We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Bay Horse Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Bay Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 324: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The best value for money I have had in many a year,food and staff brilliant...good area for visiting local attractions weather was great durham Christmas market and Fenwick window in Newcastle well worth visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy M
KayElkins, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review hope you have a lovely christmas Kay

Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the bay horse last week to attended a family funeral. The funeral was scheduled for the previous week and I booked through Hotels.com. Unfortunately the coroner postponed the service but because of difficulty with contacting them either by the website or phone they charged me! When it was rearranged the week later I went direct to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank legless50
Bay Horse Inn B, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We are glad we could cater to your needs Kay

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival we were welcomed and asked if we needed anything. Having a baby we need full milk and asked if they had any. The lady said they normally used semi skimmed milk but they'd get some in for us (we arrived in the evening and it was there in the morning). We had a lovely evening meal with very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
Bay Horse Inn B, . at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing in the future. :)

Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the cost of the stay,£30.00 per room bed and breakfast,it must be one of the best value stays we have ever had. The bedroom was spotless,central heating,very comfortable bed.Well appointed bathroom,plenty of hot water,TV and kettle. Food was well presented and prepared,large portions,not a massive menue,but for the size and location of the hotel(Brandon is a Village) quite adequate.The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian r
Bay Horse Inn B, . at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we do try and pride ourselves on excellent service throughout. hopefully see you again in the near future :)

Valencia, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights at the Bay Horse Inn. It was fantastic value for money, and really comfortable and warm. If you want to avoid staying in the centre of Durham, and you have a car to get into town, this is a great place to stay. The landlady was very hospitable, the breakfast was good, and the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Visitors_Spain
Bay Horse Inn B, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay Kay

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointing visit LAST year under the old management..... Absolutely fantastic this time (11-12th Nov '16). Staff are very friendly with a great sense of humour and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms have been redecorated and are still being improved. The rooms are luke warm on arrival but electric heaters are provided so you can heat your room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
Bay Horse Inn B, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review look forward to seeing you again soon Kay

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned today from a family weekend get together for an 18th birthday. We had 4 rooms at the Bay Horse. We saw a vast improvement since our last stay - we understand the bathrooms are still to be updated - and send our thanks to the lovely new landlady who treated the family as her friends. We had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
Bay Horse Inn B, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the 18th Birthday Party (and yes a spare key is getting cut today ) Kay

durham
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We had a great Sunday lunch at the Bayhorse , pre lunch drinks in the refurbished lounge bar was a great start to our meal , we all had 2 courses ( thankfully we did nt order 3 as the portions were large to say the least) . just to say we will definitely be back at the price its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank farnley24
Bay Horse Inn B, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch and hope to see you at The Bay Horse again soon Kay

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We stayed mid week whilst visiting our son at Durham University. The venue is located about 10 minute drive outside the city, very easy drive and lovely quiet location. The room was extremely spacious with two single beds and a large shower room/toilet. The only slight issue we had was the heating...the radiator came on and went off...and stayed off!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevinmitson
KayElkins, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again if you are ever in the area Kay

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Despite the negative reviews we enjoyed our 3 night stay. Room warm with an additional heater if needed. Lovely clean bedding and towels. Kay the Manageress very welcoming. Husbands cooked breakfast superb. Good value for money and will definitely stay again when visiting the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liz T
KayElkins, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again Kay

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
5.0 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
5.0 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
3.9 km away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham
0.4 km away
High View Guest House
High View Guest House
#2 of 2 in Brandon
27 reviews
7.9 km away
Moor End Guest House
Moor End Guest House
#2 of 40 in Durham
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Inn

Address: 8 Brandon Village, Brandon, Durham DH7 8ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham > Brandon
Price Range: $48 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bay Horse Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Bay Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bay Horse Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bay Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are across the car park,there are 10 bedrooms.Any one I would think.”
 of 5 bubbles B3280TDianr, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in room 10”
 of 5 bubbles jimm48, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are chalet style around a courtyard with parking at your door.”
 of 5 bubbles lovebug, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Book early to avoid disappointment”
 of 5 bubbles RTWPocklington, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed very good”
 of 5 bubbles Pawstar, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay