We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Camp Waipu Cove

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Camp Waipu Cove
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Camp Waipu Cove
See the most recent reviews
Showing 318: English reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

This is a very well run camp right on one of NZs best beaches. The sites are well serviced and a decent size. Camp facilities are within an easy walk from any part of the camp ground. The environment for kids seems safe, they run around and socialise easily. The playground gets plenty of use. There is a shop and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
Anton T, Manager at Camp Waipu Cove, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you've already rebooked for next year! There's a lovely communal atmosphere here over the summer months and many guests love to come back each year for their summer holiday. We're looking forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

The beach had some algue problem so unfortunately it was not in perfect condition otherwise the location would have been the best. The park was crowded and the bbq was not cleaned and my ice pack was mistakenly taken by someone in the fridge. So be ware of things to be tightly locked and marked. The bunkbed complex has four...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kumikoj2016
Anton T, Manager at Camp Waipu Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and marketing. It's been a beautiful, busy summer here at Waipu Cove but unfortunately we did have some red algae wash up on a section of the beach. We were lucky enough to always have a clear section of beach/sea accessible for relaxing, swimming etc. and now the remainder of the...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Great site and facilities, very well organised and clean, perfect for young children! However, what ruined our experience was the fact our tent site was located literally 2 metres away from a toilet block. This meant that we had not one, but TWO extremely bright lights directly onto our tents!! Also there was no door to the toilets so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank staceyjayne83
Anton T, Manager at Camp Waipu Cove, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your positive comments about our camp ground and i'm sorry that the location of your site overshadowed your experience with us. As you had a little one with you we had put you on a site that was nice and close to our children's playground but unfortunately that did mean that you were quite close...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Even though it's a big campground we've got a quiet site and enjoyed reunion with nature. The facilities are good and tidy, very close to a grocery shop. Great place for surfers. Fascinating view and beautiful sunrise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OlgafromNZ
Anton T, Manager at Camp Waipu Cove, responded to this review

I'm so glad to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Even over the busy summer months we are predominantly a family camp ground so we like to have a nice relaxed atmosphere and have guards patrolling at night to make sure everything runs smoothly and everyone is happy. We're very lucky to be right next to a...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 December 2016

The bunk house beds are horrible to sleep on, but a very good camping site for families with young children. No parking for the bunk house which is inconvenient, camping facilities eg toilets,showers were good, sleeping in tents would be ideal, wouldn't recommended staying in the bunk house

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendylucx
Anton T, Manager at Camp Waipu Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments on the camp ground in general. Our bunk house is our budget accommodation option and is priced accordingly. We do offer a range of cabins which are much more comfortable but unfortunately we are very busy at this time of year and they tend to get booked up months in advance. We would love...

Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 December 2016

This was our third year in a row stayng at Camp Waipu Cove and we still love it. Cabin right on the beach practically. Everything there that you need - beach, surf, shop down the road, café across the road, life guards on duty...it's an awesome place to stay. Very well maintained and very clean and tidy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne T
Anton T, Manager at Camp Waipu Cove, responded to this review

Wow what a great review! We love reviews from our regulars and really appreciate the feedback. We are glad you enjoy staying here and hope to see you again next year :)

Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Beautiful place to stay friendly owners good company, lovely Beach for all activities, life guards and surf lessons, free boards for use, clean tidy camp and facilities affordable and would definitely stay again. Thank u guys.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jewelszone
Anton T, Manager at Camp Waipu Cove, responded to this review

I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We've got some great activities going on here over the summer and it's fantastic to have the life guards patrolling the beach during the busy period.

Wellsford, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Book yourself a self contained cabin for an awesome experience. So nice and clean. Handy to the beach. Playground for the kids. Beautiful spot. Would go again any chance I got. Lovely setting and very friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cabin10crew
Anton T, Manager at Camp Waipu Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! Our self-contained cabins are very popular as they're right by the beach and have everything you need for a relaxing break.

HKT
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Waipu Cove is a lovely beach, without question. The campground is exceptionally well maintained & run. It incorporates the Surf Club as well and is sitting at the prime end of a long beautiful beach. Facilities are 100% for communal kitchens, shower etc You can see why there are so many permanent sites here not just the camping & powered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 763Kiwi_traveller007
Anton T, Manager at Camp Waipu Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to welcome you back again in the future.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Stayed 2 nights in Bungalow with private bathroom THUMBS UP - Modern and well equipped Bungalow, with private bathroom right nr beach - nice beds and pillows and gd lighting over dbl bed for reading - Fridge, bench elements to cook on, jug, toaster, crockery - TV with DVD player, freeview - channels available - 1,2,3,Bravo (couldn't get Prime) -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WILDscONE
Anton T, Manager at Camp Waipu Cove, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you also, for you suggestions - They are very helpful and many of them are definitely things that we will consider when making...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waipu
0.1 km away
Waipu Cove Resort
Waipu Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Waipu
57 reviews
9.9 km away
Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park
1.6 km away
Country Homestead at Black Sheep Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Aurora Lodge
Aurora Lodge
#2 of 6 in Waipu
40 reviews
11.0 km away
Mangawhai Lodge
Mangawhai Lodge
#2 of 5 in Mangawhai
46 reviews
10.4 km away
Mangawhai Chalets
Mangawhai Chalets
#1 of 5 in Mangawhai
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You'll find Camp Waipu Cove nestled at the southern end of the beautiful and unspoiled Bream Bay. Our Northland holiday park’s and cabins great facilities, supreme beach location and well-kept Waipu Cove accommodation create the ideal setting for a classic Kiwi getaway. Our Waipu Cove camping ground has been a Northland holiday haven for generations of Kiwi families, and continues to offer one of the best camping environments in New Zealand to visitors from near and far. We look forward to seeing you here at Camp Waipu Cove, Northland! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Camp Waipu Cove

Address: 869 Cove, RD2, Waipu 0582, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Waipu
Price Range: $64 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camp Waipu Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Camp Waipu Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Camp Waipu Cove staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
travelling
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Camp Waipu Cove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“10% discount off season to NZMCA members”
sherylamartin, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cabins or take a Tent”
danjelle12, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had budget cabin so walk in the rain and sand to toilet and shower but if you dnt mind its great”
kalgirl74, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Self contained cottage the best option.”
Pulmans, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is a motor camp”
MalcolmW187, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5