We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 138: English reviews
Start your review of Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter
 Click to rate
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Its location is really good. Great views of the mountains and lake Pehoe. We stayed here in a room for six people. Bed itself was ok. Room was of good size since the six people had room for all our stuff/baggs etc. For some fresh air we could open the glass windows. Showers and toilets are shared and were ok...just....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatrickBuijs
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really nice Refugio, comfortable beds, and if you're making your own meals, it has the best kitchen shelter, lots of room to sit/cook. The food was really good the night we were there, definitely was full after all of it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niko G
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved the huge cooking area for campers, where you can hide from the wind, rain and hang out with your friends. There were 4 showers for womens and 4 for mens, so the line was not long at all(comparing to other camping places). But camp spots were horrible, not protected from the wind - and it can be really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcin_Mentel
Palo Alto, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I believe this is all bunk beds, if you are staying inside (not in a tent). It was rebuilt recently after the previous building burned down. We shared a room with two other couples from our group. The beds were comfortable. They also provide thin sleeping bags , and we used bag liners provided by EcoLodge. Warmth is not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanderdogs
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your observations and suggestions. We tried very hard to do our best to improve the standards of the service and we are always grateful to hear from you and encourage you to pass along your thoughts. I am sending your comments directly to the department manager. Best regards

SanDiego
Reviewed 18 January 2017

If you are going to any of these refugios, here is a tip worth its weight in gold,.. PRINT THE CONFIRMATION of your reservation and bring it with you. You cannot rely on your phone or your email to prove to the reception that you really have a valid reservation. Of group of 3... 2 had problems with reservations. However...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KJFromSan
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear KJ, Thank you for taking the time to write about Paine Grande. We are sorry we couldn’t meet your expectations during your stay. We are kind of confused about your comment about the staff, as you state that they did help you to solve the problem with the confirmation of your reservation and also did help you with an...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Arrived there on our 3rd day of hiking partly in the rain… don’t understand the other negatives comments, as soon as we entered got really impressed, thought it was luxury after staying at El Chineo and Domes Frances. The check-in was very easy and the staff very welcoming asking us how we were, etc…, they even gave us big towels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BRI1811027
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your feedback! It makes us very happy to know you have enjoyed your staying at our shelter. We hope you can tell your friends about your experience in Torres del Paine, so they would like to visit us too. Bye and thanks again!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 January 2017

By far my least favorite of the refugios that we stayed in while hiking the W-trail. It is the biggest, which at first seems like a benefit but once the temperatures drop you realize it's a detriment because the entire lodge is FREEZING. After dinner everyone huddled around the one small heater/stove in the common area but only the people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize if we did not meet your expectations and for any inconvenience you have had experienced. Your review will be shared with management. About the pushbutton of the shower, this allows us to save a lot of water and improve the water treatment system, which is very important since we must remember...

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Our stop after the longest day of walking, they have a small store with everything you need but its a rip off, theyll rob you with the prices. Something I dont understand about the companies in Paine is that they dont know the concept of supply and demand. They should really change administration. Vertice is much better than Fantastico Sur

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MR_Romano
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your feedback! We hope you have enjoyed your staying at our shelter and all your experience in Torres del Paine National Park. Best regards!

United States
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights during our trip inside TDP park. Since it's hard to get reservations, the first night we stayed in "basic beds" (requires you to rent your own sleeping bag from them for $15 USD each; 3 bunk beds in 1 room) and the second night we were in "made beds" (2 bunk beds in 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace C
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thank you for all of your observations and suggestions. We try very hard to improve the standards of our service, so we really appreciate when we receive this kind of feedback. About the sleeping bags, we make sure to clean them everytime they get used, so it's actually a very rare situation that someone got bug bites. Hope...

La Roche-sur-Yon, France
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Being in the refugio is very convenient after a day of intensive walking, but the price is crazy in comparison to the services / comfort We had no heaters in our room 1 beer can is around 6$ 1 meal (food is rather bad and portion are medium) is 20$ The lunch box is OK but nothing crazy and it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rku2017
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your feedback. Unfortunately the prices are associated with everything that affects the logistics of getting and providing such a remote and distant place like this one. We also offer the possibility of sleeping at our campsite that is much cheaper than our mountain shelter, but obviously with less comfort. Waiting for your understanding, Best regards

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (153)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
18.9 km away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,092 reviews
5.9 km away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
429 reviews
19.6 km away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#11 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
213 reviews
35.9 km away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#3 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
420 reviews
7.3 km away
Refugio Torre Central-Torres del Paine
Refugio Torre Central-Torres del...
#5 of 16 in Torres del Paine National Park
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the shores of Lake Pehoe, Shelter Paine Grande features an amazing view over the mountains. It is the starting point for the hiking trail towards Glacier Grey, French Valley and it is part of the W Trail. The only way to get to Paine Grande is navigating accross the lake or hiking the trails. It features shared bedrooms (only bunk beds) uo to 100 guests. Restrooms features hot water showers with a push-button system to save water. Paine Grande features a cafeteria (daily fixed menus), a minimarket (groceries and souvenirs) and a bar overlooking the lake and mountains. Important: The shelter does not feature a central heating system. Only 2 resting areas feature wooden stoves (only for guests). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter

Address: Sector Paine Grande | Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range: $195 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paine Grande Mountain Hotel Torres Del Paine
Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It really depends on who your roommates are more than the room location.”
 of 5 bubbles Wanderdogs, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't pick a room near the toliets. Some people are not polite late at night and slam the doors going in and out of the facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles goldswimmom7, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“corners bunkers facing the lake and the mountains is very refreshing!”
  • waking up to the sunrise
 of 5 bubbles 980cristyl, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
“make your plans and book at least one year in advance to be able to stay IN the refuge...but the camping was not bad.”
  • Refugio Paine Grande
  • Refugio Paine Grande
 of 5 bubbles salty_dog_68, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
“everything is bad…just best to avoid if possible!”
 of 5 bubbles Desh1936, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5