Valentin Perla Blanca
Traveller (10447)
Près de la piscine
Pool & Beach (2674)
Another a la carte steps off the beach, which also served a buffet lunch
Dining (739)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#7 of 11 all-inclusives in Cayo Santa Maria
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Valentin Perla Blanca is an adults only all inclusive resort (+18), with over 1300 meters of a powdery white sand natural beach located on Perla Blanca beach on Cayo Santa Maria, Cuba. This luxurious resort is 90 minutes away from Santa Clara International Airport. Valentin Perla Blanca is the perfect place to relax and enjoy living in an exceptional natural setting close to "Biosfera Buenavista" and "Wildlife Refuge Cayo Santa Maria". The resort designed in an elegant contemporary Caribbean style, is divided in two distinct sections, each with its own swimming pool; it proposes a total of 1020 rooms including 6 Imperial suites, with ocean, pool or garden views, distributed in 19 three story buildings. The pool area has unique and attractive designs with built-in lounge chairs and swim-up bars. A great place to enjoy swimming with your favorite drink. The resort offers WiFi ($) service at lobby and room areas. The main buffet restaurant "Frangipani" is opened for breakfast, lunch & dinner. A choice of any of the five " A la carte" restaurants is also offered for dinner at either the Spanish, French,Italian and international restaurants; reservations required. All Inclusive 24hs snack service provided at the "Snack & Grill Bar". During both day and night time, you will be able to enjoy one of the 7 bars such as the Lobby Bar, Tea & Coffee The Corner & Sport Bar, " Aqua Bar Azul" Bar and Beach Bar "Cienfuegos". In the evening, enjoy nightly shows at the "Locura Theatre" and dance the night away with a live band.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Airport transportation
Parking
Paid internet
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Adults only
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles5,739 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Valentin Perla Blanca is often commended for its service, with the staff's warmth and professionalism standing out to guests who feel welcomed like family. While the amenities generally receive positive marks for the diverse dining options and the picturesque beach, some guests have noted room for improvement in maintenance and cleanliness. Opinions regarding the hotel's atmosphere and the value it offers are polarized; some enjoy the vibrant entertainment, while others are less impressed, citing room conditions. Concerns about room maintenance and pest issues are recurring themes, despite some guests being satisfied with their accommodations.
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Unkempt
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
5,739Reviews1,739Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,808
  • 1,821
  • 1,069
  • 613
  • 428
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Destiny L wrote a review Feb 2020
16 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I enjoyed this resort more than we thought we would after the first night stay. When we arrived around 10pm to the resort, we had to switch our rooms 3 times due to there being feces on the bathroom wall, blood on the bedroom wall behind the bed, and our balcony door was broken. After switching rooms and talking to a manager, we were able to relax and enjoy our stay. The food was decent for Cuba, I’d recommend to bring your own condiments including salt as the food can be bland. We took the free bus to the village where we were able to shop since the gift shop at the resort was tiny and prices were expensive. The beach was incredible, no seaweed and we didn’t get approached by the locals selling items. It was certainly a relaxing resort, with a lot of walking depending on the location of your room. The entertainment took place in the lobby each day, and the nightly shows were mesmerizing. It was nice to be able to purchase wifi in the lobby for a short hour at a time just to connect with loved ones. Great resort for Cuba!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ValentinPerlaBlanca, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Perla Blanca
Responded Feb 12, 2020
Dear 111destinyl, First at all we would like to thank you for choosing Valentín Perla Blanca for your Christmas vacation. We are very glad to know that, after some inconveniences at your arrival, you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Looking forward to seeing you again! Best regards. Costumer Service Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
navglo wrote a review Jan 2020
Ottawa, Canada7 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked here because we were sick of Varadero and wanted to try somewhere new. The 6am flight from Ottawa meant getting up at 3am but we would be at the hotel around 1pm however we had to wait 3 hours to check in. Not sure why, as the people leaving for Ottawa that morning were gone by 6am! Our room was part of the block (24) that had recently been renovated and so the room was very clean looking. Some of the lights didn't work and the phone didn't work but; who cared? The mattress was one step up from a prison bed and the pillow was very uncomfortable. Then; we got locked out of our room later that night. After 3 trips to reception they found a worker who fixed it temporarily so we could get in. The problem was with the mechanism itself and not the cards. We were told by a few guests that the US embargo was really affecting the Island and there were shortages of lots of things so problems can't get fixed straight away. Flour is one of these things and most days there was no bread. It doesn't help that we saw a guest go back to his table with 5 bread rolls on one off the days that there was bread! Not classy at all. Our travel companion had the first 4 days with either cold water showers or no water at all! The walkways are very poorly illuminated and can be a serious safety risk at night. Luckily we read other revues so we had a light. The food in the buffet has to be the worst I've experienced in Cuba. Long lines of rude people didn't help but some of the food was even sent out cold. This; however, made the a la carte's seem better than they probably were but then again, they ran out of red wine for 3 days!!! People were even taxiing to the closest market and buying their own. Fuel shortages mean that trucks don't always roll in so there might not be a supply of fresh beach towels. Too bad. The Cubans have greater problems.
Then; the vacation really took off!!! Once you get over the wackiness of the place and start to appreciate the hard working staff; things got way better. The grounds are very well looked after and the Spanish Coffee's are superb (and I don't even drink coffee). We've never laughed so much in a week and this was down to the crazy mix of guests. The pools are clean, if slightly chilly (we had 2 stormy days) and the beach is great if it's not blowing a gale (not as good as Varadero imo). It's disappointing to see that guests still have that sense of entitlement and put out their towels the night before to "book" a sunbed that they may or may not use.
There is a musical trio that came on 2 different nights that play a drum machine; guitar and fiddle at the main bar. This is NOT to be missed. World class!
Tip the staff and don't be rude and it doesn't have to be money. They really don't have much and every little thing means something to them. The people at Customer Service really should have a better attitude but the bar staff; maintenance workers; servers and especially the groundskeepers were brilliant.
A big shout out to my fellow guests who helped make this a wonderful week and I ended up not really wanting to leave. I had so much fun but, will I be back? That's a tough one.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ValentinPerlaBlanca, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Perla Blanca
Responded Jan 26, 2020
Dear navglo, First at all we would like to thank you for choosing Valentín Perla Blanca and for sharing your experience. It is a pleasure to know that after any inconvenienve, finally you enjoyed and had a nice stay. You can be sure all the staff work very hard every day to give the best service. We will be very glad to accommodate you in the future. Best regards, Costumer Service Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Debbie H wrote a review Jan 2020
Northwestern Ontario6 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent the week of Dec 27-Jan 3 and were extremely pleased with the resort. We purchased the Privilege Package and I believe this was a wise choice. We had been to Cuba before, at different resorts, and the Valentin Perla Blanca was CUBA TOP NOTCH! The food had a variety of flavours and did not taste like it was all coming from the same kitchen. Privilege allowed us to have A La Carts each night (Hotel was not at full capacity). The serving staff was friendly and attentive at these sit down dinners. The buffet at breakfast was a bit of a free of all (every man for himself or starve), but we also had the option to have a delicious omelette at the snack bars, which we did. The talent in the Jazz Lobby each night was very good. We preferred that to a theatre style show as is typical at resorts in the area. We had a couple of language barriers with two of the waitresses, but it was all in humour and they were only trying to please. Room was cleaned every day, room fridge was stocked each day at the same time, there was ALWAYS a choice of loungers at the beach and at the pool. We could choose between sun or shade without having to save seats. Even went to the pool at 1:00 in the afternoon and there was a vacant Bali Bed! Overall, it was a wonderful relaxing holiday and I am grateful to all the staff who work so hard to ensure the quests are comfortable. thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ValentinPerlaBlanca, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Perla Blanca
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Dear debbiehE8277TF, Thank you for sharing your kind impressions of Valentín Perla Blanca and for booking with us with the Privilege Package. We are so pleased we met your expectations and you had a wonderful stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Costumer Service Director.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pat J wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The good, the bad and the just plain ugly. Started off wrong as our entire room lock fell out upon arrival and we had to put our luggage in our companions room as we only had 1/2 hour to make the buffet before it closed. Had a quick supper then were given a ride back to our new room. This is now 11 pm at night. Once in our room we found no water and air conditioning did not work (showed 26 temperature) phoned front desk and was told they had no water and if I wanted some I would have to come to the bar to get it (its pitch black out and we have no clue where we are) and the air conditioning would not be fixed until the next day. Not acceptable and they were there within 10 minutes and fixed every thing. The next day went to book our al a cartes and wasted 3 hours waiting for someone to come. Complained to our Sunwing rep and he booked them for us. For our trouble we could have lobster half price on Valentine's day and to pay at the front desk BUT all al a carts had free lobster that day!!! Resort ran out of everything-cola and beer two days in a row. The list of things is endless-mayonnaise, butter, bread, tomatoes, lettuce, buns, cheese, fruit, spaghetti and the list goes on. Two days in a row at the snack bar you could not order anything on the menu except fish. Toilets missing seats, no soap or ways to dry your hands. Watched the lady at the omelet station wipe her flipper on the edge of the garbage can, they use the same tongs to add raw chicken or fish to the grill and use those same tongs for everything. I'm a diabetic and cannot drink sugary drinks, only 1 drink in 14 days as cola lite is non existent at this resort. When I did complain the Manger she did find me two bottles cola lite for the last two days but this did not make up for the lack of everything at this resort. While at the party pool for the first 10 days I never saw the pool being cleaned once. With no mix or beer people were drinking straight booze-the water was murky!!! Moved to the quiet pool with crystal clean water and saw it being vacuumed every day. Never had clean sheets in the 2 weeks we were there.the beach and ocean were fantastic even with the sharks there 2 days in a row (yes we stayed on shore) and the people were excellent. Walk ways were dark as most were missing lights. After hearing these same complaints from others this resort gives Cuba a bad name not just this resort. In talking to travellers from other resorts they did not have the difficulties this resort has. My advise is to go to Cuba as it is a beautiful country but NEVER stay at this resort. These same problems have been mentioned on trip advisor many times but never addressed. Perhaps its time for new management
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: 27 building was central to everthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ValentinPerlaBlanca, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Perla Blanca
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Dear 632patj, We apologize that we did not meet your expectations and we really regret that all our efforts to please you weren´t enought. You can be sure all of the reviews are addressed and we take feedback like this very seriously. Management and staff work very hard to give the best service possible. Best regards, Customer Service Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TazmanianTeam wrote a review Feb 2020
Peterborough, Canada42 contributions42 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The beach and ocean are absolutely stunning, many of the chairs are broken, not enough to go around, not enough palapa's for shade, cigarette butts everywhere around the resort. NO SEE EMS, itchy bug bites, bring bug spray! Tennis courts were well maintained. Raw sewage leaking out of a manhole cover on nearby walkway, very smelly and gross. Public washrooms deplorable, toilet seats were optional, no soap, basic public health issue here!!! Many walkway lights burned out, leaving dark stretches, lots of older folks that this may pose a real safety risk for, they need to be fixed!! Our room was adequate, plastic toilet seat too small for the bowl, very stained by previous guests. drinks were put in our fridge daily but only if you tipped the drink fellow, we always thought this was worth 2 or 3 CUC's daily to always have a nice cold beer and a soda available to us. Our maid Lisabeth, was very sweet and efficient. The buffet was the main place where we ate breakfast and dinner, we had lunch at the small restaurant on the way to the beach, small menu with a small salad bar, but nice environment and it was never crowded like the buffet. Buffet, quality of the food was terrible, repetitive items, very limited selection. We were turned off by the aggressive buffet servers trying to seat you in their section for a tip. Overall we will never return to this resort and would not recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ValentinPerlaBlanca, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Perla Blanca
Responded Feb 9, 2020
Dear TazmanianTeam, First at all we would like to thank you for choosing Valentín Perla Blanca for your vacation in Cuba. We really apologize we couldn´t fulfill your expectations. You can be sure that we will take into consideration your comments. The beach is cleaned every day, however we need to raise awareness within some guests to be more environmentally friendly. The public washroom are replacing with soap several times a day. We will pass your nice comment to your maid Lisabeth. We are sorry the buffet wasn't your liking. Apart from it there are different options at the resort for breakfast and dinner time: snack bars or "a la carte" restaurants. Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emily C wrote a review Feb 2020
Ontario, Canada6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve seen a lot of bad reviews about Valentin, I would like to just share our experience here. The first year we stayed was in January 2019 and our second time in February 2020 and we had the best time, from the food at the buffet to the 24hr snack bar was great and many options to choose from, yes of course there are shortages of certain things once in a while, but you kind of have to expect that in Cuba. The al a carts were AMAZING, the Italian was my favourite but my fiancé loved the French more! They had great soups - minestrone, French onion, cream of potato, the meat they had from the beef to the chicken cord on bleu was unreal. I see a lot of the people posting about how long it takes to book them etc, if you go to book them around the afternoon time he will be on break for half an hour usually, but as soon as he comes back there’s no line so just jump right in and book them!

Our room was great, the Maid was amazing both years! Always left cute towel animals on our bed, and always made sure we had fresh towels! We had hot water anytime of day! We had requested a king size bed, we did not get one but the maid had pushed the beds together and made it up like that, which was even better then a king! The shower is beautiful, big rainfall shower head! The man who comes around and does water and beer for the rooms was always super nice and always made sure we had what we needed.

The pool and swim up bar was our favourite place to be! We would go down around 8 or 9 in the morning, throw our stuff on a cabana and then walk like 30 seconds to the snack bar and have breakfast, we preferred the snack bar over the buffet, not that we didn’t enjoy the buffet we just loved the service and the workers at the snack bar so much! Dunier, Amauri, and Jose Alberto provided such excellent service at the swim up bar and also remembered us from the previous year we were there. They’re attentive and detailed and always tried their best to accommodate everyone.

In the snack bar all the workers are so nice and happy all the time it’s a very nice atmosphere. We of course had our few favourites and we were really sad to learn one of our favourites from the first year we were there had left, Jorge, abdel, arai(possible misspell), victor and many more that were so attentive and polite and just made the best atmosphere!

The beach was absolutely beautiful! They have multiple bars along the beach they also have paddle boats and what not. The water is blue as blue can be and you can walk out very far without it getting very deep.

All in all we agreed we would be going back every year! Everything was amazing and we really have no complaints, yes the bus ride is about 90 minutes but you have beer and a bathroom and it is TOTALLY worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ValentinPerlaBlanca, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Perla Blanca
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Dear emilycav96 Many thanks for choosing our Hotel Valentín Perla Blanca for your second stay in Cuba and for sharing your lovely review in Tripadvisor. We are very glad to read you had an amazing vacation with us and the resort and staff have met your expectations. We will pass your kind comment all the staff mentioned. It will be a pleasure to see you again for third time! Best regards. Costumer Service Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tatiana O wrote a review Feb 2020
Toronto, Canada57 contributions44 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Beach:
The only saving grace on the property. Clean, clear, beautiful, comfortable temperature, perfect

Restaurants/Buffets:
Expect to see the same options everyday: cold, bland, undercooked, overcooked. In order to not starve, you´re pretty much eating: bread/butter, pasta, veggie paella, cooked cucumber, chicken, and other nonsense. I´ve frequently many all-inclusive and this was by far the worst. You would hope the a la carte would be better, nope sadly mistaken. One good thing: Dayris at the a la carte Spanish restaurant provided exceptional service.

Snack Bar:
Expect a trashy crowd here. Quality doesn't exist here. As for breakfast, expect a 30 minutes wait for the worst definition of “eggs” and the server couldn´t care less about what was being served. Bring your own snacks, food, EVERYTHING!

“Customer Service” (zero, nada, NOTHING)
You might ask yourself what could be worse than the food here? The service. No sign of any beach towel exchange services anywhere. Prepare yourself to wait at least 2 hours to exchange your currency and to book your a la carte reservations (what a waste of time)

Room:
Consistently clean but don’t expect your bed linens/towels to be changed unless you explicitly ask the cleaner to do so. The fridge will only be restocked with one beer.

Alcohol:
Cristal beer, the lowest of low-grade liquor, and lime and lemon are non-existent. They were out of wine until our third day there. Espresso burnt.

The worst vacation! Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ValentinPerlaBlanca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Perla Blanca
Responded Feb 13, 2020
Dear Tatiana O, First at all we would like to thank you for choosing Valentín Perla Blanca for your vacation in Cuba. We really apologize we couldn´t fulfill your expectations. We have tried to do our best to please you when you were in house but unfortunately we didn't get it. You can be sure that we will take into consideration your comments to reorient our efforts in order to improve our service and the satisfaction we provide to our guests. Best regards. Costumer Service Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah V wrote a review Jan 2020
Paris, Canada19 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an excellent stay here. This was the first time travelling somewhere tropical, and it definitely did not disappoint!

The service was absolutely incredible. Special shoutout to Carlixto, Nelson, and Delly in the buffet, they always went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed.

The beaches and pools were beautiful. We had read reviews about not getting chairs when it was really busy, but we had no issues whatsoever.

We did the Privilege package, we really enjoyed the lounge. Roli was an incredible bartender, we enjoyed our “Cuban Coffee Time” every evening before dinner. Although we probably wouldn’t do the privilege package again, we are glad we did it this time, it’s nice to be pampered sometimes.

A lot of reviews mention how terrible the food is, but it’s definitely not anywheres near as bad as people make it sound. The a la cartes are incredible. We also made a point to go to the snack bar for breakfast, we got fresh food and better coffee!

We were nervous about the water/ice situation, but we didn’t have any issues. We had ice in our drinks and we used the tap water to brush our teeth, and we didn’t get sick. The water is also safe to drink at the restaurants and bars, they use filtered water.

Overall we had an incredible time and we hope to come back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ValentinPerlaBlanca, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Perla Blanca
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Dear sarahverv, Many thanks for choosing our Hotel Valentín Perla Blanca for your first stay in Cuba and for sharing your lovely review in Tripadvisor. We are very glad to read you had an incredible time with us and you enjoyed the beach, pools, Privilege Package, food, staff.... We will pass your kind words to all the staff you have mentioned. It will be a pleasure to see you again! Best regards. Costumer Service Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nadine H wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My first trip ever to Cuba however 8 out of the 9 of us have all been before.

I will start with my positives, the pools were very well maintained and the grounds around them clean also the beaches are out of this world. I've been to Jamaica and St. Lucia and they cannot touch them.

With that being said some of the paths to get to the beach have broken down remnants of old wooden pathways that one of us actually cut his foot on. The one beach bar has very sketchy stairs at best so I'd say be careful.

Rooms were okay but our towels more times than not were the same one's or another rooms just dried out on the railings in the hallways and then replaced wherever. They were pretty clean but did have no water one night but did have hot shower's no matter what time of day despite our friend's traveling with us who did not.

A lot of the paths are very dimmly lit if not at all so make sure you bring some sort of flashlight or the one on your cell.

The food was lackluster at best I don't think I want another french fry for awhile since they seem to have an abundance of them and were even served on one of my steaks in the Spanish a la carte restaurant...weird. We tried 3 a la carte', Spanish, Italian and International, Spanish was was the best one by far for all of us. The buffet and snack bars were okay. I really enjoyed their hamburger which was usually my go to at the snack bars. Omelettes were very good as well in the buffet but I was shocked of no bacon and or sausages at all.

The bars were all pretty much stocked with the exception of Vodka. Pool and/or lounge bar was pretty much out of Vodka at all times so much we bought our own bottles.

The staff was overall very nice. The front desk staff could use some customer service skills. We were locked out of our room one night and they sent us twice with "what they said" were new keys that worked which did not and it took us quite of bit of convincing to have them go themselves while waiting in the lobby. One evening a couple we met had not towels in their room for a shower and were told they had none to give and waiting about 30 minutes just to get hand towels to dry off with.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ValentinPerlaBlanca, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Perla Blanca
Responded Feb 2, 2020
Dear B2155MWnadineh, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your first trip to Cuba and for sharing your experiences with us. Many thanks for letting us know the cons and pros you have found during your stay. Be sure we have taken note of your comments in order to improve and give the best service for our clients. We hope overall you enjoyed your holidays with us. For us it will be a pleasure to accommodate you again! Best regards. Costumer Service Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanne B wrote a review May 2020
Edmonton, Canada23 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was very clean and nice except for the squnealing pipe, but when we turned off the toilet tank , the squealing stopped. The air coditioning worked great!The beds were a bit hard, but we managed fine. Housekeeping kept our room very clean and beds were decorated with hearts or lobsters using our beach towels. Our bar fridge was well stocked ..a bit of a tip or give aways each day helped. Our room was close to the main pat of the hotel,so we could sit on our balcony and listen to the music!
There were a few options for meals; the buffet was open daily and while the food was good, the choices day to day didn't change much. Staff were very friendly! We also went to the 24hr. bar/grill. The menu selection was limited for breakfast and lunch, but this may have only been because it is early in the season. A la carte was a bit of disappointment as the choices were limited and quite honestly, I don't want to eat mac and cheese at a fancy restaurant!!
The pools were lovely,crystal clear and the beautiful beach was a short walk from our room. Finding a chair was never a problem!
There was nightly entertainment in the main lobby and the theatre for shows which we so enjoyed. Cultural entertainment was great!!It was lovely to sit outside in the evening and watch the entertainment.
There was a currency exchange and cigar shop In the main lobby. There was a market a short bus ride away from the resort.
We took a couple of the excursions into Santa Clara to see the sites including the sugar making facility, cigar making factory, and a lovely lunch off the square In Santa Clara. Our favourite excursion was the Sunset cruise complete with dancing, singing, free bar, and fun people! Our cruise ended with watching the sunset over the water, a dolphin show and a delicious lobster dinner.
Another great activity on the resort was the spa where one could go for a massage with the curtains blowing in the warm breeze and the relaxing sounds of music and the ocean waves!
We didn't want to leave this paradise, and I know for sure, I will be back to this beautiful place!

Thanks to all the staff for helping to make this a wonderful, relaxing vacation!.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Second floor was great and a bit shaded from the hot sun!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hector Hidalgo, Ventas at Valentin Perla Blanca
Responded Jul 16, 2020
Dear 520joanneb ; We would like to thank you for choosing Valentin Perla Blanca for your holidays and it is a pleasure to hear that your stay was very pleasant. We also appreciate your suggestion as it allows us to continuously improve the experience we create for all our guests. We certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future. Our team look forward to welcome you home in a future occasion.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mstravel asked a question Apr 2024
Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada685 contributions66 helpful votes
Is the whole resort open?
Answer from Mitch M
5 contributions3 helpful votes
We were there Feb 13-mar 5, only one side open.
mstravel asked a question Mar 2024
Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada685 contributions66 helpful votes
Does the resort have a spa? Last time I was there the "spa" was in one of the hotel rooms or you could get a massage on the beach.
Answer from Mitch M
5 contributions3 helpful votes
I believe massage only.
Answer from Tina V
Ontario, Canada28 contributions18 helpful votes
Most times it is 1.5 hours, however I can see it being longer at rush hour or if there is an accident, construction. There is a shuttle that is free, bring drinks with you and consider it a tour of the countryside on your way there. We have used a private taxi just outside the airport 100$ canadian and we by-passed the other resort stops :) got there about 1 hour before the bus.
cubamama011 asked a question Feb 2024
Nova Scotia, Canada24 contributions28 helpful votes
Are there elevators Is there a nude beach
Answer from Tina V
Ontario, Canada28 contributions18 helpful votes
no not at this resort for either question
Answer from Tina V
Ontario, Canada28 contributions18 helpful votes
" I think that the reviews are made up by there own people.. not to be believed.. Please send your parents elsewhere…" this statement made by another user is WRONG. I am from Canada and have been to Cuba 4 times. Twice at this resort. When there last in January, I met a few seniors who were there alone, and they shared how safe and relaxed they felt here. This resort has okay entertainment and not too late. It isn't crazy loud etc... I really enjoyed it. The food is okay, personally I found everything I like, I never starved. (but again I am not a fussy eater) There was variety every day. We only missed out on eggs 1 morning. We did not run out of wine either. But do take in consideration of the troubles of getting everything imported and the costs associated. It changes all the time. If you go to Cuba not expecting a 5 star from Canada you will not be disappointed. The beaches are amazing and so worth it. Some people just like to complain about nothing. If you are not fussy, not demanding, and not a royal **** you will love Cuba. The service and people at this resort are top notch AND NO I DONT WORK HERE. But do feel like family when I go.
JASON P wrote a tip May 2024
Oshawa, Canada54 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take an adventure on the beach , head right instead of the usual left. You will find a virtually isolated area that is amazingly isolated "
Read full review
Chris L wrote a tip Apr 2024
10 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring some items to ensure a great experience (See my Review)"
Read full review
christineR7594GO wrote a tip Apr 2024
Victoria, British Columbia2 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"With shortages bring toilet paper and condiments, us or Canadian bills for tips. Cold medicine, Tylenol ect for adults and children for gifts "
Read full review
Louis B wrote a tip Apr 2024
32 contributions79 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go visit the sanctuary in the beach... beautiful"
Read full review
Renata B wrote a tip Apr 2024
Mississauga, Canada161 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I just learned that oil works better than bug spray for sand fleas."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cayo Santa Maria area.
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaVilla Clara ProvinceCayo Santa Maria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1,020
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Valentin Perla Blanca - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Valentin Perla Blanca
Which popular attractions are close to Valentin Perla Blanca?
Nearby attractions include Santa Maria Beach (7.8 km), Cayo Santa Maria (1.7 km), and Playa de las Gaviotas (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Valentin Perla Blanca?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Valentin Perla Blanca?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Valentin Perla Blanca?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Valentin Perla Blanca?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Valentin Perla Blanca?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Valentin Perla Blanca have airport transportation?
Yes, Valentin Perla Blanca offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Valentin Perla Blanca offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Valentin Perla Blanca?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Does Valentin Perla Blanca have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Valentin Perla Blanca accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Cayo Santa Maria HotelsCayo Santa Maria Hotel DealsHotels near Valentin Perla Blanca
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars