We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Melia Las Dunas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cayo Santa Maria
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Melia Las Dunas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

7,474 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,094: English reviews
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great Resort in Cayo Santa Maria! I went several times in Cuba and it was my second time in Cayo Santa Maria. I love Cayo Santa Maria for his great beaches, great resorts and great people. We had a great time at the Melia Las Dunas Cayo Santa Maria. A good value for the money that we paid. One thing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Passscoool
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I travelled to this resort November 5-12, 2016 with my family as well as another family. I am deeply disappointed with Sunwing vacation as they lost my bag and it was almost 48 hours before it was found. In the meantime we were issued 50 Cuban pesos to purchase items, however, for anyone who has been to Cuba you know... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nina V
STRATFORD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We wanted to try a different area of Cuba so decided to visit this resort for 10 days. What an experience it was. NO HOT WATER FOR 5 DAYS; and no explanation as to why until we went and asked our Sunwing rep where we learned the boiler had to be replaced. We lower our expectations of food when we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank liketotravel037
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: I would like to thank you for taking the time to report your feedback on Trip Advisor about your stay at Melia Las Dunas Hotel. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We sorry so much to see that it was impossible to fulfill your expectations... More 

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We are a group that has been travelling to Cuba for the past six years (this is my eighth time in Cuba). Our group consists of 20 to 33 guests aged from 12 to 83 years of age. We have always stayed in Veradero but this year we decided to venture to Santa Clara. Melia Las Dunas was highly recommended.... More 

Helpful?
13 Thank PaulaPedro
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well, trip advisor reviewers and seekers, you all obviously know that my husband and I love Melia Las Dunas - and once again, we had a fabulous vacation!!! We were there from October 20 to November 3, 2016. We saw several noticeable changes at the resort overall; the grounds were prettier and tidier. We recall some concerns about the lighting... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Cityview
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all thanks a lot for take your time writing on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your having taken the time to post this review describing in details how it felt to stay at our resort. We thank your honesty and we feel very proud to acknowledge you look so glad about having spent your holiday with... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the resort where my daughter's wedding was held. The wedding planner Maria Helena was great and the preparation, ceremony cocktail and dinner were perfect. Now for the resort part, It is quite a big resort and very spread out, so plan on walking quite a bit. The rooms were great, we were... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Malindi168
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: We really loved to read your review. Thanks a lot for take your time writing on Trip Advisor. Everything about your recent experience at our premises has been described and honest way. We are sure our potential customers will benefit from it, and especially, from your simple and wise recommendations to make their stay more pleasant. Will be... More 

Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We just returned from Melia Las Dunas after a trip from November 5 to 12, 2016. The staff at this resort are exceptional. The service is competitive to some even higher end resorts.. someone is always looking to help you. Although there are some parts of the rooms that are dated, and hot water is not consistent, I have to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank scottaym
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: We really loved to read your review. Thank You Very Much for your great review and comments, Trip Advisor has become the most important vacation tool in these time. Thanks also for your nice comments about our staff, they are a hard working men and ladies that makes our guests happy, I will mention your comment with all... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a wonderful time last week at Melia Las Dunes. Was my first time in Cuba and this resort was excellent. The beach is breathtaking. The rooms were nice and clean. Lots of variety at the buffet. Great a la carte restaurants and the most pleasant staff. Thanks to Randy, Carlos, Angel and Teo for the entertainment and dance lessons.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene G
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Charlene: We really appreciate your having taken the time to post this review! We thank your honesty and we feel very proud to acknowledge you look so glad about having spent your holiday with us. For sure that we will share this review with all people you are referring us. It will be a pleasure to receive you... More 

Friedrichshafen, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my second visit of Meliá Las Dunas in October (8 nights) after my first visit with a travel group in May 2016 (5 nights). The whole ressort is very clean and tidy. The ressort is really large but because it consists of two large circles with the important building between them it's easy to find your way and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank travellingsylvie
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Sylvie: Greetings from Melia Las Dunas and many thanks for your review. Everything about your recent experience at our hotel has been described and honest way. Thanks also for your nice comments about our staff, they are a hard working men and ladies that makes our guests happy. We apologize for all of the inconveniences you mentioned in... More 

Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Too large for me. Too much walking. Staff very friendly. Buffet food not enough variation and cold even though there when it opened. No hot water for shower or bath not even Luke warm. Plug in bath tub and sink went down but would not come up. Safe broken from day 1. And had to be serviced four times. Been... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank bubbabares
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Melia Las Dunas for your holiday. It is really sad to know that you did not enjoy your vacation here due to the terrible weather condition during your stay and of course it is really hard to evaluate our service offer basis in this inconvenience and writing... More 

10,217 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10173)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2762)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1890)
Viewed
Dining (684)
Viewed
Room/Suite (771)
Viewed
View from Room (170)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (127)
Viewed
Bathroom (120)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (74)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (25)
Viewed
Other (3550)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
0.0 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
169 reviews
0.0 km away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
55 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
158 reviews
0.0 km away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 7 in Oyster Pond
22 reviews
0.0 km away
A Peace of Paradise
A Peace of Paradise
#1 of 1 in Praslin Quarter
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Magic and Legend unveils an ancient story that goes back in time to 1492, with the discovery of America. Melia Las Dunas, a 5 star resort, All Inclusive, ideal for your vacation with your Family, Reunion & Incentives, Weddings, Honeymoon Distinguished by the variety of services, the inviting atmosphere and the confort of its facilities, Melia Las Dunas offers the vacations of your dreams. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Las Dunas

Address: Cayo Santa Maria, Caibarien, Villa Clara | Jardines del Rey, Villa Clara, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range: $186 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Las Dunas 5*
Number of rooms: 925
Also Known As:
Melia Las Dunas Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Hotel Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas Cuba
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Las Dunas staff and other travellers.
639 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (639)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Las Dunas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request the second floor if possible, less bugs”
 of 5 bubbles 50ninav, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“buildings on the right side of the main building are quiter”
 of 5 bubbles liketotravel037, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“DO NOT STAY IN BUILDINGS 10 AND 18 (we were advised they'd be shutting them down)”
 of 5 bubbles PaulaPedro, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Blocks 28 and close to the family pool and the beach walkway; Blocks 38 - 41close to adult pool and the beach walkway.”
 of 5 bubbles Cityview, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the family side and anywhere between 1 and 6 is good. My daughter was in section 34 and that was good also.”
 of 5 bubbles Malindi168, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5