We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Melia Cayo Guillermo

Booking.comUS$224*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Melia Cayo Guillermo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,663: English reviews
derby
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall we had a very good holiday , the wedding and the fact we had our grandson with us was the main factor . I cant see how this hotel has a 5 star rating 3 star in truth. The rooms are very tired and in need of upgrade, cold showers are not a favourite of mine either. The reception...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank barmybill
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello barmybill: Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We will work to make the hotel better for everyone else mainly the whole infrastructure, but to keep us in a good position in the area. We will improve the suggestions that leave us, to fulfill your expectations. We hope to return to the best in the future. Best regards.

wales u.k.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my third visit to this hotel and in my opinion i think the standards are dropping in some areas the beach entertainment staff were very rude ohh unless you was a young girl or single woman ??? they were playing loud music on the beach which i had never experienced before at this hotel, and when asked politely...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bedlington
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello bedlington: Thank you for your comments and suggestions, we will improve it so that you have no complaints regarding our service, but I have to mention that the hotel was full when you were with us, so the orders in the bars can be delayed a little, it is valid to say that the hotel works in its constant...

Longueuil
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel service, well they don't bother asking if we enjoyed our stay, they don't care. Very cold at reception. The only persons friendly are boat guys and Nayali and Ranchon employee. The beach need more shade and shell hurt your feet. Food well always the same, no orange juice for breakfast no yogourt either. We go to another hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kate g
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello kate g: Thank you for your comments, and we regret that you neglect to go to another hotel, but I have to refute you with all due respect; Because the hotel has not lacked yogurt or orange juice, so it is something that we disagree, our service is also one of the best of the key, something that we...

swadlincote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this trip through Thomas Cook and despite their poor service the hotel itself was lovely. The staff were warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. I had emailed before arrival to advise my husband had had a stroke 9 weeks before we traveled. I asked for a quiet room on the ground floor. They met our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wooclarke
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello wooclarke: Thank you for your comments, it is a pleasure to know that the hotel was to your liking, we hope you will visit us in the next few years to provide the service you deserve, for the most appreciated improvements we are making now! We are waiting for you !!! Best regards.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly, I agree with all the recent reviews that score this hotel 3 or less, and despite the reasons below we had a good holiday.Sadly the list of negatives is long, and we truly weren't there to pick fault...please read my other reviews to put this in context. The positives... Grounds well maintained, but was this because they knew the...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank NorthwestDeputyBob
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello NorthwestDeputyBob: Thank you for your comment, and we regret that our hotel was not to your liking, we take your recommendations and we will work to positively influence the improvements of these .. Regarding your comments on the wine, we do not agree with your opinion because we do not have drinks shortages in the hotel, first because the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just got back on april 18th and I have never written a review but i just had too after this experience Ok the place is nice grounds and room wise ... nothing special needs some love like most of the older resorts in cuba food at beach and snack bar is good , buffet is good , a la cartes...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Troy B
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello Troy B: Thank you for your comment, we are pleased to know that in most of the stay was pleased, so I think we deserved at least a 3 out of 5 and 1 out of 5 as we scored, but likewise thank you for the gesture and, we are in The best disposition to expel you dissatisfactions, we...

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my fifth stay . Gone are the welcoming Canadian flags out front . Gone are the experienced , friendly , bar staff . Gone are some premium bar brands including mixes like tonic water . Gone are the peacocks . Gone are the boardwalk benches and water cabanas . Gone is the Hemingway beach arbour and the soft...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank awkat
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello awkat: Things have gone, true, but others have arrived, we have matured as a hotel, we have learned to attend and deal better with our customers. In the same way we work to reform what is no longer. We can not dream of the past, we must make new conquests for the future, because all time changes, all future...

Hamilton, Ontario
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was a bit disappointed with this Melia. Have always been a fan. Biggest complaint was lack of beach chairs & palapas. Not nearly enough. Had to get up at 6 a.m. to put towels on our chairs or be left with laying on the sand in the sun. That isn't right. I'm on vacation. We live at the beach all...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank susankZ3360MM
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello susankZ3360MM: Thanks for your comments, we will keep them in mind for improvement. We invite you to come back again to appreciate the improvements for yourself, or you can follow our pages in other social networks where we will be posting the images of the renovations. see you soon!!! Best regards.

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I been in this hotel with my wife and 2 child, the hotel is very old, internet is slow but the beach is so nice!!! The rooms are big but needs renews. The food is good especially in the Italian restaurant but you have to book it in advance! The front desk staff don't care to nothing and also don't...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cosma L
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello Cosma L: We appreciate your comments, and we regret that your experience has not been as pleasant as expected for a five star hotel, in any case. I have to say that the internet in Cuba is slow in any place, that is not something that should claim the hotel, the hotel only facilitates the comfort, the proximity but...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Stayed at this resort for two weeks in March of this year. Now for the review. POSOTIVE POINTS Lovely beach. Nice gardens (well maintained). Great weather. Most of the staff were good. Wife had a massage (fantastic) NEGATIVE POINTS. Hotel requires a complete up grade (if not demolish it and start again). Mattresses and furniture require taking out and burning...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Jack K
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello Jack K. Thank you for your comment, we respect you because you have the right to express what you feel, but we disagree, because the description you make of a chaotic hotel is not true. We have to recognize that we need improvements, in which we are already working as you could appreciate while you were with us. It...

6,925 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6588)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1970)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (998)
Viewed
Room/Suite (387)
Viewed
Dining (369)
Viewed
Bathroom (72)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (41)
Viewed
View from Room (192)
Viewed
2:24
Videos (11)
Viewed
Other (2470)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (319)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Pool (66)
Viewed
Premium Room (41)
Viewed
Dining (72)
Viewed
The Hotel (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
20.6 km away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,076 reviews
20.9 km away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
31.1 km away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Sol Cayo Guillermo
#4 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,909 reviews
31.1 km away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,944 reviews
30.7 km away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Meliá Cayo Guillermo is located one of the most beautiful and white-sandy beaches with more than 1300 palm trees, and swept by very transparent waters. The area was an inspiration for Ernest Hemingway, and fishing the great blue river, always on his Pilar Yacht, he created part of his work. The hotel is perfect for couples and families but also for diving, fishing. We also organize the wedding of your dreams in this paradise. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Guillermo

Address: Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Price Range: $168 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Cayo Guillermo 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Cayo Guillermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Melia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Cayo Guillermo staff and other travellers.
273 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago

See all questions (273)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Cayo Guillermo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade to a bungalow in area 3000. Or a room on the second floor area 1200.”
431VICKIJ, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“To me it is always a personal experience ! Most have their own requests !”
happyface0, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose higher floors .”
susan0248, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“most of the rooms are well situated but the ones above the lobby bar are noisy”
barmybill, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“You get an assigned room , like a third floor room over the disco and theatre , even if you ask and pay for an ocean view room,”
awkat, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$224* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$224
Cancelon
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates