We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Carabela Beach & Golf Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Carabela Beach & Golf Hotel
Carabela Beach & Golf Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,026 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 11: English reviews
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 16 August 2016

the staff were very friendly ... kids enjoyed the swimming pool, kids club and night time activities ... very good location to visit El Rocio and other attractions in this the area ... would recommend for families especially with small children

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
Vendryne, Czech Republic
Reviewed 25 June 2016

nice atmosphere, friendly staff , adequate cleanliness , delicious food , great golf courses , pristine beaches , plenty of attractions, adequate service within the hotel , pretty surrounding countryside

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Regina K
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 22 June 2016

During my stay there wasn´t many food offer during the main meals . Good location near the beach. Hotel very good for family vacancies. In geral very friendly staff. Very clean hotel. Swinpool and garden very clean and well organize

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nunol49
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 22 June 2016

All the counters in the room were dusty. The cafeteria food was has as one would expect in a school or a camp, not a 3 stars hotel. The place was filled with teenagers on a school trip, which would have been ok if they would have had their own section. It felt like we were crashing their party.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_de_Mtl
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We booked Carabela Beach and Golf Hotel through BA holidays on the basis it was a four star hotel. It looked good on the website and seemed to have everything we were looking for. How wrong we were. It was more of a youth hostel and in fact it was overrun with children. They were running up and down the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
Cordoba, Spain
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Worst selection and quality of food of any 4* we have visited. Breakfast is especially poor. We waited for a fresh tray of fried eggs only to find they were cold and salty!!!! Clearing up in the dinning room is virtually non existent. We ate dinner and kept pilng our dirty plates on the uncleared table nearby. By the time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam933
carabelamedia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Carabela Beach & Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pam933, First of all thank you for taking your time to share your comments in TripAdvisor. We are sorry to know that your experience with us did not exceed your expectations and we sincerely appreciate the effort in sharing your experience with us. These feedbacks will definitely play a big part in making improvements for the hotel and please...

Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Hotel Carabela Beach and Golf is a slight exagerration as the beach is a good 15 minutes walk away although the hotel does have a beach club which was closed when we were there in February/March. The Golf course is quite close and the beach goes on literally for miles and miles of sand. Being the Atlantic it is, of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
carabelamedia, Guest Experience Manager at Carabela Beach & Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael C, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments after your stay with us. We regret to know that in spite of having enjoyed the excursions, your impressions have not been as positive as we wish when you arrived. Your opinion is so useful and valuable for us and please rest assured we have...

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Don't go there: terrible food, bad room conditions, wi-fi is a joke. Anything good? The reception staff is great. This hotel is not a 4 star hotel. The nearby beach was very dirty. It. is not reasonable that the city hall dose not clean up the sand everyday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danilo B
carabelamedia, Community Manager at Carabela Beach & Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear customer, We regret that you did not enjoy your holiday with us. Regarding the food, buffet restaurant offers a wide variety of dishes to suit the taste of most of our customers. Dirt on the beach does not depend on us. Although we inform you that Matalascañas's beaches are wonderful and there are many people who enjoy them every...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This is the worst value for money. Food is horrible, pork & fried stuff everyday. Not enough choices. Restaurant times are way to late. Noise levels very high and till late @ night. Flies inside the restaurant & everywhere. No air con in the bar. A hotel for local tourists not for foreigners. Not used to this kind of level...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mariapromenade
Portugal
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I was with my wife and my children of 8 and 11 years and enjoyed the stay. From the reception, very friendly and efficient, through cleaning, simply flawless, even the meals were exquisite, varied and of excellent quality. Just 10 minutes from the beach walk, has a free shuttle train that piece by the late hours of going to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PortugalJose

660 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (284)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (362)
Viewed
Amenities (68)
Viewed
Beach (11)
Viewed
Children's Pool (10)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Dining (86)
Viewed
Standard Room (30)
Viewed
Suite Niña (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matalascanas
0.7 km away
Hotel Flamero
Hotel Flamero
#5 of 8 in Matalascanas
416 reviews
3.0 km away
Gran Hotel del Coto
Gran Hotel del Coto
#2 of 8 in Matalascanas
1,125 reviews
0.7 km away
On Hotels Oceanfront
On Hotels Oceanfront
#1 of 8 in Matalascanas
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
FERGUS Style El Cortijo Golf
FERGUS Style El Cortijo Golf
#4 of 8 in Matalascanas
259 reviews
39.0 km away
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
15.3 km away
Hotel La Malvasia
Hotel La Malvasia
#2 of 3 in El Rocio
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Carabela Beach & Golf Hotel

Address: Sector Laguna del Sopeton 59-62 | Playa Matalascanas, 21760 Matalascanas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Matalascanas
Price Range: $68 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carabela Beach & Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Carabela Beach & Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carabela Hotel Matalascanas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carabela Beach & Golf Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Carabela Beach & Golf Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask them to clean the counters and tables!”
 of 5 bubbles Rachel_de_Mtl, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't book one here! Go to On Hotel for a far superior experience.”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Select a room with a balcony towards the golf course. But don't go to this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles danilob256, 29 Aug 2014 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay