We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Casa Mercy

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Clara
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Casa Mercy
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 41: English reviews
Start your review of Casa Mercy
 Click to rate
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I won't repeat what others have written, good location etc and Omelio's wife (Mercy?) is a great person, very nice and a good cook too. As usual in Cuba the beds were terrible and there was no mattress pad used, yuk! Our bathroom wasn't ensuite, so not private. The room was very dark and dingy, they didn't show us that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acej
Omelio M, Owner at Casa Mercy, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su sincera opinión acerca de nuestros servicios; al respecto le daremos nuestra más sincera opinión. - En...

Reviewed 5 January 2017

We only stayed here on our first night in Cuba, having flown into Santa Clara airport and moved on the next day. The place is very central, which was handy since we needed food and arrived late, and even had beer waiting in the fridge for us! The casa is really nice, with a great balcony. We didn't meet the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
Omelio M, Owner at Casa Mercy, responded to this review

Very appreciated guest, it has been a pleasure to read your pleasant phrases concerning our two hostels. We can inform you that already the pitiful situation of the mattress of your room has been solved for which we apologize. Isel and Mercy are waiting againfor you.

Minnesota
Reviewed 4 December 2016

This was a wonderful casa to stay at in Santa Clara. The couple there are so very kind and personable. Mercy is all smiles and takes time to give you the exact breakfast that you want. Omelio is good in English and French and patient with answers to all your questions. In addition it is just over one block away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank unclelouie
Omelio M, Owner at Casa Mercy, responded to this review

Very, very dear friends, it has been a pleasure for us to receive your beautiful experience and appreciate it in all its splendor; For you our heart and friendship. Thank you Mercy and Omelio

Reviewed 14 November 2016

We had a lovely stay with Mercy and Omelio, who were great hosts, very friendly and amenable. Our double room was comfortable, with good A/C and a private bathroom, as well as a fridge with bottled water. The casa is centrally located, just a five minute walk from the central plaza. The terrace was also exceptionally pleasant, with seating and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 928swords
Omelio M, Owner at Casa Mercy, responded to this review

Dear friend, thank you very much for your nice opinion about our hostel services. We express that we work for more than 25 years to satisfy our diverse clients and we will continue with our work and also improve it. Mercy and Omelio greet him.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2016

This is a clean and tidy Casa in the heart of Santa Clara, just south of the Parque Vidal. It is run by Mercy and Omelio who took good care of us and helped us with anything we needed. Breakfasts were healthy, lots of pineapple, papaya and guava followed by scrambled eggs with onion and tomatoes and bread (vegetarian option!)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
Omelio M, Owner at Casa Mercy, responded to this review

Very good friends, thank you very much and as we always say - work to make our customers feel cared - There are aspects that may not be in our ability to solve therefore remain pending in our city as it is closing Vidal Park every Saturday night, which turns around in chaos .... always available: Omelio M and Mercy...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Possibly the "most professionalized" Casa Particular we have stayed at during our trip to Cuba. The room was very well equipped, clean and everything worked perfectly. it was the only Casa with Wi-Fi (only worked from 6pm to 10pm... very low speed though). Omelio, the owner, was very kind and attentive and helped us coordinating the pick-up at the bus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pacodelamoon
Omelio M, Owner at Casa Mercy, responded to this review

We are really pleased with this review so beautiful about our Hostal Casa Mercy and services offered here; This opinion coincides with our main goal: satisfy as far as possible the expectations of guests .. So we've worked for over 18 years. Thank you for your accurate and beautiful view. They hail from Santa Clara, Cuba Omelio M. and Mercy.

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

Rather annoying that as a walk-in I took the room (gave my passport and had the key), but in the time it took for me to go and get Husband and the bags they rented it out to someone else - here girls who were obviously paying more. They took us to their son's place however the room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OrchyB
Omelio M, Owner at Casa Mercy, responded to this review

Hire this malicious opinion with the reality expressed by many people who have been treated at our hostel and also managed other hostels in order to that they are not at the expense of any stranger on the street .. For over 18 years working with tourism our international hostel has not made differences circumstances as expressed here. Each person...

Germany
Reviewed 26 July 2015

The rooms are big and very confortable. Mercy is a very pleasant guest, only spanish speaking, but it is possible to communicate in English with her polite husband, who takes care of the booking formalities in the house. Thank you to their lovely and very helpful "breakfast maid".

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kar1342
Omelio M, Owner at Casa Mercy, responded to this review
Google Translation

Representa un nuevo reto para nuestro equipo de trabajo el aprecio manifestado en estas lindas opimiones vertidas hacia nuestro hostal...

Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Right in the heart of the town, this casa was only the second we visited where the owner spoke fluent English. The accommodation was spotless and well appointed and the lobster dinner is highly recommended. Ours was perfectly cooked and plentiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valtony
Omelio M, Owner at Casa Mercy, responded to this review

We are very happy with your review about our service.. It´s true and with this very lovely review we are improving our services for the future guests. Thanks a lot, Omelio y Mercy

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Omelio was very arranging as we have decided last minute to come one day earlier than what we had originally booked for, and we could be hosted. The bedroom was very spacious and the terrasse is great for a cocktail late afternoon. We could also wash our clothes and dry them easily. Location is great as it is just behind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justine V
Omelio M, Owner at Casa Mercy, responded to this review

It´s very nice to here about you, we are very thankful because your very interesting review about our service in our Hostal Casa Mercy. Thanks again, sincerely Omelio y Mercy

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
97.4 km away
Hotel Islazul Elguea
Hotel Islazul Elguea
#6 of 7 in Santa Clara
19 reviews
67.3 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
98.2 km away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 14 in Cayo Santa Maria
5,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
La Granjita
La Granjita
#2 of 7 in Santa Clara
256 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Los Caneyes
Hotel Los Caneyes
#3 of 7 in Santa Clara
424 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#1 of 7 in Santa Clara
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Very central and clean house run by experienced hosts, Omelio (engineer) and Mercedes (social worker) Moreno and family, who speak several languages (English, Italian and French, etc) and are helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Two bright rooms, upstairs with TV set, overlooking the street, private whit bathrooms (hair dryer) and separate from the rest of the house, double bed (good mattresses), single available if needed; private bathroom with hair dryer. Good home cooking, vegetarians and children catered for, cocktail menu and rum tasting, a homely atmosphere and two delightful roof terraces with view of the Che mausoleum in the distance.More than 20 Cocktails are served (2.50-3.00Cuc). Parking, taxis and tours arranged. Laundry services or hand washing area, book exchange (free for guests), 220v for recharging phones,safe box(2.00Cuc). Payment in cuc, Euros, Pounds, etc.Total accommodation 8 people. Internet service. Free WiFi from 18:00 to 20:00.Money exchange(Euros, Pounds,USD,canadian dollar,etc).Wi-Fi free from 18:00 to 20:00. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Mercy

Address: Calle E Machado 4 | Cuba y Colón, Santa Clara 50100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Santa Clara
Price Range: $20 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Mercy staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Casa Mercy staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book it and be happy”
 of 5 bubbles unclelouie, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I think both rooms are about the same size and on street side. Nice terrace too.”
 of 5 bubbles 333justinb, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Both rooms are similar but the firs one has a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles 758marinel, 6 Feb 2014 | Read review
“rooms are quieter and clean”
 of 5 bubbles magdielym, 1 Sep 2013 | Read review
“The one on the rooftop.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeS796, 11 Oct 2012 | Read review
5 of 5