We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 168: English reviews
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Pre warning, a long post but please read before you decide to spend your money as this is a true insight to this 'winter wonderland'!! Although the photos look good, don't be fooled. We spent the worst part of £3.5k for a 2 night break for 2 adults and 2 children and it was the worst holiday we've had. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daralincoln
Sutton Coldfield
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel as part of Thomson Holidays. To sum it up - we have had an amazing time - however, we do have some slight issues.... We found the resort, the hotel and the Finnish staff all amazing - couldn't fault the hotel - it was basic but catered for everything we needed. The resort is beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trishi-Wishi
Riekonlinna, Manager at Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, welcome again!

Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Riekonlinna hotel, also known as the Snow Flake hotel, is set at the end of a long road of hotels in the resort of Saariselka. It has the best location of the hotels being closest to the slopes and ski lifts and no obstructions to the hills and forrests when waiting for the Aurora Northern Lights to appear. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sturg3
Riekonlinna, Manager at Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback!

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked through Thomsons and took our 3 boys aged 6,9 & 11. It was an amazing holiday and although expensive I'd recommend it to anyone with kids. It is a truly magical place. The hotel food is ok, however there isn't much choice for children. The rooms are adequate although the bathrooms are very small. We found all the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phil_Unsworth
Riekonlinna, Manager at Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, welcome back again!

Schladming
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booking this so called magical experience since June I was expecting some magic here, at least if not for myself then for our kid. Well what can I say. Many crying kids indeed. First day you are exausted of flying, so unless if you ate in airport before you ain't gona see any hot food for kid or yourself until...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Frau D
Riekonlinna, Manager at Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we will send this message to Santa's Lapland also. Regarding hotel issue (food) we will discuss this among managers.

Durham
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Ok so there's some good points and bad points to this hotel. To be fair you are there for the 'Lapland' experience so really it's only a place to sleep. Rooms - our room was a family room with separate twin room and a pull out couch in the living area. The beds weren't overly comfortable but to be honest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilimaclu
Riekonlinna, Manager at Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we try to improve our operations based on reviews. Eventually we hope that you and your family will visit Lapland again!

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is dated, rooms tired at best, hotel staff not great, the food I can honestly say is amongst the worst I have ever eaten,, the so called gala dinner was reformed turkey cheap packet gravy, mashed carrots and hard potatoes,, happy Christmas eh !!! It was truly awful. We had to queue for 20 minutes to get it,,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bailersbreakfast
Riekonlinna, Manager at Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and on the basis of all reviews we are developing our operations. However, we hope that you come on holiday to Lapland again.

Vicenza, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights. Rooms were clean but seemed very dated and in need of attention to detail-in particular the bathroom We had a room for three and was 2 single beds pushed together and an additonal single pull out couch The staff were nice and breakfast was good enough- nothing special Typical eggs, bacon etc with yogurt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alisha J
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

So we won tickets to come to Finland to watch Clarkson, Hammond and May film their new "Grand Tour" show for Amazon. And this was the hotel that was chosen for the winners to stay in. The rooms are a nice size, but a bit dated now. the bathrooms in particular really need updating. The beds are a bit hard,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Russell_Ho-Aitken
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Staff are friendly and welcoming but it is dated and tired. Breakfast is fine usual hotel buffet. It's somewhere to rest your head after a hard day out and about. Bit of skiing history just off the lobby. The majority (if not all) rooms are twin beds so far as we could work out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark D

266 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (254)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saariselka
0.1 km away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 7 in Saariselka
308 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 7 in Saariselka
410 reviews
10.6 km away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 7 in Saariselka
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 km away
Kultahippu Hotel & Restaurant
26.2 km away
Hotel Ivalo
Hotel Ivalo
#1 of 2 in Ivalo
287 reviews
0.3 km away
Saariselka Inn
Saariselka Inn
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna

Address: Saariselaentie 13, Saariselka 99830, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Price Range: $130 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotel Saariselka
Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna Finland/Saariselka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with sauna and balcony but without the possibility to connect to the room next door.”
 of 5 bubbles suomituristi2015, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Can have loads of kids during high winter season. Select a quite room if needed.”
 of 5 bubbles 962melg, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“Apartments in the separate building recommended”
 of 5 bubbles Chiisaineko, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you stay in the apartments then you will need to put snowsuits and boots on to get to the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles 688traceyj, 17 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Book the Tunturi unless you like a really really quiet hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles triggerhaywood, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay