was resolved as Isla Bank House offer evening meals, nothing extravagant but good home cooking, large portions with home grown vegetables, yum, yum and very reasonably priced too. So if you are looking for a relaxing peaceful and comfortable stay in a lovingly restored period house with attentive and caring host/owners then you have found somewhere special, needless to say we will be back again next year, loved our stay and didn’t want to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: They are all lovely whichever one you choose
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Vena Raffle, Owner at Isla Bank House
Responded Nov. 6, 2020
Nothing makes us happier and more fulfilled as hosts than to see guests relax and de-stress while they are with us. We introduced evening meals because so often guests just wanted to stay in and relax. The lounges, log fires and privacy create a perfect space for that on top of beautiful bedroom suites. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you are welcome anytime 😊
Read more
Jenny E wrote a review Oct. 2020
14 contributions10 helpful votes
Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights in October. We wanted to escape and relax for a few days given all that is going on with the world at the moment. Our hosts Vena and Nick were incredibly friendly and quickly made us feel at home. Our room (which was the tower suit) was beautiful and spacious and most importantly had a very comfortable bed! We were then shown to our private living room and dining room (which was my highlight of the trip!) Both the dinner and breakfasts we were given were home cooked and hearty which is great before or after a long day of walking! We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and did not want to leave! We will most definitely be returning in the future! I can’t thank Vena and Nick enough for their fantastic hospitality!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Vena Raffle, Owner at Isla Bank House
Responded Oct. 15, 2020
Thank you for supporting us so generously. And for this lovely review. When we designed the lounges we had in mind that guests would feel 'at home' even in these covid times. It makes it all worthwhile to see guests really relax and enjoy themselves. We look forward to your next visit and hope you can stay longer next time.
Read more
BikesAndTrains15 wrote a review Oct. 2020
3 contributions
We can’t say enough good things about Vena, Nick, or our stay at the Isla Bank House. We appreciated Nick’s communication during the check-in process and the care they took to ensure the covid safety of everyone involved. In fact, we were impressed throughout how they balanced safety with making us feel welcomed and comfortable. We rode our bicycles in from Cullen and had planned to check in and then head back out to explore Keith. After all, the B&B is directly across the street from Strathisla distillery and a five-minute walk from Keith’s city centre. The beauty of the building, the secluded peacefulness of the grounds, and Vena’s hospitality, however, quickly changed our plans. The wood-burning fireplace in our own private lounge created an environment so comfortable we couldn’t leave. And then Vena brought us wine. We waited to explore Keith until we checked out. We opted for dinner at the Isla Bank House, and like everything else, it greatly exceeded our high expectations. While the dishes were simple (we went with the cottage pie), the quality of the ingredients and Nick’s culinary skills made both dinner and breakfast first rate. Most of the ingredients are from their own garden, and you can taste the difference made by home-grown vegetables. Our room was clean, comfortable, and huge. After relaxing by the fire all evening and eating far too much at dinner, we had an excellent night’s rest and, over breakfast, were trying to figure out how soon we could get back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Vena Raffle, Owner at Isla Bank House
Responded Oct. 13, 2020
Thank you. Safety is so important just now but so is hospitality. We are pleased to have got the balance right. We loved having you here so please do come back soon.
Read more
Sharon S wrote a review Sep. 2020
Bathgate, United Kingdom3 contributions
An absolute pleasure to stay here. The hosts were wonderful and couldnt do enough to make sure we had a great experience. The whole vibe of the house is relaxing and indulgent, from the beautiful gardens, to the lovely and authentic suite and of course our own sitting room where we relaxed in front of a log fire! Within easy walking distance to Keith and Chivas Distillary (the oldest working one in Scotland) and a 10 min drive to the quaint town of Cullen (with a beach to die for) this is the place to be you wont find a better place to stay. You can see this is a real labour of love for the owners. Our first stay but definitely wont be our last.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Vena Raffle, Owner at Isla Bank House
Responded Oct. 13, 2020
Thank you for this lovely review. In safer times I think I might have spend the whole evening with you! Tale care of yourselves and hurry back soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$148 - US$235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandMorayKeith
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Isla Bank House
Which popular attractions are close to Isla Bank House?
Nearby attractions include Mither Tongue (0.6 km), The Ploo (0.9 km), and Dogstar Cards (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Isla Bank House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Isla Bank House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Isla Bank House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Isla Bank House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Boogie Woogie, Square Roots, and The Deli Shop.
Is Isla Bank House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Keith.
Are there any historical sites close to Isla Bank House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Weeping Willow Tree (14.0 km) and Dufftown Clock Tower (15.4 km).