We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tannochbrae Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dufftown
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Tannochbrae Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tannochbrae Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 87: English reviews
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2010

My wife and I happened upon Tannochbrae after touring the high country. We didn't know where or if we would find accomodations upon arrival in Dufftown but were surprised and delighted to find this place. Pricey yes but we found our stay worth it. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable as was the whole house. Allan was gracious and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ScottFinney
whiskycaptital, Owner at Tannochbrae Guest House, responded to this review

Alan and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Tannochbrae and we hope that you will come back to see us again. Thank you. Susiex More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Myself and my family were part of a group of 11 people who had the misfortune to choose this B & B to stay in for a wedding. From the moment the first guests arrived they encountered problems- specifically with Allan, the owner. We were blamed for a mix-up with the number of rooms booked, however we had paid a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ginger97
whiskycaptital, Owner at Tannochbrae Guest House, responded to this review

This party booked all the rooms in October 2090 and on arrival they said they did not want all the rooms - we did not charge for this cancellation.(our cancellation policy is on all our correspondence and is in line with Visit Scotland) They were extremely rude to our staff and very difficult and unpleasant customers at breakfast in the... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I recently stayed in the Tannochbrae Guest house, Dufftown, from 6th to 8th July, for a wedding of a close friend. We had booked the whole guest house and I had a single room and was surprised to see that there was no wardrobe in the very small room. I was curtly told by the proprietor that I could hang... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank jenny1212
whiskycaptital, Owner at Tannochbrae Guest House, responded to this review

This lady was with a party that booked all the rooms in October 2009 and on arrival they said they did not want all the rooms - we did not charge for this cancellation.(our cancellation policy is on all our correspondence and is in line with Visit Scotland) They were extremely rude to our staff and very difficult and unpleasant... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

A group of 11 of us stayed here for my cousin's wedding. Never again. From the off, we knew there were going to be problems as the owner's attitude was not welcoming at all and we were told we were mucking them about re a mix-up with the number of rooms booked. We were basically accused of costing them business... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Boo_booEdinburgh
whiskycaptital, Owner at Tannochbrae Guest House, responded to this review

This party booked all the rooms in October 2090 and on arrival they said they did not want all the rooms - we did not charge for this cancellation.(our cancellation policy is on all our correspondence and is in line with Visit Scotland) They were extremely rude to our staff and very difficult and unpleasant customers at breakfast in the... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Just returned from the worst stay in a guest house. Mix up of rooms on arrival, not a good start! No wardrobe in Superior Double. Told to hang clothes on hooks on the back of the door. Hot water pressure nil. Problems over breakfast which resulted in the owner confronting us by shounting that "he had been pulled out of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank snapper02
whiskycaptital, Owner at Tannochbrae Guest House, responded to this review

This party booked all the rooms in October 2090 and on arrival they said they did not want all the rooms - we did not charge for this cancellation.(our cancellation policy is on all our correspondence and is in line with Visit Scotland) They were extremely rude to our staff and very difficult and unpleasant customers at breakfast in the... More 

Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We have just returned from the worst weekend break we have ever had! We were in a party of 9 who stayed at Tannochbrae. The location and cleanliness of the rooms are to the standard you would expect, however there is a very musty smell throughout the rooms and there is also a distinct lack of wardrobes in some of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Flamingwoo
whiskycaptital, Owner at Tannochbrae Guest House, responded to this review

This party booked all the rooms in October 2090 and on arrival they said they did not want all the rooms - we did not charge for this cancellation.(our cancellation policy is on all our correspondence and is in line with Visit Scotland) They were extremely rude to our staff and very difficult and unpleasant customers at breakfast in the... More 

Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We travelled through the UK taking a chance on acquiring a B&B along the way. One was recommended to us when we arrived in Dufftown but it was full. The owner of that establishment recommended Tannochbrae to us. We can't thank him enough for doing so as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Alan was very friendly and accommodating and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wincikabi
Coral Springs Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Wonderfull owners.Great restaurant and magnificent whiskey bar!! Lots of single malts for those interested.

Helpful?
1 Thank jce031053
Kansas City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We had a good experience here, but to be honest, we were not in the room very much (pretty typical for travelers). The room was clean, but I did feel a bit nickel-and-dimed. Five pounds per day for the internet hookup, which didn't work, so they did not charge us. Here's breakfast, but if you want a hot breakfast, that... More 

Helpful?
Thank BuilderTraveler
Malta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

My husband and I and our 2 teenage sons stayed there in August 09. Upon arrival we were told in no uncertain terms that the restaurant was fully booked, both for that evening and the next. The owner them proceeded to make a fuss that the boys, being aged just 13 and 14, could not sleep in a room on... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank MaltaFab4

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dufftown
10.5 km away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
112 reviews
6.2 km away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
520 reviews
6.8 km away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Castleview Bed & Breakfast
0.3 km away
Dullan Brae Accommodation
Dullan Brae Accommodation
#4 of 18 in Dufftown
36 reviews
0.3 km away
Conval House Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Tannochbrae Guest House

Address: 22 Fife Street | Banffshire, Dufftown AB55 4AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Dufftown
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Tannochbrae Guest House Dufftown, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tannochbrae Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wifi only worked in rooms at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles 296michaelh296, 15 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Make a reservation in advance if possible, there are not many opportunities to stay in Dufftown. Glenfiddich is next door so it is a good place to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 871sabrinam, 22 Jun 2014 | Read review
“The bigger room on the upper floor is very spacious and highly recommended.”
 of 5 bubbles EyalMC, 16 Sep 2013 | Read review
“The room at the top of the stairs to the left was amazing. Lots of room and privacy and extremely quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles JeffreyK58, 16 Oct 2012 | Read review
“It's a very quiet town, so even though our room faced the street we slept well.”
 of 5 bubbles TravelinMad, 16 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5