Hotel Vigía
playa al atardecer
Traveller (7470)
Panorama at the Sol Cayo Guillermo
360
Panoramas (53)
Room & Suite (1137)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#2 of 2 all-inclusives in Cayo Guillermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Four star all inclusive resort with 268 rooms. Located in Cayo Guillermo, Cuba, in one of the most beautiful beaches, in the archipelago Jardines del Rey, near Playa Pilar and near one of the most beautiful coral reefs in the world. Known for its romantic and lush tropical vegetation. Recommended for families, couples, weddings and honeymoons. 268 Rooms: 135 standard, 96 standard ocean view, 37 superior standard, 3 dining restaurants (buffet), 4 bars. An incredible natural paradise.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Massage
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

65200 Cuba
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 37 out of 100
37
Cayo Coco Airport
36.5 km
See all flights
4,771Reviews561Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,919
  • 1,489
  • 679
  • 388
  • 296
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ralph J wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First I'll write the positive side of the resort .Nice and very quiet resort not to many people with one of the nicest beaches food was good. Our room was clean and everything worked .Negative side of the resort is lots of nails that stick out from the dock that is around the pool area and the new one that goes to the beach also i found a rock in my rice i was lucky that i did not break my tooth it was bigger than single rice. The day before we left the resort someone stole my wife's italian dress that she bought in Europe they did the reading from our room and they told us that there was 2 people that entered our room one of them was the guy that delivers the water bottle to our room and he never left any water that day. The other person who was in our room was the maid and we gave her so much clothes 2 days before we left. We just hope it wasn't her so if you go there just wach your belongings. It seems that they are trying to renovate it but the quality is not there but everything is clean. We did not get any water for 3 days but we went to customer service and they gave us one. Some people complain about the beach towels that they didn't have any but we took it and kept it for the whole week. So if you go there pack it with you just in case. Of you want peace and quiet i think it's a good place to go to. I'm hoping that they are going to fix the problems that i described. I've been there 20 years ago and it was so much better than it is right now . That's why im hoping that they are going to fix it the way it was. I hope it was helpful for someone who's going there and they are going to have positive memories from there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VentasSolGuillermo, Director Comercial at Hotel Vigía
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Dear 751ralphj, Thank you for sharing your experience in this important website, we're glad reading about your second visit and taking note regarding what you have mentioned, particulary the incident with your wife's dress. Our staff is working here after a very hard process of selection all they are trusted people, we never receive this complain from our clients because they and their belongins are safe here. Please, do not wait another 20 years for coming back, it would be a pleasure to assist you as antes special friend. Best regards, Madelin Carrion Nieves Sales Manager Hotel Sol Cayo Guillermo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
polinka s wrote a review Mar 2020
Toronto, Canada5 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The beach is amazing , the hotel very average the food dissapointing, they charged us $14 cuc for the safety box, 1 cuc for wifi 1 hour usage, they ran out of white wine and if you wanted rose you would have to pay for it. I get it every body has to hussle but come on. Any way the beach and water made my vacation great and just remember this area is more windy .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VentasSolGuillermo, Director Comercial at Hotel Vigía
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Dear Paulinkasuperova, We really appreciate you have taken part of your time to post this review on tripadvisor, we enjoy having feedback from our clients. We can see you did not have information about services no incluye de in the resort, we really sorry because that information is public, solo our clients know in advance what they will receive. If you decide to come back we will have some atentions as repeat client. Thank you for your compliments about the beach. I hope to see you one more time. With warmest regards, Madelin Carrion Nieves Sales Manager Hotel Sol Cayo Guillermo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark S wrote a review Feb 2020
Hamilton, Canada4 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Four of us visited this resort on a day pass. We were all very pleased with what we saw and would return to this resort for an entire week.
This is a very simple resort and probably one of the oldest in the area. It's this simplicity that would bring us back. As soon as we stepped on this property we felt a comfort we didn't feel at other resorts. The bartender in the main lobby had time to pay attention to you and not just make you a drink ASAP so they can move onto the next desk. You could tell he actually enjoyed the opportunity to have conversation with guests.
The resort is in the process of renovating its rooms so when booking try to request a new updated accommodation. To assist with your requests try to reach out to Madelin. She is the resorts customer service rep and truly will do anything possible to make your stay the best possible. I could provide he contact info if requested. It is so nice to have a rep that actual cares about the people at her resort.
Like most beaches in Cayo Coco the beach is amazing :) You can sit, relax and watch the kite surfing. There is a pier where you can fish from and Pilar beach is only minutes away. Take a few seconds to google Pilar beach, it is a must to go to.
If you want sun a beautiful beach and a family environment where there is no rat race for buffets this is where you need to stay.

Cheers!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VentasSolGuillermo, Director Comercial at Hotel Vigía
Responded Mar 17, 2020
My dear Marx S, What can I say? Just a little correcction: I'm working on sales and is my job take care from clients. Thank you very much for taking your time and posting this so nice review. I know you felt the solo of the resort. Thank you for coming and of course it will be a pleasure If, you decide to come, I will be waiting! Cheers!!! Madelin Carrion Nieves Sales Manager Hotel Sol Cayo Guillermo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam N wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed first 2 weeks of March, 2020, I can tell you there's so many issues in this resort, don't want to beat them up too much under the current circumstances (coronavirus ) rooms are below average but lots of hot water & pressure, pool area good (hardly any shade), beach is the best thing & made us feel that we got something good out of the resort although the old huts were rotting & falling apart. We had at least 4 very windy days that customers couldn't stay on the beach but great for wind surfing.
Food was mostly horrible, honestly wouldn't even feed it to my dog. Breakfast was only down to Leo's omelet, lunch & dinner were mostly the same food warmed up over & over until it tastes rancid. Sunwing should set standards with these resorts if they want to continue working with them as most peole looked very disappointed. Carlos who is Sunwing's rep was very helpful, customer sevice at the resort was great & do their best to please & make the customers happy.
Resort has good potential but staff needs more training especially the buffet restaurant, no sense of cleanliness when handling plates, utensils...etc
Lots of time, resort staff line up in the buffet with the customers to get their food before they run out (never seen this in tens of resorts we've been to) usually they eat together before they shut the doors. Restaurant staff need to know basic English to be able to communicate, you also feel the special treatment to Spanish speaking customers overall. You feel in general there is no supervision in the resort, staff gathering together talking, on their phones & sometimes smoking (even saw the house keeper smoking beside her towel cart!! Theater bar is average, not many cocktail options. Several time, mostly at night, they claim they don't have any cocktails to provide or the only mixer they have is not working!! Lots of BS!! Management should be watching & supervising staff, especially like a guy 'Omar', hardly see him working, always talking to other staff, on his phone or going to the restaurant to get food.
There's a sense that some of the staff are fed up & don't care anymore.
Did not mean to be harsh but I had to give our honest opinion, hoping that the resort improves & give viewers an idea of what to expect.
Sam & Lucy
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We preferred the second floor room option.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
suzqls wrote a review Feb 2020
Paris, Canada4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just got back from a winter get away with a friend from work. This was my second time at this resort and my friends first visit. To start the staff here is the best I have ever experienced in all my trips to Cuba. They truely go above and beyond to make your stay incredible. The food was plentiful and the variety was good. Staff at the buffet were incredible I wish I could remember the girls names who looked after us but they were amazing. Some names to mention are Marbelys and Hector! So awesome and so entertaining and professional at the same time. This resort is older but don't let that stop you from booking,they are working very hard to update rooms. Our room 824 was really clean and had a view of the ocean from the top floor balcony. The beach in front of the resort is one of my favorites in Cuba and you never have trouble finding a chair to sit. The pool is well looked after and the kids that were there looked like they were enjoying it. All in all I give this resort and it's staff a five star!!! Hope to visit and see you all soon!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ManuelRD-SCG, General Manager at Hotel Vigía
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Dear Suzqls, Thank you very much for have taking time to write your great review. So good to read you have enjoyed your holidays and this is the best you have ever experienced in all your trips to Cuba! We will be waiting your returning to offer you another amazing holidays. See you soon! With warmest regards, Manuel Rey Duro General Manager Hotel Sol Cayo Guillermo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VivaCubaToronto wrote a review Jan 2023
Lindsay, Canada42 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am so happy to finally have this beautiful resort up and running again. My family have stayed at this resort for almost 20 years until the hurricane as well as covid hit. It has been greatly missed.

As soon as you walk through the lobby you instantly see the pool and the that gorgeous teal water! That view never gets old. I love the style of the rooms being villas and making the resort feel more home rather then then big huge buildings! Everything is within walking distance. The beach is one of the best l have ever seen with the whitest sands and clear blue waters. One thing l love is how safe it is for people with small child! That’s one of the reasons it has kept me coming back for so many years.

Now for the entertainment staff. If you have been there years ago or recently then you will know PINO. I am mean you can’t miss him. He is a ball of energy and has the best sense of humour. He totally will make your trip and you will be smiling ear to ear. He is amazing at what he does!

There is just coming about this resort that makes you want to come back. I say it feels like home away from home. Can’t wait to go back ♥️
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy C wrote a review Feb 2020
Blackpool, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been to Cuba 5 times now and always to Sol Cayo Guillermo. The first time i went was 2002. There were only 4 hotels on the island and Guillermo had the best beach I've ever seen, probably only matched by Pilar Beach at the other end of the island.
On my last visit, the best way to describe my reaction was 'shocked and disappointed'. Why? Who ever it was that decided to completely wreck the beach in front of the hotel should hang their head in shame. How to wreck a natural wonder!
And the high rise hotel next to Pilar Beach must have Ernest Hemingway turning in his grave.
Saying all this though, if you've never been to Cuba before, go. Some of the most amazing people I have ever met. It was like going back to meet old friends rather than a holiday and i had the privilege to stay with Carlos and his family in Ciego De Avila and to see some the real Cuba.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexandra wrote a review Mar 2020
Montreal, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Sol Cayo Guillermo for 2 weeks in Feb/Mar 2020. We travelled with 5 year old twins.

Resort:
The resort is so nicely spread out that all rooms are somewhat near the ocean. The landscape is gorgeous, clean, so pleasant to just walk around the resort. Can basically see the ocean from everywhere on the resort.

Rooms:
Clean and very spacious. A/C worked well. Shower had good pressure and lots of hot water.

Staff:
Excellent, friendly. Lots of staff everywhere.

Shows:
Wowwww, incredible groups of performers from around Cuba.

Food:
Plenty of food, good variety, lots of fruits, juices.

The resort has been making incredible successful efforts to please the guests.
This resort is a gem.
Highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VentasSolGuillermo, Director Comercial at Hotel Vigía
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Dear Alexandra 111-222, Firstly we want to thank for taking your time and posting this so nice review in this important website. We're very glad reading about your good experience in our resort, with your final recomendation to visit Sol Cayo Guillermo. Of course we work for our client's satisfaction and we're always pround when we meeting the goal. Please Alexandra, keep in touch until your next visit, and let us to know your preferences in advance. Best regards, Madelin Carrion Nieves Sales Manager Hotel Sol Cayo Guillermo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon J wrote a review May 2024
Toronto, Canada11 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a tired rundown hotel in need of extensive renovations. The postive is the beach, and some of the staff.
Booked a week based on the positive glowing reviews and pictures on the facebook page. Paid upgrade for king bed oceanview and no smoking
At check in we had a room assigned to us on paperwork but clerk took back keys and said sorry no hot water there. Put in room 712, right behind theater., no oceanview . Noisy all day til 2 am, adjoining door/wall so thin could hear everything from other room. Door dead bolt did not work, doorframe cracked could see light around door, no working safe, no warm water, sliding door took two of us to open, A.C. broke and maintenace fixed by sqeezing and twisting outside wires. Asked for quieter area please. 611 , three double beds, quieter, watermains being dug up so no water at move, once in room, discovered mouse poop in all 3 drawers, ac broke, no working safe, main door push to shut but bolt did not align, no warm water once water turned on, patio area covered in work debris etc. Moved to 1007, oceanview, king bed, beautiful view if you kept eyes up and out cause downward view was paint scrappings, garbage. No warm water still, no working safes, shower mosaic floor moldy, hand held showerhead fell on my husbands head and shower tap came off in his hand. Had to wait in room , 2 hours, while they repaired, with a tub fixture. Staircase railings missing,
One buffet, had one working a.c unit so was like a sauna, flies on tables and food, plates were wet, dirty, had to pick through. They did have eggs. 9th trip to Cuba so aware of food. Drinks, showed pictures of fancy drinks, not when we were there. They ran out of beer at theatre bar. We basically drank water for 4 days,
The kids pool was drained, with lights and exposed wires laying on bottom, but had lounge chairs around it. No banos poolside, there is one attaced to main lobby facing pool but ladies doors dont close. Watched a local guest pull her kids pants down to urinate beside towel hut in plain view. And several men spitting on pool deck.
The beach is the best and where we stayed. Only problem there if you go up for lunch they remove the chairs

Obviously not recommending this place, after 5 nights we moved to another hotel
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book eleswhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fisherman B wrote a review Feb 2020
10 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We returned to Sol Cayo Guillermo last March. The hotel looked pretty much the same as 2 years ago, even though they had the hurricane the previous year. We had some minor issues with our room. The safe was missing and the tv didn’t work all week. The staff tried their best but the weather was great so we didn’t really miss the tv. And they found a safe after a few days. Every else was as I remembered. I prefer the environment here that’s why I keep coming back. The only issue I noticed was that there were staff from the resort staying in the room next to us. They would hang child’s clothing out to dry all over the furniture every day. At night there would be 2-4 people outside drinking and smoking. They would always leave there empty bottles and cigarettes all over the ground. I don’t mean to sound like a snob, but it was disturbing.
We are returning again this March with my Son and his friend. We can’t wait.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle W wrote a tip Jun 17
9 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"SAVE YOUR MONEY AND GO ELSEWHERE. May be more suited for the locals or any spanish-speaking traveller"
Read full review
Sharon J wrote a tip May 2024
Toronto, Canada11 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book eleswhere"
Read full review
D R wrote a tip May 2024
28 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You bring your own money. Small denominations are appreciated. They’re amazing people. You will have an amazing time, treated like family 💜"
Read full review
Alan Bradford wrote a tip Apr 2024
Oakville, Canada8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask and it shall be done"
Read full review
Sam N wrote a tip Mar 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"We preferred the second floor room option."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cayo Guillermo area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
sol cayo guillermo hotel cayo guillermo, sol hotel cayo guillermo, cayo guillermo sol hotel, sol cayo guillermo cuba
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaCiego de Avila ProvinceJardines del Rey ArchipelagoCayo Guillermo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
268
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Vigía - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Vigía
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Vigía?
Nearby attractions include Playa Pilar (1.3 km), Cayo Guillermo (1.9 km), and Delfinario en Cayo Santa Maria (2.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Vigía?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Vigía?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Vigía?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Vigía?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ranchon Cuba Libre, Playa Pilar, and Lobster grill bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Vigía?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hotel Vigía have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Vigía offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Vigía have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Vigía offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Vigía have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Hotel Vigía accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Cayo Guillermo HotelsCayo Guillermo Hotel DealsHotels near Hotel Vigía
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars