We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveller (176)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (26)
Overview
Sector Paine Grande, Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park Chile See on map
AMENITIES
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Fitness centre
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Refugio Vertice Paine Grande
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
10
48
57
25
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
10
48
57
25
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafeteria stylemini marketupstairs barco edcatamaran ridesoupbeds were comfortablespectacular settinghour hikeshared bathroompisco sourscouchonsitedormitorypacks
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
71 - 75 of 165 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2016

This lodge should be shut down by the health department. When we arrived the smell from the woman's bathroom on the second floor was wafting though the entire lodge. Not exactly sure what the problem was but one of the toilet stalls was out of...More

Thank Andrea S
Response from Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Vertice Paine GrandeResponded February 10, 2016

Dear traveler, Thank you for your comments. We apologize for the issues you experienced and for any inconvenience they may have caused. We take our guest's feedback very seriously so rest assured we will address the areas you commented on, so we can improve our...More

Reviewed January 22, 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 nights, hiked French Valley and Lago Grey. Good breakfast. Edible lunch and dinner, but nothing memorable. Terrible soups appear to be based on the leftover starch water. Box lunch sandwiches were awful -- too much bread, something smelling very off, perhaps the...More

Thank No T
Response from Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Vertice Paine GrandeResponded January 25, 2016

Dear traveler, Thanks for your observations and suggestions. We tried very hard to do our best to improve the standards of the service and we are always grateful to hear from you and encourage you to pass along your thoughts. I am sending your comments...More

Reviewed January 13, 2016

This was the last shelter we stated at on the W, and we were happy simply because it was a private room for two vs. the larger rooms for 8 at Chileno and Cuernos. The room had its own heater and it was so nice...More

Thank Chrissy D
Response from Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Vertice Paine GrandeResponded January 18, 2016

Dear traveler, we are sorry we could not meet your expectations at our shelter. Thank you for your comments, we will take note of these in order to improve our service. Best regards

Reviewed January 12, 2016 via mobile

This was the worst campsite of the three I visited. VERY crowded, so the line for cooking and showering is huge. Also the bathrooms are messy. It's very windy, so make sure your tent is at the foot of a hill.More

Thank Teun P
Response from Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Vertice Paine GrandeResponded January 18, 2016

Dear traveler, thanks for your comments. Sorry we couldn't meet your expectations regarding our service. Unfortunately, on high season, there are always too many people using our instalations at the same time, but still we would like to make our visitors feel as confortable as...More

Reviewed January 11, 2016

This refugio is big and crowded but also importantly the most impersonal of all the refugios we stayed at. The dining arrangement is like a dorm dining hall (you pick up food from a central location rather than being served at the table like in...More

Thank fruitflyboy
Response from Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Vertice Paine GrandeResponded January 18, 2016

Dear traveler, thanks for your comments. We hope you enjoyed the beautiful view and that you have had an amazing trip. In our mountain shelters, we are constantly concerned to provide the best service to our visitors so they can feel as comfortable as possible,...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Located on the shores of Lake Pehoe, Refugio Vertice Paine Grande features an amazing view over the mountains. It is the starting point for the hiking trail towards Glacier Grey, French Valley and it is ...More part of the W Trail. The only way to get to Paine Grande is navigating accross the lake or hiking the trails. It features shared bedrooms (only bunk beds). Restrooms feature hot water showers with a push-button system to save water. Paine Grande features a cafeteria (daily fixed menus), a minimarket (groceries and souvenirs) and a bar overlooking the lake and mountains. Important: Refugio Paine Grande does not feature a central heating system. Only 2 resting areas feature wooden stoves (only for guests). Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Beachfront
Free Parking
Spa
Breakfast included
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Number of rooms
22
Formerly known as
Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter
Also Known As
Paine Grande Mountain Hotel Torres Del Paine
,
Refugio Vertice Paine Grande Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile
Location
Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Number of rooms
22
Formerly known as
Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter
Also Known As
Paine Grande Mountain Hotel Torres Del Paine
,
Refugio Vertice Paine Grande Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile
Location
Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Photos
Traveller (176)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (26)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Torres del Paine National Park
Hotel Lago Grey
561 reviews
5.79 km away
explora Patagonia - All Inclusive
1,042 reviews
8.67 km away
Las Torres Patagonia
1,378 reviews
18.89 km away
Rio Serrano Hotel + Spa
959 reviews
19.66 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 18 restaurants in Torres del Paine National Park
Restaurante Coiron - Las Torres Patagonia
238 reviews
18.93 km away
Restaurante Hosteria Rio Serrano
114 reviews
19.62 km away
Cafeteria El Ovejero Patagonico
81 reviews
56.08 km away
Quincho Pampa Lodge
71 reviews
19.48 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 20 attractions in Torres del Paine National Park
Lago Pehoe
175 reviews
.13 km away
Glacier Grey
1,726 reviews
5.04 km away
W-Trail
335 reviews
6.95 km away
Nordenskjold Lake
471 reviews
6.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Peter P
October 30, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Adriana B |
Same here! Very annoying, I’m stressing as this is my last stop, and I don’t know if I will be able to go if they don’t confirm
1
Vote
JJONyc
October 25, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Arno S | Reviewed this property |
I'm afraid not, there are no sockets in the dorms.
0
Votes
Google Translation
Room Tips
"Bring your own sleeping bag if you book a bed without sheets."
Read review
"If you can find a clean one, that doesn't have dirt and toenail clippings in the wood storage boxes..."
Read review
"Don't stay in rooms right by the stairs as they are more noisy"
Read review
"Avoid rooms near the common areas due to noise."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing